Asian Studies

  • Concerned with the history, culture and society of the Asian countries

Asian Studies

The Asian Studies Programme is concerned with the history, culture and society of the Asian countries, primarily China, Japan and India/South Asia, with a focus on modern times. The academic staff represent different backgrounds, such as history, sociology, anthropology and cultural studies, but they all apply an area studies approach to their research. This means that a sound knowledge of the languages of the countries in question is essential in order to be able to understand the Asian perspectives on all the phenomena being investigated. It is the aim to understand these phenomena in their historical, cultural and social contexts.

Research environment

The researchers at Asian Studies are involved in networks with colleagues in Scandinavia and with environments in Europe, the United States and, not least, Asia. Many of the programme's research activities are based on fieldwork and archival work in collaboration with colleagues from Asian research institutions. In addition to strengths in the culture and society of the individual Asian countries, there is an increased focus on analyses of the interplay between the Asian countries and their relations to the rest of the world.

Degree programmes

The Asian Studies Programme offers Bachelor's degree programmes in Chinese, Japanese and South Asian studies and a Master's degree programme in Asian studies, where students specialise in one of the countries and its language, placing their work in a comparative context.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhonebuildingroom
Alshorbaji, Nidal F.A.nalshorbaji@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24161467323
Brara, RitaVisiting Researcherribra@cas.au.dk1465423
Carvalho, Vinicius Mariano dePart-time Lecturerromvmc@dac.au.dk+45 8716 26121465219
Corboz, ElvireAssistant Professorelvire.corboz@cas.au.dk1467324
Fischer, GeorgAssistant Professorfischer@cas.au.dk1465224
Hansen, Anders Sybrandtetnoash@cas.au.dk+45 8716 20821467322
Hansen, Annette SkovstedAssociate professorostash@cas.au.dk+45 8716 23031465320
Kumar, AnusuyaResearch Assistantasiakumar@cas.au.dk+45 8716 21821465
Madsen, LarsPart-time Lecturerlma@cas.au.dk1465118
Moestrup, Elisabeth A.Teaching Associate Professorem@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24431467326
Nielsen, Hans Christian Korsholmhckn@cas.au.dk
O'Shea, PaulAssistant Professorasiposhea@cas.au.dk1465323
Pardue, DerekAssistant Professordpardue@cas.au.dk1465219
Pinto, Fernanda Gláuciabrasfgp@dac.au.dk+45 8716 26821465220
Platz, AnemoneAssociate professorostap@cas.au.dk+45 8716 23281465328
Riexinger, Martin ThomasAssociate professormri@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24211467328
Sedgwick, MarkProfessor with Special Responsiblitiesmjrs@cas.au.dk+45 8716 26571467330
Skoda, UweAssociate professorostus@cas.au.dk+45 8716 23251465322
Song, XueyingResearch Scholarsong@cas.au.dk1467315
Steen, AndreasAssociate professorostas@cas.au.dk+45 8716 23751465318
Thunø, MetteAssociate professormettethunoe@au.dk+45 2979 93301467322
Thøgersen, StigProfessorstig.thogersen@cas.au.dk+45 8716 23321465324
Tomioka, Jiroasijtomioka@cas.au.dk+45 8716 27611465325
Wang Jingjing, Jennyasjwj@hum.au.dk1467319
Zhang, ChunTeaching Associate Professorostzc@cas.au.dk+45 8716 23041465326

Relevant Research Programmes

Comments on content: 
Revised 2014.04.23

Aarhus University
Nordre Ringgade 1
DK-8000 Aarhus C

Email: au@au.dk
Tel: +45 8715 0000
Fax: +45 8715 0201

CVR no: 31119103

AU on social media
Facebook
LinkedIn
Twitter
YouTube