Anthropology

Anthropology at Aarhus University

Humans are social beings. Anthropology is all about what this means for how we arrange our lives, organize our society and perceive the world around us – everywhere on earth. How are people's worlds different and how do they experience the world differently – across societies or within the same society? And still what is it that we have in common? Read more here

Our degree programmes

In addition to educational programs in Anthropology from bachelor to PhD level, the department of Anthropology also offers a masters-degree in Human Security, supplementary subjects in anthropology and sociology respectively, as well as a one-year masters-degree in health anthropology.     

A strong research environment

The department of Anthropology is among the strongest academic environments in Europe and the department attracts guest-researchers, PhD-students and students from across the world. Our teaching is deeply anchored in our research with particular specializations within globalization and development, innovation and design, medical as well as visual anthropology.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Andersen, Rikke SandAssociate professorrsa@ph.au.dk+45871679841260, 113
Autzen, MathildeResearch Assistantmathildehoejrup@cas.au.dk+45871621164236, 120
Beek, Martijn vanAssociate professormvanbeek@cas.au.dk+45871621194236, 111
Bertoni, FilippoPostdocf.bertoni@cas.au.dk+45871621734236, 2.43
Brichet, Nathalia SofiePostdocnathalia.brichet@cas.au.dk
Bubandt, Nils OleProfessorbubandt@cas.au.dk+45871621164236, 120
Chettri, MonaPostdocmona.chettri@cas.au.dk
Cova, Victor SachaPostdocvcova@cas.au.dk4235, 238
Crawford, Peter IanAssociate professorpcrawford@cas.au.dk
Dalgas, Karina
Dalsgård, LineAssociate professorald@cas.au.dk+45871621214236, 2.19
Daugbjerg, MadsAssociate professor, head of PhD programmemads.daugbjerg@cas.au.dk+45871621284235, 2.34
Dupont, MichaelPart-time Lectureretnomdd@cas.au.dk
Eilenberg, MichaelAssociate professoretnome@cas.au.dk+45871621724236, 215
Fibiger, Thomas BrandtAssistant Professorthomas.fibiger@cas.au.dk+45871632844236, 212 A
Folmann, BirgittePostdocbirgitte.folmann@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 2.24
Funahashi, DaenaAssistant Professorfunahashi@cas.au.dk+45871625564236, 216
Gade, Christian B. N.Assistant Professor, Human Securitygade@cas.au.dk+45871632764236, 2.14
Gammeltoft, Tine Mette
Gan, ElaineMember of Administrative Staffegan@cas.au.dk+45871628864235, 134
Kjærsgaard, Mette
Gonzalez Vargas, Gonzalo Ananias
Graversen, Pia Thorsø
Hansen, Anders SybrandtAssistant Professoretnoash@cas.au.dk+45871620821467, 328
Pedersen, Susanne HøjlundAssociate professoretnosh@cas.au.dk+45871621254236, 114
Jensen, Inge Charlotteetncj@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Janne BleegStudies Coordinatoretnobleeg@cas.au.dk+45871629284235, 130
Jeppesen, Lena Lykke
Johansen, Mette-LouiseAssistant Professormlej@cas.au.dk+45871621734236, 243
Jørgensen, Mathilde Lindh
Keisalo, Marianna PäivikkiPostdocmkeisalo@cas.au.dk
Keleman Saxena, AlderPostdocalder.keleman@cas.au.dk
Kirstein Høgel, ArinePostdocahoegel@cas.au.dk4240
Kotnis, SitaResearch Assistantsita@cas.au.dk
Louw, Maria E.etnolouw@cas.au.dk+45871620624235, 2.22
Nielsen, Jeanette Lykkegårdetnojln@cas.au.dk4231, 2.51
Madsen, Beritetnonafa@cas.au.dk
Mazzolini, Anna!!Postdoc Antropologi Moesgårdanna.mazzolini@cas.au.dk4205, 229
Meinert, LotteProfessor with Special Responsibilitieslotte.meinert@cas.au.dk+45871621714236, 1.49
Mosgaard, Kurt
Nielsen, Mikka
Nielsen, Mortenetnomn@cas.au.dk+45871621654236, 220
Otto, TonProfessorton.otto@cas.au.dk+45871629154236, 0.45
Pedersen, Bjarne Friis
Pedersen, Morten Axel
Piya, AvashResearch Assistantetnapiya@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 2.24
Roepstorff, AndreasProfessorandreas.roepstorff@cas.au.dk+4587162124
Rystok, Susanne
Rytter, MikkelAssociate professormikkel.rytter@cas.au.dk+45871621264235, 2.30
Saxena, AlarkPostdocalark.saxena@cas.au.dk
Schneidermann, NannaPart-time Lecturernanna.s@cas.au.dk
Seebach, Sophie HoogeResearch Assistantshs@cas.au.dk+45871629694235, 138
Seeberg, JensProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesjseeberg@cas.au.dk+45871621174236, 119
Selmer, BodilAssociate professorbodil.selmer@cas.au.dk+45871621154236, 113
Skewes, LeaResearch Assistantetnols@cas.au.dk
Sparre, Sara LeiPostdocsaraleisparre@cas.au.dk
Suhr, ChristianAssistant Professorsuhr@cas.au.dk4240
Swanson, Heather AnneAssociate professorikshswanson@cas.au.dk+45871629544235, 132
Tejsner, PelleAssistant Professortejsner@cas.au.dk+45871628874235, 126
Tsing, AnnaProfessoratsing@cas.au.dk+45871628894235, 136
Tørring, Marie Louisemlt@cas.au.dk+45871620894235, 2.26
Ulrich, Anita
Ulriksen, Marianne Sandvadmu@cas.au.dk
Vaisman, NoaAssistant Professornoa.vaisman@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 224
Vangkilde, Kasper TangAssociate professoretnkvangkilde@cas.au.dk+45871628194235, 2.28
Vium, ChristianPostdoccvium@cas.au.dk4240
Vohnsen, Nina HolmAssociate professornina.vohnsen@cas.au.dk+45871621134236, 211
Walsh, MatthewPostdocmwalsh@cas.au.dk
Waltorp, Karenetnkw@cas.au.dk
Warner, CameronAssociate professoretncw@cas.au.dk+45871626674236, 116
Whyte, Michael AnthonyPart-time Lectureretnmaw@cas.au.dk

Latest publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title

News

Lotte Meinert

2017.10.25 | Antropologi, Grant

Major EU grant for PhD programme in Africa’s biggest challenges

How should Africa deal with the major continent-wide challenges related to, among other things, health, refugees, the environment and energy supply? These are some of the questions junior researchers from all over the world will be addressing as part of a new European collaboration headed by Aarhus University. The collaboration has recently…

2017.09.06 | Antropologi

Frederik Vejlin - new Phd at the Department of Anthropology

Fredrik will join cas with the project: "Finding the Soul of Sociality in the Social Robot: Exploring human-robot relations in Japan through the lens of techno-animism".

2017.08.30 | Antropologi

Astrid Kieffer-Døssing - New PhD student at the Department of Anthropology.

As of 1 September Astrid Kieffer-Døssing joins CAS with the project: "The heritage of return".

Events

Wed 22 Nov
11:00-12:00 | Aud. 2 (4206-121), Moesgaard
Brown Bag Seminar (Staff only): Anthropology of Ageing
By Lotte and Mikkel
Thu 23 Nov
10:15-16:00 | Building 1485 - Room 226, Nobelparken, Campus Aarhus
MigMob-workshop: The institutionalization of religion among migrants
Wed 29 Nov
11:00-12:00 | Aud. 2 (4206-121), Moesgaard
Brown Bag Seminar: (Staff only) Materializing Kinship: Cycles of Life at the Norwegian "Hytte"
By Bodil & Simone Abram
Wed 06 Dec
13:15-15:00 | Lecture Hall (4206-139), Moesgaard Campus
Academic Hour: Anthropology in conversation with an Islamic tradition: Emmanuel Levinas and the practice of critique
With Dr. Johan Rasanayagam, University of Aberdeen
Wed 13 Dec
11:00-12:00 | Aud. 2 (4206-121), Moesgaard
Brown Bag Seminar: (Staff only) TBA
By Noa