Anthropology

  • ...seeking to understand the basic human conditions and their transformation in a world
  •  which becomes ever more complex and globalised

Profile

Anthropology is a humanities programme combining scientific traditions of humanities and social sciences. The programme takes a comparative perspective by seeking to understand, through studies of social and cultural relations, the basic human conditions and their transformation in a world which becomes ever more complex and globalised.

The research environment

The Aarhus researchers are committed to the anthropological tradition that combines empirical research based on detailed ethnographic fieldwork, both in Denmark and the rest of the world, with theoretical, historical and comparative analysis. Basic research encompasses all dimensions of the anthropological discipline: a broad engagement with cross-disciplinary theories about what it means to be human, detailed methodological work and reflections on the basic and changing conditions of fieldwork, thorough engagement with thematic and regional specialities, as well as continuing experimentation with anthropological forms of representation (in writing, museum display, audio-visual and through the internet).
Research interests include topics like: Democracy, bureaucracy, welfare, conflict and politics, human security, cognition, emotions and time, religion, morality and global modernity, design and innovation. The researchers in Anthropology have regional expertise in Africa, the Arctic region, Asia, Europe (primarily the North Atlantic region and Denmark), the Middle East,  Latin America, and the Pacific region.

Degree programmes

The Anthropology Programme offers Bachelor's  and Master's degree programmes in anthropology, a separate international programme in Human Security, a Master's degree programme in Anthropology of Health, and a number of elective subjects.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhonebuildingroom
Andersen, Rikke SandPostdocrsa@alm.au.dk+45 8716 79841260113
Eilenberg, MichaelAssistant Professoretnome@hum.au.dk+45 8716 21724236144
Bach, LarsAssistant Professorlbach@hum.au.dk+45 8716 29061483
Beek, Martijn vanAssociate professormvanbeek@hum.au.dk+45 8716 211942361.41
Bjønness, Jeanettetnojb@hum.au.dk1451326
Boe, Jaana Carolina SanchezPart-time Lectureretnocarolina@hum.au.dk
Bräuner, Pernillepbraeuner@cas.au.dk1483318
Bræmer, Marie Højlundetnmhb@hum.au.dk+45 8716 20854235217
Bubandt, Nils OleProfessor with Special Responsiblitiesbubandt@hum.au.dk+45 8716 21164236
Casey, Sarahetnsc@hum.au.dk
Crawford, Peter IanAssociate professorpcrawford@hum.au.dk
Dalsgård, Anne LineAssociate professora.l.dalsgaard@hum.au.dk+45 8716 212142352.22
Daugbjerg, MadsAssociate professormads.daugbjerg@hum.au.dk+45 8716 212842352.34
Dunne, John Detnjdunne@hum.au.dk+45 8716 20981453422
Dupont, MichaelPart-time Lectureretnomdd@hum.au.dk42362.52
Fibiger, Thomas Brandtetnotbf@hum.au.dk+45 8716 21144235217
Folmann, BirgittePostdocetnbf@hum.au.dk+45 8716 284842352.24
Frederiksen, Martin Demantetnmdf@hum.au.dk+45 8716 20854235217
Friis Søgaard, ThomasPostdoctfs@crf.au.dk+45 8716 53151322316
Gade, Christian B. N.Assistant Professorfilcbng@cas.au.dk+45 8716 327642361.45
Gotfredsen, Katrine BendtsenPart-time Lecturerkbg@hum.au.dk
Gravers, MikaelAssociate professoretnomg@hum.au.dk+45 8716 21234236245
Knudsen, Ida HarboePostdocida.harboe@hum.au.dk+45 8716 21361467224
Høiris, OleSenior Associate Professoretnooh@hum.au.dk+45 8716 20654236145
Højbjerg, Christian KordtAssociate professoraalckh@hum.au.dk
Pedersen, Susanne HøjlundAssociate professoretnosh@hum.au.dk+45 8716 212542361.44
Jensen, Inge Charlotteetncj@hum.au.dk
Jensen, Jeppe SindingAssociate professorJSJ@teo.au.dk+45 8716 24751451525
Johannsen, Niels NørkjærAssistant Professorniels.johannsen@hum.au.dk+45 8716 20784215218
Kirstein Høgel, ArinePostdocahoegel@hum.au.dk
Knudsen, Anne PlougmannStudent Teacher20053284@post.au.dk
Louw, Maria E.etnolouw@hum.au.dk+45 8716 206242352.26
McGraw, John J.Postdocjohn.j.mcgraw@cas.au.dk+45 8109 66431453
Meinert, LotteProfessor with Special Responsiblitieslotte.meinert@hum.au.dk+45 8716 211842361.49
Mitkidis, PanagiotisAssistant Professorpm@teo.au.dk1485326
Mønster, DanAssistant Professordanm@asb.dk+45 8716 49582632127
Nielsen, Marie KongeAssociate professoretnomkn@hum.au.dk+45 8716 57741453329
Nielsen, Mortenetnomn@hum.au.dk+45 8716 21654236142
Nord, Ane MarieStudentetnoam@hum.au.dk
Nygaard-Christensen, MajPostdocetnmn@hum.au.dk42352.42
Otto, TonProfessoretnoto@hum.au.dk+45 8716 291542360.45
Pedersen, PoulAssociate professorpoul.pedersen@hum.au.dk+45 8716 21124236146
Pelaudeix, CecileAssistant Professorcepe@cas.au.dk+45 8716 21671465218
Poulsen, NinaPart-time Lectureretnonp@hum.au.dk
Rodogno, RaffaeleAssociate professorfilrr@hum.au.dk+45 8716 22591467521
Roepstorff, AndreasProfessor with Special Responsiblitiesetnoroep@hum.au.dk+45 8716 2124
Rytter, MikkelAssociate professormikkel.rytter@cas.au.dk+45 8716 212642352.30
Seeberg, Jensjseeberg@hum.au.dk+45 8716 211742361.42
Selmer, BodilDirector of Studiesbodil.selmer@hum.au.dk+45 8716 211542361.43
Skewes, Joshua CharlesPostdocfiljcs@hum.au.dk
Steenberg, MettePostdocmette.steenberg@hum.au.dk+45 8716 214214833.etage
Suhr, ChristianPart-time Lecturersuhr@cas.au.dk4240
Swanson, Heather AnneAssistant Professorikshswanson@cas.au.dk+45 8716 211842361.49
Sørensen, JesperAssociate professorjsn@teo.au.dk+45 8716 24411451527
Sørensen, Johanne Korsdaljks@alm.au.dk1260
Tejsner, PelleAssistant Professorptejsner@cas.au.dk+45 8716 32391465225
Tørring, Marie LouisePostdocmlt@alm.au.dk+45 8716 79131260136
Vangkilde, Kasper TangAssistant Professoretnkvangkilde@hum.au.dk+45 8716 281942352.28
Vestergaard, PerClinical Associate Professorper.vestergaard@ps.rm.dk
Vium, ChristianPostdoccvium@hum.au.dk
Vohnsen, Nina HolmAssistant Professoretnnhv@hum.au.dk+45 8716 21134235219
Wallot, Sebastiansewa@hum.au.dk14833. etage
Warner, CameronAssistant Professoretncw@hum.au.dk+45 8716 266742362.46
Whyte, Michael AnthonyPart-time Lectureretnmaw@hum.au.dk
Willerslev, RaneProfessoretnorw@hum.au.dk+45 8716 25854236242
Wind, GitteAssistant Professoretngw@hum.au.dk+45 8716 20894236244
Xygalatas, Dimitrisetndx@hum.au.dk
counihan, Carole marieVisiting ProfessorCamc@hum.au.dk+45 8716 29694235138
Comments on content: 
Revised 2014.04.23

Aarhus University
Nordre Ringgade 1
DK-8000 Aarhus C

Email: au@au.dk
Tel: +45 8715 0000
Fax: +45 8715 0201

CVR no: 31119103

AU on social media
Facebook
LinkedIn
Twitter
YouTube