Anthropology

  • ...seeking to understand the basic human conditions and their transformation in a world
  •  which becomes ever more complex and globalised

Profile

Anthropology is a humanities programme combining scientific traditions of humanities and social sciences. The programme takes a comparative perspective by seeking to understand, through studies of social and cultural relations, the basic human conditions and their transformation in a world which becomes ever more complex and globalised.

The research environment

The Aarhus researchers are committed to the anthropological tradition that combines empirical research based on detailed ethnographic fieldwork, both in Denmark and the rest of the world, with theoretical, historical and comparative analysis. Basic research encompasses all dimensions of the anthropological discipline: a broad engagement with cross-disciplinary theories about what it means to be human, detailed methodological work and reflections on the basic and changing conditions of fieldwork, thorough engagement with thematic and regional specialities, as well as continuing experimentation with anthropological forms of representation (in writing, museum display, audio-visual and through the internet).
Research interests include topics like: Democracy, bureaucracy, welfare, conflict and politics, human security, cognition, emotions and time, religion, morality and global modernity, design and innovation. The researchers in Anthropology have regional expertise in Africa, the Arctic region, Asia, Europe (primarily the North Atlantic region and Denmark), the Middle East,  Latin America, and the Pacific region.

Degree programmes

The Anthropology Programme offers Bachelor's  and Master's degree programmes in anthropology, a separate international programme in Human Security, a Master's degree programme in Anthropology of Health, and a number of elective subjects.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhonebuildingroom
Andersen, Lise MariePostdoclmandersen@cas.au.dk1485
Andersen, Rikke SandAssociate professorrsa@feap.dk+45 8716 79841260113
Eilenberg, MichaelAssociate professoretnome@cas.au.dk+45 8716 21724236215
Bach, LarsAssistant Professorlbach@cas.au.dk+45 8716 29061483
Beek, Martijn vanAssociate professormvanbeek@cas.au.dk+45 8716 21194236111
Bräuner, Pernillepbraeuner@cas.au.dk1483318
Bubandt, Nils OleProfessor with Special Responsiblitiesbubandt@cas.au.dk+45 8716 21164236120
Crawford, Peter IanAssociate professorpcrawford@cas.au.dk+45 8716 2994
Dalsgård, Anne LineAssociate professorald@cas.au.dk+45 8716 212142352.22
Daugbjerg, MadsAssociate professormads.daugbjerg@cas.au.dk+45 8716 212842352.34
Fibiger, Thomas BrandtAssistant Professorthomas.fibiger@cas.au.dk+45 8716 21144235217
Folmann, BirgittePostdocbirgitte.folmann@cas.au.dk+45 8716 284842352.24
Fusaroli, RiccardoAssistant Professorfusaroli@dac.au.dk
Gade, Christian B. N.Assistant Professorfilcbng@cas.au.dk+45 8716 32764236115
Gotfredsen, Katrine BendtsenPart-time Lecturerkbg@cas.au.dk
Gravers, MikaelAssociate professoretnomg@cas.au.dk+45 8716 21234236219
Grøn, LonePostdoclonegron@cas.au.dk+45 8716 28874235126
Knudsen, Ida HarboePart-time Lecturerida.harboe@cas.au.dk
Harrisson, Annika PohlResearch Assistantapha@au.dk+45 8716 28484265130
Høiris, OleSenior Associate Professoretnooh@cas.au.dk+45 8716 20654236145
Pedersen, Susanne HøjlundAssociate professoretnosh@cas.au.dk+45 8716 21254236114
Jensen, Inge Charlotteetncj@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Janne BleegPart-time Lecturer+45 8716 32374236252
Jensen, Jeppe SindingAssociate professorjsj@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24751451525
Johannsen, Niels NørkjærAssistant Professornnj@cas.au.dk+45 8716 20784215218
Johansen, Mette-LouiseAssistant Professormlej@cas.au.dk+45 8716 21734236243
Knudsen, Anne PlougmannStudent Teacher20053284@post.au.dk
Kotnis, SitaResearch Assistantsita@cas.au.dk
Louw, Maria E.etnolouw@cas.au.dk+45 8716 206242352.26
McGraw, John J.Postdocjmcgraw@cas.au.dk+45 8109 66431453
Meinert, LotteProfessor with Special Responsiblitieslotte.meinert@cas.au.dk+45 8716 211842361.49
Mitkidis, PanagiotisAssistant Professorpm@icoa.au.dk1485326
Mønster, DanAssistant Professordanm@econ.au.dk+45 8716 4958262210
Nielsen, Andreas HøjlundResearch Assistantlinahn@cas.au.dk+45 8716 21491483
Nielsen, Mortenetnomn@cas.au.dk+45 8716 21654236220
Nygaard-Christensen, MajPostdocetnmn@cas.au.dk4236212
Otto, TonProfessorton.otto@cas.au.dk+45 8716 291542360.45
Pedersen, PoulAssociate professorpoul.pedersen@cas.au.dk+45 8716 21124236116
Pelaudeix, CecileAssistant Professorcepe@cas.au.dk
Poulsen, NinaPart-time Lectureretnonp@cas.au.dk
Rasmussen, Anders EmilPart-time Lectureranders@cas.au.dk
Rodogno, RaffaeleAssociate professorfilrr@cas.au.dk+45 8716 22591467521
Roepstorff, AndreasProfessor with Special Responsiblitiesandreas.roepstorff@cas.au.dk+45 8716 2124
Rytter, MikkelAssociate professormikkel.rytter@cas.au.dk+45 8716 212642352.30
Schneidermann, NannaPart-time Lecturernanna.s@cas.au.dk
Seeberg, Jensjseeberg@cas.au.dk+45 8716 21174236112
Selmer, BodilAssociate professorbodil.selmer@cas.au.dk+45 8716 21154236113
Skewes, Joshua CharlesPostdocfiljcs@cas.au.dk
Sloos, MarjoleinePostdocmsloos@cas.au.dk14833. etage
Steenberg, MettePostdocMette.Steenberg@cas.au.dk+45 8716 214214833.etage
Suhr, ChristianAssistant Professorsuhr@cas.au.dk4240
Swanson, Heather AnneAssistant Professorikshswanson@cas.au.dk+45 8716 211842361.49
Sørensen, JesperAssociate professorjsn@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24411451527
Tejsner, PelleAssistant Professortejsner@cas.au.dk
Tsing, AnnaProfessoratsing@cas.au.dk+45 8716 28894235136
Tørring, Marie LouisePostdocmlt@feap.dk+45 8716 79131260136
Vangkilde, Kasper TangAssistant Professoretnkvangkilde@cas.au.dk+45 8716 281942352.28
Vestergaard, PerClinical Associate Professorper.vestergaard@ps.rm.dk
Vium, ChristianPostdoccvium@cas.au.dk4240
Vohnsen, Nina HolmAssistant Professoretnnhv@cas.au.dk+45 8716 21134236211
Wallot, Sebastiansewa@cas.au.dk14833. etage
Warner, CameronAssistant Professoretncw@cas.au.dk+45 8716 26674236216
Whyte, Michael AnthonyPart-time Lectureretnmaw@cas.au.dk
Willerslev, RaneProfessorrawi@aias.au.dk+45 8715 36911630204
Wind, GitteAssistant Professoretngw@cas.au.dk+45 8716 20894236244
Xygalatas, Dimitrisxygalatas@cas.au.dk
Ørberg, Elizabeth WilliamsPart-time Lectureretnoew@cas.au.dk
Comments on content: 
Revised 2014.04.23

Aarhus University
Nordre Ringgade 1
DK-8000 Aarhus C

Email: au@au.dk
Tel: +45 8715 0000
Fax: +45 8715 0201

CVR no: 31119103

AU on social media
Facebook
LinkedIn
Twitter
YouTube