Anthropology

Anthropology at Aarhus University

Humans are social beings. Anthropology is all about what this means for how we arrange our lives, organize our society and perceive the world around us – everywhere on earth. How are people's worlds different and how do they experience the world differently – across societies or within the same society? And still what is it that we have in common? Read more here

Our degree programmes

In addition to educational programs in Anthropology from bachelor to PhD level, the department of Anthropology also offers a masters-degree in Human Security, supplementary subjects in anthropology and sociology respectively, as well as a one-year masters-degree in health anthropology.     

A strong research environment

The department of Anthropology is among the strongest academic environments in Europe and the department attracts guest-researchers, PhD-students and students from across the world. Our teaching is deeply anchored in our research with particular specializations within globalization and development, innovation and design, medical as well as visual anthropology.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Ammann, Theresa!!Ekstern viptammann@cas.au.dk
Anders, Gerhard
Andersen, Marc MalmdorfPostdocmana@cas.au.dk+45871629031453, 516
Andersen, Rikke SandAssociate professorrsa@ph.au.dk+45871679841260, 113
Atmanand, Deva Taru
Beek, Martijn vanAssociate professormvanbeek@cas.au.dk+45871621194236, 111
Bliksted, Vibeke FuglsangAssociate professorvibeke.bliksted@clin.au.dk
Bogicevic, IvanaResearch Assistantiv.bogicevic@gmail.com1483, 326
Brichet, Nathalia SofiePostdocnathalia.brichet@cas.au.dk
Bubandt, Nils OleProfessorbubandt@cas.au.dk+45871621164236, 120
Chettri, MonaPostdocmona.chettri@cas.au.dk
Christiansen, Morten H.Professormorten@cc.au.dk2630
Cova, Victor SachaPostdocvcova@cas.au.dk4235, 238
Dalgas, Karina
Dalsgård, LineAssociate professorald@cas.au.dk+45871621214236, 2.19
Daugbjerg, MadsAssociate professor, head of PhD programmemads.daugbjerg@cas.au.dk+45871621284235, 2.34
Eilenberg, MichaelAssociate professoretnome@cas.au.dk+45871621724236, 215
Fardo, FrancescaPostdocfrancesca@clin.au.dk
Fibiger, Thomas BrandtAssistant Professorthomas.fibiger@cas.au.dk+45871632844236, 212 A
Folmann, BirgittePostdocbirgitte.folmann@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 2.24
Funahashi, DaenaAssistant Professorfunahashi@cas.au.dk+45871625564236, 216
Gade, Christian B. N.Associate professorgade@cas.au.dk
Gammeltoft, Tine Mette
Kjærsgaard, Mette
Gonzalez Vargas, Gonzalo Ananias
Graversen, Pia Thorsø
Hansen, Anders SybrandtAssistant Professoretnoash@cas.au.dk+45871620821467, 328
Heimann, KatrinAssistant Professorkatrinheimann@cas.au.dk+45871629131483, 326
Pedersen, Susanne HøjlundAssociate professoretnosh@cas.au.dk+45871621254236, 114
Høybye, Mette TerpAssociate professormette.terp.hoybye@rm.dk
Jensen, Inge Charlotteetncj@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Janne BleegStudies Coordinatoretnobleeg@cas.au.dk+45871629284235, 130
Jeppesen, Lena Lykke
Johansen, Mette-LouiseAssistant Professormlej@cas.au.dk+45871621734236, 243
Jørgensen, Mathilde Lindh
Keisalo, Marianna PäivikkiPostdocmkeisalo@cas.au.dk
Keleman Saxena, AlderPostdocalder.keleman@cas.au.dk
Kirstein Høgel, ArinePostdocahoegel@cas.au.dk4240
Louw, Maria E.etnolouw@cas.au.dk+45871620624235, 2.22
Nielsen, Jeanette Lykkegårdetnojln@cas.au.dk4231, 2.51
Madsen, Beritetnonafa@cas.au.dk
Mazzolini, Anna!!Postdoc Antropologi Moesgårdanna.mazzolini@cas.au.dk4205, 229
Meinert, LotteProfessor with Special Responsibilitieslotte.meinert@cas.au.dk+45871621714236, 1.49
Mosgaard, Kurt
Nielbo, Kristoffer LaigaardAssociate professorkln@cas.au.dk+45871629131483, 326
Nielsen, Christian AxboeAssociate professorchristian.a.nielsen@cas.au.dk+45871622411461, 625
Nielsen, Mikka
Nielsen, Mortenetnomn@cas.au.dk+45871621654236, 220
Otto, TonProfessorton.otto@cas.au.dk+45871629154236, 0.45
Paldam, EllaResearch Assistantelp@cas.au.dk
Parsons, ChristineAssociate professorchristine.parsons@cas.au.dk+45871621271483, 325
Pedersen, Bjarne Friis
Pedersen, Morten Axel
Piya, AvashResearch Assistantetnapiya@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 2.24
Roepstorff, AndreasProfessorandreas.roepstorff@cas.au.dk+4587162124
Rosen, Melanie GillespiePostdocmelanie.rosen@cas.au.dk
Rystok, Susanne
Rytter, MikkelAssociate professormikkel.rytter@cas.au.dk+45871621264235, 2.30
Saxena, AlarkPostdocalark.saxena@cas.au.dk
Schneidermann, NannaPart-time Lecturernanna.s@cas.au.dk
Seebach, Sophie HoogeResearch Assistantshs@cas.au.dk+45871629694235, 138
Seeberg, JensProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesjseeberg@cas.au.dk+45871621174236, 119
Selmer, BodilAssociate professorbodil.selmer@cas.au.dk+45871621154236, 113
Simonsen, ArndisPhD Studentarndis.simonsen@clin.au.dk10G, NBG/10G-5-03
Skewes, LeaResearch Assistantetnols@cas.au.dk
Sparre, Sara LeiPostdocsaraleisparre@cas.au.dk
Steenberg, MettePostdocmette.steenberg@cas.au.dk+45232408761483, 318
Suhr, ChristianAssistant Professorsuhr@cas.au.dk4240
Swanson, Heather AnneAssociate professorikshswanson@cas.au.dk+45871629544235, 132
Tejsner, PelleAssistant Professortejsner@cas.au.dk+45871628874235, 126
Tsing, AnnaProfessoratsing@cas.au.dk+45871628894235, 136
Tørring, Marie Louisemlt@cas.au.dk+45871620894235, 2.26
Ulrich, Anita
Ulriksen, Marianne Sandvadmu@cas.au.dk+45871662231331, 214
Vaisman, NoaAssistant Professornoa.vaisman@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 224
Vangkilde, Kasper TangAssociate professoretnkvangkilde@cas.au.dk+45871628194235, 2.28
Vesper, CordulaAssistant Professorcvesper@cc.au.dk
Vium, ChristianPostdoccvium@cas.au.dk4240
Vohnsen, Nina HolmAssociate professornina.vohnsen@cas.au.dk+45871621134236, 211
Waltorp, KarenAssistant Professoretnkw@cas.au.dk4235, 212
Warner, CameronAssociate professoretncw@cas.au.dk+45871626674236, 116
du Plessis, PierrePhD Studentp.duplessis@cas.au.dk

Latest publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title

News

2018.01.18 | Antropologi

Christian B. N. Gade – New Associate Professor at CAS

On 1 January 2018, Christian took up the position as Associate Professor in Human Security at the Department of Anthropology. As part of the position, he will be the coordinator of the international Master’s degree program in Human Security at AU.

2018.01.18 | Antropologi

Charlotte Ettrup Christiansen - New PhD student at the Department of Anthropology.

As of February 1st Charlotte joins CAS with the project: ‘Art as social process: Experiences of self and literary fiction in Shared Reading groups for vulnerable youth in Denmark’.

2018.01.11 | Antropologi

Theresa Ammann - New postdoc at CAS

As of 1 January 2018, Theresa has taken up a postdoc position at the Department of Anthropology with the Konfliktråd Impact Project (KIP).

Events

Mon 05 Feb
09:00-12:00 | Aarhus University, The Lecture Hall, Building 4206, Room 139, Moesgaard, 8270 Hoejbjerg
PhD defence: Thea Skaanes
Cosmology Matters Power Objects, Rituals, and Meat-sharing among the Hadza of Tanzania.
Wed 21 Feb
13:00-15:00 | Lecture Hall (4206-139), Moesgaard Campus
Academic Hour: Reconstruction and Repetition: Experimental Ecologies and Concrete Sovereignty in Post 3.11 Japan
By Michael Fisch, Department of Anthropology, The University of Chicago.
Mon 26 Feb
09:00-16:00 | Maputo, Mozambique
Middle Class Urbanism in the Global South: Routes, Shapes and Aspirations
The ´Middle Class Urbanism´ Research Team & the Department of Anthropology at Aarhus University are inviting participants to the interdisciplinary Conference "Middle Class Urbanism in the Global South", to be held in Maputo, Mozambique, in February, 2018.
Wed 25 Apr
13:00-15:00 | Lecture Hall (4206-139)
Academic Hour: TBA
By James Ferguson, Department of Anthropology, Stanford University.
Wed 16 May
13:00-15:00 | Lecture Hall (4206-139), Campus Moesgaard
Academic Hour: Exclusion through Care: Bitterness and Belonging among African Care Workers in the United States
By Cathleen M. Coe, Rutgers University