Anthropology

Anthropology at Aarhus University

Humans are social beings. Anthropology is all about what this means for how we arrange our lives, organize our society and perceive the world around us – everywhere on earth. How are people's worlds different and how do they experience the world differently – across societies or within the same society? And still what is it that we have in common? Read more here

Our degree programmes

In addition to educational programs in Anthropology from bachelor to PhD level, the department of Anthropology also offers a masters-degree in Human Security, supplementary subjects in anthropology and sociology respectively, as well as a one-year masters-degree in health anthropology.     

A strong research environment

The department of Anthropology is among the strongest academic environments in Europe and the department attracts guest-researchers, PhD-students and students from across the world. Our teaching is deeply anchored in our research with particular specializations within globalization and development, innovation and design, medical as well as visual anthropology.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Andersen, Marc MalmdorfPostdocmana@cas.au.dk
Andersen, Rikke SandAssociate professorrsa@ph.au.dk+45871679841260, 113
Atmanand, Deva Taru
Autzen, MathildeResearch Assistantmathildehoejrup@cas.au.dk+45871621164236, 120
Beek, Martijn vanAssociate professormvanbeek@cas.au.dk+45871621194236, 111
Bertoni, FilippoPostdocf.bertoni@cas.au.dk+45871621734236, 2.43
Bliksted, Vibeke FuglsangAssociate professorvibeke.bliksted@clin.au.dk
Bogicevic, IvanaResearch Assistantiv.bogicevic@gmail.com1483, 326
Brichet, Nathalia SofiePostdocnathalia.brichet@cas.au.dk
Bubandt, Nils OleProfessorbubandt@cas.au.dk+45871621164236, 120
Chettri, MonaPostdocmona.chettri@cas.au.dk
Christiansen, Morten H.Professor with Special Responsibilitiesmorten@cc.au.dk
Cova, Victor SachaPostdocvcova@cas.au.dk4235, 238
Crawford, Peter IanAssociate professorpcrawford@cas.au.dk
Dalgas, Karina
Dalsgård, LineAssociate professorald@cas.au.dk+45871621214236, 2.19
Daugbjerg, MadsAssociate professor, head of PhD programmemads.daugbjerg@cas.au.dk+45871621284235, 2.34
Dewhurst, Richard CharlesPostdocrichard.dewhurst@cas.au.dk1483, 322
Dupont, MichaelPart-time Lectureretnomdd@cas.au.dk
Eilenberg, MichaelAssociate professoretnome@cas.au.dk+45871621724236, 215
Fardo, FrancescaPostdocfrancesca@clin.au.dk
Fibiger, Thomas BrandtAssistant Professorthomas.fibiger@cas.au.dk+45871632844236, 212 A
Folmann, BirgittePostdocbirgitte.folmann@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 2.24
Funahashi, DaenaAssistant Professorfunahashi@cas.au.dk+45871625564236, 216
Gade, Christian B. N.Assistant Professor, Human Securitygade@cas.au.dk+45871632764236, 2.14
Gammeltoft, Tine Mette
Gan, ElaineMember of Administrative Staffegan@cas.au.dk+45871628864235, 134
Kjærsgaard, Mette
Gonzalez de la Higuera Rojo, SergioResearch Assistantsergio.gonzalezhi@gmail.com1483, 318
Gonzalez Vargas, Gonzalo Ananias
Graversen, Pia Thorsø
Hansen, Anders SybrandtAssistant Professoretnoash@cas.au.dk+45871620821467, 328
Heimann, KatrinAssistant Professorkatrinheimann@cas.au.dk+45871629131483, 326
Pedersen, Susanne HøjlundAssociate professoretnosh@cas.au.dk+45871621254236, 114
Høybye, Mette TerpAssociate professormette.terp.hoybye@rm.dk
Jensen, Inge Charlotteetncj@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Janne BleegStudies Coordinatoretnobleeg@cas.au.dk+45871629284235, 130
Jeppesen, Lena Lykke
Johansen, Mette-LouiseAssistant Professormlej@cas.au.dk+45871621734236, 243
Jørgensen, Mathilde Lindh
Keisalo, Marianna PäivikkiPostdocmkeisalo@cas.au.dk
Keleman Saxena, AlderPostdocalder.keleman@cas.au.dk
Kirstein Høgel, ArinePostdocahoegel@cas.au.dk4240
Kotnis, SitaResearch Assistantsita@cas.au.dk
Louw, Maria E.etnolouw@cas.au.dk+45871620624235, 2.22
Nielsen, Jeanette Lykkegårdetnojln@cas.au.dk4231, 2.51
Madsen, Beritetnonafa@cas.au.dk
Mazzolini, Anna!!Postdoc Antropologi Moesgårdanna.mazzolini@cas.au.dk4205, 229
Meinert, LotteProfessor with Special Responsibilitieslotte.meinert@cas.au.dk+45871621714236, 1.49
Mosgaard, Kurt
Nielbo, Kristoffer LaigaardAssociate professorkln@cas.au.dk+45871629131483, 326
Nielsen, Mikka
Nielsen, Mortenetnomn@cas.au.dk+45871621654236, 220
O'neill, SeanPostdocspo@cas.au.dk1540, 031
Otto, TonProfessorton.otto@cas.au.dk+45871629154236, 0.45
Parsons, ChristineAssociate professorchristine.parsons@cas.au.dk+45871621271483, 325
Pedersen, Bjarne Friis
Pedersen, Morten Axel
Piya, AvashResearch Assistantetnapiya@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 2.24
Rasmussen, Rikke GrinderslevResearch Assistantrikkegras@gmail.com1483, 325
Roepstorff, AndreasProfessorandreas.roepstorff@cas.au.dk+4587162124
Rosen, Melanie GillespiePostdocmelanie.rosen@cas.au.dk1483, 326
Rystok, Susanne
Rytter, MikkelAssociate professormikkel.rytter@cas.au.dk+45871621264235, 2.30
Saxena, AlarkPostdocalark.saxena@cas.au.dk
Schneidermann, NannaPart-time Lecturernanna.s@cas.au.dk
Seebach, Sophie HoogeResearch Assistantshs@cas.au.dk+45871629694235, 138
Seeberg, JensProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesjseeberg@cas.au.dk+45871621174236, 119
Selmer, BodilAssociate professorbodil.selmer@cas.au.dk+45871621154236, 113
Skewes, LeaResearch Assistantetnols@cas.au.dk
Sparre, Sara LeiPostdocsaraleisparre@cas.au.dk
Steenberg, MettePostdocmette.steenberg@cas.au.dk+45232408761483, 318
Suhr, ChristianAssistant Professorsuhr@cas.au.dk4240
Swanson, Heather AnneAssociate professorikshswanson@cas.au.dk+45871629544235, 132
Tejsner, PelleAssistant Professortejsner@cas.au.dk+45871628874235, 126
Tsing, AnnaProfessoratsing@cas.au.dk+45871628894235, 136
Tørring, Marie Louisemlt@cas.au.dk+45871620894235, 2.26
Ulrich, Anita
Ulriksen, Marianne Sandvadmu@cas.au.dk
Vaisman, NoaAssistant Professornoa.vaisman@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 224
Vangkilde, Kasper TangAssociate professoretnkvangkilde@cas.au.dk+45871628194235, 2.28
Vium, ChristianPostdoccvium@cas.au.dk4240
Vohnsen, Nina HolmAssociate professornina.vohnsen@cas.au.dk+45871621134236, 211
Walsh, MatthewPostdocmwalsh@cas.au.dk
Waltorp, Karenetnkw@cas.au.dk
Warner, CameronAssociate professoretncw@cas.au.dk+45871626674236, 116
Whyte, Michael AnthonyPart-time Lectureretnmaw@cas.au.dk

Latest publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title

News

2017.09.06 | Antropologi

Frederik Vejlin - new Phd at the Department of Anthropology

Fredrik will join cas with the project: "Finding the Soul of Sociality in the Social Robot: Exploring human-robot relations in Japan through the lens of techno-animism".

2017.08.30 | Antropologi

Astrid Kieffer-Døssing - New PhD student at the Department of Anthropology.

As of 1 September Astrid Kieffer-Døssing joins CAS with the project: "The heritage of return".

2017.08.24 | Antropologi

Andrea Zuppi - New PhD at the Department of Anthropology

Andrea Zuppi will join CAS as PhD from 1 September.

Events

Mon 30 Oct
10:00-15:30 | Aarhus University conference center, Mogens Zielerstuen, Nordre Ringgade 3, Aarhus
Imagining the Anthropocene Future: Extinction, Hope and Technology
A seminar with keynotes by Ursula Heise, Nils Ole Bubandt and Heather Swanson
Mon 30 Oct
13:00-16:00 | Aarhus University, Building 4206 The Lecture Hall, Room 139, Moesgaard
PhD Defence - Cecil Marie Schou Pallesen
Ambiguous Belongings Anxiety and Potentiality among People of Indian Origin in Tanzania
Wed 01 Nov
11:00-12:00 | Aud. 1 (4206-117), Campus Moesgaard
Brown Bag Seminar (Staff Only) Digital humanities
By Karen and Jens
Wed 08 Nov
11:00-12:00 | Aud. 2 (4206-121), Moesgaard
Brown Bag Seminar: (Staff only) TBA
Mette-Louise og Christian
Wed 15 Nov
13:15-15:00 | Moesgaard Lecture Hall (4206-139), Campus Moesgaard
Academic Hour: The Spectral Wound. Sexual Violence, Public Memories and the Bangladesh War of 1971
With Dr. Nayanika Mookherjee, Durham University