Anthropology

Anthropology at Aarhus University

Humans are social beings. Anthropology is all about what this means for how we arrange our lives, organize our society and perceive the world around us – everywhere on earth. How are people's worlds different and how do they experience the world differently – across societies or within the same society? And still what is it that we have in common? Read more here

Our degree programmes

In addition to educational programs in Anthropology from bachelor to PhD level, the department of Anthropology also offers a masters-degree in Human Security, supplementary subjects in anthropology and sociology respectively, as well as a one-year masters-degree in health anthropology.     

A strong research environment

The department of Anthropology is among the strongest academic environments in Europe and the department attracts guest-researchers, PhD-students and students from across the world. Our teaching is deeply anchored in our research with particular specializations within globalization and development, innovation and design, medical as well as visual anthropology.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Ammann, TheresaPost doc.tammann@cas.au.dk4235, 130
Andersen, Rikke SandAssociate professorrsa@ph.au.dk+45871679841260, 113
Beek, Martijn vanAssociate professormvanbeek@cas.au.dk+45871621194236, 111
Bliksted, Vibeke FuglsangAssociate professorvibeke.bliksted@clin.au.dk
Bubandt, Nils OleProfessorbubandt@cas.au.dk+45871621164236, 120
Warner, CameronAssociate professoretncw@cas.au.dk+45871626674236, 116
Castenfeldt, SvendResearch Assistant Emeritusetnosc@cas.au.dk
Chettri, MonaPostdocmona.chettri@cas.au.dk
Christensen, Søren RaskResearch Assistantsrc@cas.au.dk
Christiansen, Morten H.Professor with Special Responsibilitiesmorten@cc.au.dk
Dalsgård, LineAssociate professor, Phd program directorald@cas.au.dk+45871621214236, 2.19
Daugbjerg, MadsAssociate professor, head of departmentmads.daugbjerg@cas.au.dk+45871621284236, 119
Dybbroe, SusanneAssociate professor Emeritaetnosd@cas.au.dk
Eilenberg, MichaelAssociate professoretnome@cas.au.dk+45871621724236, 215
Fardo, FrancescaResearch Assistantfrancesca@clin.au.dk1A, AUH, NBG
Fibiger, Thomas BrandtResearch Assistantthomas.fibiger@cas.au.dk
Frith, Christopher Donaldc.frith@ucl.ac.uk
Funahashi, DaenaAssistant Professorfunahashi@cas.au.dk
Gade, Christian B. N.Associate professorgade@cas.au.dk+45871632764236, 214
Gonzalez de la Higuera Rojo, SergioResearch Assistantsgr@cas.au.dk
Gravers, MikaelAssociate professor emeritusetnomg@cas.au.dkVillaen, Moesgård Alle 18
Hansen, Anders SybrandtAssociate professoretnoash@cas.au.dk1467, 328
Heimann, KatrinAssistant Professorkatrinheimann@cas.au.dk+45871629131483, 326
Høiris, OleEmeritus professoretnooh@cas.au.dk+45871620654236, 145
Pedersen, Susanne HøjlundAssociate professoretnosh@cas.au.dk+45871621254236, 114
Høybye, Mette TerpAssociate professormette.terp.hoybye@rm.dk
Johansen, Mette-LouiseAssociate professormlej@cas.au.dk+45871621734236, 243
Keleman Saxena, AlderPostdocalder.keleman@cas.au.dk
Kjærholm, LarsAssociate professor emerituslars.kj@cas.au.dk
Andersen, Marc MalmdorfPostdocmana@cas.au.dk
Louw, Maria E.Associate professoretnolouw@cas.au.dk+45871620624235, 2.22
Mazzolini, AnnaPostdocanna.mazzolini@cas.au.dk
Meinert, LotteProfessor with Special Responsibilitieslotte.meinert@cas.au.dk+45871621714236, 1.49
Meldgaard Kjær, KatrineResearch Assistantkmk@cas.au.dk
Nielbo, Kristoffer LaigaardAssociate professorkln@cas.au.dk+45871629131483, 326
Nielsen, Christian AxboeAssociate professorchristian.a.nielsen@cas.au.dk+45871622411461, 625
Nielsen, Mortenetnomn@cas.au.dk+45871621654236, 220
O'neill, SeanPostdocspo@cas.au.dk
Paldam, EllaPostdocelp@cas.au.dk
Parsons, ChristineAssociate professorchristine.parsons@cas.au.dk+45871621271483, 325
Pedersen, PoulAssociate professor emerituspoul.pedersen@cas.au.dk
Pinholt, JensAssociate professor emeritus
Piya, AvashResearch Assistantetnapiya@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 2.24
Roepstorff, AndreasProfessorandreas.roepstorff@cas.au.dk+45871621241483, 319
Rosen, Melanie GillespiePostdocmelanie.rosen@cas.au.dk
Rytter, MikkelAssociate professormikkel.rytter@cas.au.dk+45871621264235, 2.30
Seebach, Sophie HoogeResearch Assistantshs@cas.au.dk+45871629694235, 138
Seeberg, JensProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesjseeberg@cas.au.dk+45871621174235, 234
Selbing, Ida CeciliaAssistant Professoridaselbing@cas.au.dk+45871629051483, 323
Selmer, BodilAssociate professorbodil.selmer@cas.au.dk+45871621154236, 113
Skewes, LeaResearch Assistantetnols@cas.au.dk1483, 322
Sparre, Sara LeiAssistant Professorsaraleisparre@cas.au.dk
Steenberg, MettePostdocmette.steenberg@cas.au.dk+45232408761483, 318
Steensgaard, RikkeResearch Assistant
Suhr, ChristianAssociate professorsuhr@cas.au.dk
Swanson, Heather AnneAssociate professorikshswanson@cas.au.dk+45871629544236, 112
Tejsner, PelleResearch Assistanttejsner@bios.au.dk
Otto, TonProfessorton.otto@cas.au.dk+45871629154240 (Moesgaard Museum), 01-44B
Tsing, AnnaProfessoratsing@cas.au.dk+45871628894235, 136
Tørring, Marie Louisemlt@cas.au.dk+45871620894235, 2.26
Vaisman, NoaAssistant Professornoa.vaisman@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 224
Vangkilde, Kasper TangAssociate professoretnkvangkilde@cas.au.dk+45871628194235, 2.28
Vesper, CordulaAssistant Professorcvesper@cc.au.dk
Vium, ChristianAssociate professorcvium@cas.au.dk
Vohnsen, Nina HolmAssociate professornina.vohnsen@cas.au.dk+45871621134236, 211
Waltorp, KarenAssistant Professoretnkw@cas.au.dk4235, 212
Zhou, FeifeiResearch Assistant

Latest publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title

News

2018.10.25 | Antropologi

Amanda Møller Rasmussen – New Ph.D. at the Department for Anthropology

With a background in African Studies and Social Anthropology of Development from Copenhagen University and School of Oriental and African Studies, respectively, Amanda has started her Ph.D. at the Department for Anthropology in September.

2018.09.26 | Antropologi

Kirsten Keller- New PhD at the Department of Anthropology

Kirsten Keller's project concentrates on exploring landscapes of inequality in flood-prone coastal cities.

2018.09.11 | Antropologi

Cecilie Baann - New PhD at the Department of Anthropology

Cecilie Baann will be affiliated the ANTHUSIA project.

Events

Fri 25 Jan
13:00-16:00 | Aarhus University, Moesgaard Lecture Hall, Building 4206, Room 139
PhD Defence: Katy Overstreet
"A well-cared for cow produces more milk": The biotechnics of (dis)assembling cow bodies in Wisconsin dairy worlds