Anthropology

Anthropology at Aarhus University

Humans are social beings. Anthropology is all about what this means for how we arrange our lives, organize our society and perceive the world around us – everywhere on earth. How are people's worlds different and how do they experience the world differently – across societies or within the same society? And still what is it that we have in common? Read more here

Our degree programmes

In addition to educational programs in Anthropology from bachelor to PhD level, the department of Anthropology also offers a masters-degree in Human Security, supplementary subjects in anthropology and sociology respectively, as well as a one-year masters-degree in health anthropology.     

A strong research environment

The department of Anthropology is among the strongest academic environments in Europe and the department attracts guest-researchers, PhD-students and students from across the world. Our teaching is deeply anchored in our research with particular specializations within globalization and development, innovation and design, medical as well as visual anthropology.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Ammann, TheresaPost doc.tammann@cas.au.dk4235, 130
Anders, Gerhard
Andersen, Astrid OberborbeckPostdocao.andersen@cas.au.dk
Andersen, Marc MalmdorfPostdocmana@cas.au.dk
Andersen, Rikke SandAssociate professorrsa@ph.au.dk+45871679841260, 113
Angelino, LuciaAssistant Professor, AIAS-COFUND Fellowlucia.angelino@aias.au.dk
Barker, Jessica Liviajbarker@cas.au.dk
Beek, Martijn vanAssociate professormvanbeek@cas.au.dk+45871621194236, 111
Bliksted, Vibeke FuglsangAssociate professorvibeke.bliksted@clin.au.dk
Bogicevic, IvanaResearch Assistantiv.bogicevic@gmail.com1483, 326
Brichet, Nathalia SofiePostdocnathalia.brichet@cas.au.dk
Bubandt, Nils OleProfessorbubandt@cas.au.dk+45871621164236, 120
Chettri, MonaPostdocmona.chettri@cas.au.dk
Christensen, Søren RaskResearch Assistantsrc@cas.au.dk
Christiansen, Morten H.Professor with Special Responsibilitiesmorten@cc.au.dk
Dalsgård, LineAssociate professor, Phd program directorald@cas.au.dk+45871621214236, 2.19
Daugbjerg, MadsAssociate professor, head of departmentmads.daugbjerg@cas.au.dk+45871621284236, 119
Dewhurst, Richard Charlesrichard.dewhurst@cas.au.dk1483
Eilenberg, MichaelAssociate professoretnome@cas.au.dk+45871621724236, 215
Elmholdt, Else-MarieResearch Assistantem.elmholdt@cas.au.dk
Fardo, FrancescaPostdocfrancesca@clin.au.dk1A, AUH, NBG
Fibiger, Thomas BrandtPostdocthomas.fibiger@cas.au.dk
Funahashi, DaenaAssistant Professorfunahashi@cas.au.dk+45871625564236, 216
Gade, Christian B. N.Associate professorgade@cas.au.dk+45871632764236, 214
Ghandchi, NargesPhD Studentng@edu.au.dk
Gonzalez de la Higuera Rojo, SergioResearch Assistantsgr@cas.au.dk
Hansen, Anders SybrandtAssociate professoretnoash@cas.au.dk
Hauberg, LouiseResearch Assistant
Heimann, KatrinAssistant Professorkatrinheimann@cas.au.dk+45871629131483, 326
Hempel, Anna ChristineResearch Assistant
Herrik, Freja LykkeStudent Teacher
Pedersen, Susanne HøjlundAssociate professoretnosh@cas.au.dk+45871621254236, 114
Høybye, Mette TerpAssociate professormette.terp.hoybye@rm.dk
Jensen, Inge CharlottePart-time Lectureretncj@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Janne BleegPart-time Lectureretnobleeg@cas.au.dk4236, 212 A
Johansen, Mette-LouiseAssociate professormlej@cas.au.dk+45871621734236, 243
Jørgensen, Anne KarmarkTrainee1483, 330
Keleman Saxena, AlderPostdocalder.keleman@cas.au.dk
Kusk, Mette LindPart-time Lecturermlkusk@cas.au.dk
Louw, Maria E.Associate professoretnolouw@cas.au.dk+45871620624235, 2.22
Mazzolini, Anna!!Postdoc Antropologi Moesgårdanna.mazzolini@cas.au.dk4205, 229
Meinert, LotteProfessor with Special Responsibilitieslotte.meinert@cas.au.dk+45871621714236, 1.49
Meldgaard Kjær, KatrineResearch Assistantkmk@cas.au.dk
Michael, JohnVisiting Researcherjoal@cfin.au.dkNBG / 10G
Nielbo, Kristoffer LaigaardAssociate professorkln@cas.au.dk+45871629131483, 326
Nielsen, Christian AxboeAssociate professorchristian.a.nielsen@cas.au.dk+45871622411461, 625
Nielsen, Mortenetnomn@cas.au.dk+45871621654236, 220
O'neill, SeanPostdocspo@cas.au.dk
Otto, TonProfessorton.otto@cas.au.dk+45871629154240 (Moesgaard Museum), 01-44B
Overstreet, KatyPhD Studentkatyo@cas.au.dk
Paldam, EllaResearch Assistantelp@cas.au.dk
Parsons, ChristineAssociate professorchristine.parsons@cas.au.dk+45871621271483, 325
Piya, AvashResearch Assistantetnapiya@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 2.24
Roepstorff, AndreasProfessorandreas.roepstorff@cas.au.dk+45871621241483, 319
Rosen, Melanie GillespiePostdocmelanie.rosen@cas.au.dk
Rytter, MikkelAssociate professormikkel.rytter@cas.au.dk+45871621264235, 2.30
Schneidermann, NannaPart-time Lecturernanna.s@cas.au.dk
Seebach, Sophie HoogeResearch Assistantshs@cas.au.dk+45871629694235, 138
Seeberg, JensProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesjseeberg@cas.au.dk+45871621174235, 234
Selbing, Ida CeciliaAssistant Professoridaselbing@cas.au.dk+45871629051483, 323
Selmer, BodilAssociate professorbodil.selmer@cas.au.dk+45871621154236, 113
Skewes, LeaResearch Assistantetnols@cas.au.dk
Sparre, Sara LeiAssistant Professorsaraleisparre@cas.au.dk
Steenberg, MettePostdocmette.steenberg@cas.au.dk+45232408761483, 318
Steensgaard, RikkeResearch Assistant
Suhr, ChristianAssistant Professorsuhr@cas.au.dk4240
Swanson, Heather AnneAssociate professorikshswanson@cas.au.dk+45871629544236, 112
Sørensen, Cæcilie Kramer KildahlStudent Teacher
Tejsner, PelleAssistant Professortejsner@bios.au.dk+45871628874235, 126
Tsing, AnnaProfessoratsing@cas.au.dk+45871628894235, 136
Tørring, Marie Louisemlt@cas.au.dk+45871620894235, 2.26
Vaisman, NoaAssistant Professornoa.vaisman@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 224
Vangkilde, Kasper TangAssociate professoretnkvangkilde@cas.au.dk+45871628194235, 2.28
Vesper, CordulaAssistant Professorcvesper@cc.au.dk
Vium, ChristianAssociate professorcvium@cas.au.dk
Vohnsen, Nina HolmAssociate professornina.vohnsen@cas.au.dk+45871621134236, 211
Walsh, Matthewmwalsh@cas.au.dk
Waltorp, KarenAssistant Professoretnkw@cas.au.dk4235, 212
Warner, CameronAssociate professoretncw@cas.au.dk+45871626674236, 116
Zhou, FeifeiResearch Assistant
du Plessis, PierreResearch Assistantp.duplessis@cas.au.dk

Latest publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title

News

2018.09.11 | Antropologi

Cecilie Baann - New PhD at the Department of Anthropology

Cecilie Baann will be affiliated the ANTHUSIA project.

2018.09.11 | Antropologi

Carla Cortês - New PhD at the Deparmtent of Anthropology

Carla Cortês is PhD at CAS as of 1 September 2018

2018.08.29 | Antropologi

Anne Chahine - New PhD at the Department of Anthropology

Anne Chahine will be working on the PhD project “Future memory making: Co-creating (post-)colonial imaginations with youth from Greenland and Denmark”

Events

Tue 23 Oct
13:30-16:30 | Aarhus University, Building 1482-105
MigMob seminar: Anonymous Black and Brown Bodies: The Productive Power of Europe's Deadly Border
With Nicholas De Genova, guest invited by Derek Pardue.