Theology

Section for Theology

Profile

Theology is concerned with the exploration of Christianity - and its interaction with culture and society -  past and present. Theology is a unity comprising the following fields or disciplines: the Old Testament, the New Testament, church history, dogmatics, ethics and philosophy of religion. Research and teaching also includes practical theology and theology of religion as well as the global spread of Christianity. Topics span a broad spectrum, from exegetic and literary readings of the biblical scriptures, analyses of the relation between church, society and state, and studies in Global Christianity to reflection on ethical dilemmas and issues of topical interest to philosophy of religion.  

The academic staff's research competences include a wide range of methodological approaches from the fields of history, philology, history of literature, philosophy, sociology, politology and psychology.

Research environment

Theology at Aarhus University is one of the largest environments for theological research in Europe and attracts a number of internationally recognised researchers. The environment is nationally and internationally renowned for its research activities in a number of areas such as Christianity in antiquity, reformation theology, bioethics and nanoethics, as well as the study of N.F.S. Grundtvig and K.E. Løgstrup.

The programme's researchers are often involved in interdisciplinary projects and networks with researchers from other fields, including the study of religion, the humanities in general, medicine and social science.

Degree programmes

The Theology Programme offers Bachelor's and Master's degree programmes in Theology (cand.theol.), Master's degree programme in Diaconia, the joint Nordic Master in the Religious Roots of Europe as well as a number of elective subjects and continuing education courses. 

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhonebuildingroom
Andersen, SvendProfessorteosa@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24561453431
Bach-Nielsen, CarstenAssociate professorteocbn@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24231451423
Baunvig, Katrine FrøkjærPostdockfb@cas.au.dk1451528
Becker, Eve-MarieProfessoreb@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24831451431
Buch-Hansen, GittePart-time Lecturergitte.buch-hansen@teologi.uio.no
Bugge, DavidAssociate professorteodb@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24481453425
Cappelørn, Niels JørgenPart-time Lecturernjc@sk.ku.dk
Davidsen, OleAssociate professorteood@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24291451326
Dietrich, JanAssociate professorjan.dietrich@cas.au.dk+45 8716 23411451325
Dochhorn, JanAssociate professorjd@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24961451329
Ebbesen, MetteAssociate professormeb@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24581453422
Engberg, JakobAssociate professorje@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24681451424
Falkenberg, Renéteorf@cas.au.dk+45 8716 28741451327
Holm, Bo KristianAssociate professorteobh@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24531453428
Holt, Else KragelundAssociate professorteoekh@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24461451323
Ingesman, Perteopi@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24171451425
Jacobsen, Anders-ChristianProfessor with Special Responsiblitiesalj@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24671453424
Jensen, Svend FodgaardTeaching Associate Professorteosfj@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24421453322
Johansen, Kirstine HelboeAssistant Professorkp@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24851451427
Kondrup, Johnny JohansenPart-time Lecturerjk@cas.au.dk
Larsen, John Møllerjml@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24641451422
Larsen, Kasper BroAssociate professorkbl@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24841451324
Leurini, Claudiacleurini@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24641451422
Lodberg, PeterAssociate professorteopl@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24811453433
Mathiassen, Svend Eriksem@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24941451429
Mortensen, Jacob Palle BliddalPart-time Lecturerteojmo@cas.au.dk+45 8716 25021453316
Møller, Jes Fabriciusteojfm@cas.au.dk
Møller, Maria Odgaardteomo@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24791453427
Nissen, Ulrik BeckerAssociate professorteoubn@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24611453430
Nørager, TroelsAssociate professorteotn@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24261453423
Pedersen, Else Marie WibergAssociate professorteoewp@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24591453426
Pedersen, Nils ArneAssociate professorteonap@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24151451426
Rabjerg, BjørnPostdocteobjr@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24511453327
Schmidt, UllaProfessor with Special Responsiblitiesteous@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24371451428
Slot Nielsen, LonePhD Fellowteolsn@cas.au.dk+45 8716 28981453331
Sørensen, Dan EnokTeaching Associate Professorteodes@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24741453320
Thorsen, Jakob EgerisPostdocteojet@cas.au.dk+45 8716 24821453429
Comments on content: 
Revised 2014.12.22

Aarhus University
Nordre Ringgade 1
DK-8000 Aarhus C

Email: au@au.dk
Tel: +45 8715 0000
Fax: +45 8715 0201

CVR no: 31119103

AU on social media
Facebook
LinkedIn
Twitter
YouTube