Archaeology

  • ...understanding of past societies seen in a longer time perspective

Archaeology

The Archaeology Programme is concerned with people, culture and society from the earliest to modern times with a focus on studies of the material culture. On the basis of field studies and through empirical, methodological and theoretical approaches from fields including anthropology, history and science, this programme investigates and challenges our understanding of past societies seen in a longer time perspective.

Research environment

Archaeology at Aarhus University has an international profile and strong research networks. A dynamic research environment provides the framework for large research projects, international conferences and a flow of visiting researchers. The environment is versatile and interdisciplinary, and the academic staff's research competences span topics from war and power, globalisation, family and individual, religion and rituals, landscape and settlement, human evolution, trade and networks, technology and knowledge exchange to formal and digital representation of material culture.

Degree programmes

The Archaeology Programme offers Bachelor's and Master's degree programmes in Prehistoric Archaeology and Medieval and Renaissance Archaeology. In addition, a changing number of elective subjects and events are offered, including Viking Age Summer University.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhonebuildingroom
Andresen, Jens-Bjørn RiisAssociate professorjens.andresen@cas.au.dk+45 8716 20764215122
Atzbach, RainerAssociate professorrainer.atzbach@cas.au.dk+45 8716 20524215131
Bourgeois, QuentinPostdocQbourgeois@cas.au.dk4210, 1. etage25
Croix, SarahPostdocmarksc@cas.au.dk+45 8716 20584215119
Dobat, AndresAssistant Professorfarkado@cas.au.dk+45 8716 20944215124
Holst, Mads KählerProfessor with Special Responsiblitiesmads.holst@cas.au.dk+45 8716 209342102.19
Høegsberg, Mogens SkaaningAssistant Professormogens.hoegsberg@cas.au.dk+45 8716 20734215138
Jensen, Helle JuelAssociate professorfarkhjj@cas.au.dk+45 8716 20814215129
Johannsen, Niels NørkjærAssistant Professorniels.johannsen@cas.au.dk+45 8716 20784215218
Kock, JanPart-time Lecturerjan.kock@cas.au.dk+45 8716 2072420911
Kristensen, Hans KrongaardPart-time Lecturermarkhkk@cas.au.dk+45 8716 206842096
Kristiansen, Mette SvartDegree Program Directormarkmsk@cas.au.dk+45 8716 20844215130
Larsen, MortenPhD Studentmarkml@cas.au.dk+45 8716 20534215137
Riede, Felixf.riede@cas.au.dk+45 8716 20834215222
Sindbæk, Søren MichaelProfessor with Special Responsiblitiesfarksms@cas.au.dk+45 8715 26154215126
Vandkilde, HelleProfessorfarkhv@cas.au.dk+45 8716 20964215132

Relevant Research Programmes

Comments on content: 
Revised 2014.04.23

Aarhus University
Nordre Ringgade 1
DK-8000 Aarhus C

Email: au@au.dk
Tel: +45 8715 0000
Fax: +45 8715 0201

CVR no: 31119103

AU on social media
Facebook
LinkedIn
Twitter
YouTube