Anthropology

Anthropology at Aarhus University

Humans are social beings. Anthropology is all about what this means for how we arrange our lives, organize our society and perceive the world around us – everywhere on earth. How are people's worlds different and how do they experience the world differently – across societies or within the same society? And still what is it that we have in common? Read more here

Our degree programmes

In addition to educational programs in Anthropology from bachelor to PhD level, the department of Anthropology also offers a masters-degree in Human Security, supplementary subjects in anthropology and sociology respectively, as well as a one-year masters-degree in health anthropology.     

A strong research environment

The department of Anthropology is among the strongest academic environments in Europe and the department attracts guest-researchers, PhD-students and students from across the world. Our teaching is deeply anchored in our research with particular specializations within globalization and development, innovation and design, medical as well as visual anthropology.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Aaen Springborg, Helene
Ammann, TheresaPost doc.tammann@cas.au.dk4235, 130
Anders, Gerhard
Andersen, Astrid OberborbeckPostdocao.andersen@cas.au.dk
Andersen, CecilieStudentcecilie.ravn.andersen@hotmail.com
Andersen, Patricia KrogenlundStudentCaprizia@hotmail.com
Andersen, Rikke SandAssociate professorrsa@ph.au.dk+45871679841260, 113
Bach, Jonas StrandholdtPhD Studentjsbach@cas.au.dk
Bach, Katrine MandrupPhD Studentkmbach@cas.au.dk
Baskin, ViktorPhD Studentviktorbaskin@cas.au.dk
Beek, Martijn vanAssociate professormvanbeek@cas.au.dk+45871621194236, 111
Botelho, Flora!!Ph.d.-studerende, Antropologi, Moesgårdflorabotelho@cas.au.dk4205, 229
Bresciani, ChiaraPhD Studentcbresciani@cas.au.dk
Brichet, Nathalia SofiePostdocnathalia.brichet@cas.au.dk
Bubandt, Nils OleProfessorbubandt@cas.au.dk+45871621164236, 120
Bune, Julie NynnePhD Studentjnb@cas.au.dk
Castenfeldt, SvendResearch Assistant Emeritusetnosc@cas.au.dk
Chettri, MonaPostdocmona.chettri@cas.au.dk
Christensen, Anna Amalie Foged
Christensen, Fie Lund LindegaardPhD Studentfielund@cas.au.dk
Christiansen, CharlottePhD Studentcec@cas.au.dk
Clausen, Anna Raahauge
Cova, Victor SachaPostdocvcova@cas.au.dk4235, 238
Crawford, Peter IanAssociate professorpcrawford@cas.au.dk
Cypher, RachelResearch Assistantcypher@cas.au.dk
Dalgas, Karina
Dalsgård, LineAssociate professor, Phd program directorald@cas.au.dk+45871621214236, 2.19
Daugbjerg, MadsAssociate professor, head of departmentmads.daugbjerg@cas.au.dk+45871621284236, 119
Dybbroe, SusanneAssociate professor Emeritaetnosd@cas.au.dk
Eilenberg, MichaelAssociate professoretnome@cas.au.dk+45871621724236, 215
Elbek, Laust LundPhD Studentlelbek@cas.au.dk
Fibiger, Thomas BrandtAssistant Professorthomas.fibiger@cas.au.dk+45871632844236, 212 A
Folmann, BirgittePostdocbirgitte.folmann@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 2.24
Forssman, NataliePhD Studentnforssman@cas.au.dk
Frith, Christopher Donaldc.frith@ucl.ac.uk
Funahashi, DaenaAssistant Professorfunahashi@cas.au.dk+45871625564236, 216
Gade, Christian B. N.Associate professorgade@cas.au.dk+45871632764236, 214
Gammeltoft, Tine Mette
Gill, Harmandeep KaurPhD Studenthkgill@cas.au.dk
Kjærsgaard, Mette
Gonzalez Vargas, Gonzalo Ananias
Gravers, MikaelAssociate professor emeritusetnomg@cas.au.dkVillaen, Moesgård Alle 18
Graversen, Pia Thorsø
Günther, Jasmin Ii SabaiPhD Studentjasmin.guenther@cas.au.dk
Hansen, Anders SybrandtAssociate professoretnoash@cas.au.dk
Harrisson, Annika PohlDepartment Coordinatorapha@cas.au.dk4235, 132
Høiris, OleEmeritus professoretnooh@cas.au.dk+45871620654236, 145
Pedersen, Susanne HøjlundAssociate professoretnosh@cas.au.dk+45871621254236, 114
Ingersen, Sofie Kathrine Bak
Ismail, Abir Mohamadami@cas.au.dk
Iversen, Marie KølbækPhD Studentmki@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Inge Charlotteetncj@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Janne BleegPart-time Lectureretnobleeg@cas.au.dk4236, 212 A
Jensen, Jeppe
Jeppesen, Lena Lykke
Johansen, Mette-LouiseAssociate professormlej@cas.au.dk+45871621734236, 243
Johnsen, Ulrik HøjPhD Studentulrik.johnsen@cas.au.dk4235, 238
Jørgensen, Mathilde Lindh
Keisalo, Marianna PäivikkiPostdocmkeisalo@cas.au.dk4235, 234
Keleman Saxena, AlderPostdocalder.keleman@cas.au.dk
Kieffer-Døssing, AstridPhD Studentakd@cas.au.dk
Kirstein Høgel, ArinePostdocahoegel@cas.au.dk4240
Kjeldmand, Katrine Østerhaab
Kjærgaard Thorsen, MillePhD Studentmkt@cas.au.dk4231, 2.51
Kjærholm, LarsAssociate professor emerituslars.kj@cas.au.dk
Korsbæk, MiaAdministrative Coordinatorkorsbaek@cas.au.dk+45871621184235, 124
Kusk, Mette LindPhD Studentmlkusk@cas.au.dk4231, 2.51
Laursen, Camilla BrændstrupPhD Studentcbl@cas.au.dk
Lehrmann, MalthePhD Studentlehrmann@cas.au.dk
Louw, Maria E.Associate professoretnolouw@cas.au.dk+45871620624235, 2.22
Lund Mortensen, EmiliePhD Studentelm@cas.au.dk
Nielsen, Jeanette Lykkegårdetnojln@cas.au.dk4231, 2.51
Løvschal-Nielsen, PiaPhD Studentpia.loevschal-nielsen@cas.au.dk+45871620794218
Madsen, Beritetnonafa@cas.au.dk
Mazzolini, Anna!!Postdoc Antropologi Moesgårdanna.mazzolini@cas.au.dk4205, 229
Meinert, LotteProfessor with Special Responsibilitieslotte.meinert@cas.au.dk+45871621714236, 1.49
Mikkelsen, Thomas ChristianPhD Studentmikkelsentc@cas.au.dk4235
Mosgaard, Kurt
Nielsen, Christian AxboeAssociate professorchristian.a.nielsen@cas.au.dk+45871622411461, 625
Nielsen, Kirstine Krath
Nielsen, MariaPhD-studentmaria.nielsen@cas.au.dk
Nielsen, Mikka
Nielsen, Mortenetnomn@cas.au.dk+45871621654236, 220
Nielsen, Stine HaubergPhD Studentshn@cas.au.dk
Norge Lauridsen, AndersPhD Fellowanders.norge@gu.se
Otto, TonProfessorton.otto@cas.au.dk+45871629154240 (Moesgaard Museum), 01-44B
Overgaard, Line Brandbyge GrünerStudent Workerline.gruner@cas.au.dk4235
Overstreet, Katykatyo@cas.au.dk
Pedersen, Anita Kjær
Pedersen, Bjarne Friis
Pedersen, Morten Axel
Pedersen, PoulAssociate professor emerituspoul.pedersen@cas.au.dk
Petersen, Amalie Palle
Pinholt, JensAssociate professor emeritus
Piya, AvashResearch Assistantetnapiya@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 2.24
Poulsen, SørenPhD Studentsbp@cas.au.dk
Praëm, Ann
Rystok, Susanne
Rytter, MikkelAssociate professormikkel.rytter@cas.au.dk+45871621264235, 2.30
Saxena, AlarkPostdocalark.saxena@cas.au.dk
Schlütter, MettePhD Studentmemosc@cas.au.dk
Schneidermann, NannaPart-time Lecturernanna.s@cas.au.dk
Pallesen, Cecil Marieetnocmsp@cas.au.dk+45871621714235, 136
Schütt, MortenPhD Studentetnoms@cas.au.dk
Seebach, Sophie HoogeResearch Assistantshs@cas.au.dk+45871629694235, 138
Seeberg, JensProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesjseeberg@cas.au.dk+45871621174235, 234
Selmer, BodilAssociate professorbodil.selmer@cas.au.dk+45871621154236, 113
Skaanes, TheaPhD Studentthea.skaanes@cas.au.dk+4587162562
Skau, Kristina Holst
Skewes, LeaResearch Assistantetnols@cas.au.dk
Sparre, Sara LeiAssistant Professorsaraleisparre@cas.au.dk
Suhr, ChristianAssistant Professorsuhr@cas.au.dk4240
Swanson, Heather AnneAssociate professorikshswanson@cas.au.dk+45871629544236, 112
Søndergaard, Mie Kusk
Sørensen, Johanne KorsdalExternal Relations Managerjks@cas.au.dk4235, 134
Tejsner, PelleAssistant Professortejsner@cas.au.dk+45871628874235, 126
Terkelsen, Katrine DuusPhD Studentkatrine.duus@cas.au.dk
Terkildsen, Morten DeleuranPhD Studentimcmdt@cas.au.dk+45871629091483, 322
Thomsen, Sofie MajPhD Studentsmthomsen@cas.au.dk4235, 224
Tsing, AnnaProfessoratsing@cas.au.dk+45871628894235, 136
Tørring, Marie Louisemlt@cas.au.dk+45871620894235, 2.26
Ulrich, Anita
Ulriksen, Marianne Sandvadmu@cas.au.dk+45871662231331, 214
Vaisman, NoaAssistant Professornoa.vaisman@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 224
Vangkilde, Kasper TangAssociate professoretnkvangkilde@cas.au.dk+45871628194235, 2.28
Vejlin, FrederikPhD Studentf.vejlin@cas.au.dk
Venhovens, Mikel Johannes HubertusPhD Studentmjh.venhovens@cas.au.dk
Vium, ChristianPostdoccvium@cas.au.dk4240
Vohnsen, Nina HolmAssociate professornina.vohnsen@cas.au.dk+45871621134236, 211
Walsh, Matthewmwalsh@cas.au.dk
Waltorp, KarenAssistant Professoretnkw@cas.au.dk4235, 212
Warner, CameronAssociate professoretncw@cas.au.dk+45871626674236, 116
Wolff, Stina MøldrupPhD Studentstinawolff@cas.au.dk
Zuppi, AndreaPhD Studentazuppi@cas.au.dk
du Plessis, PierreResearch Assistantp.duplessis@cas.au.dk

Latest publications

PURE error
The PURE server is currently down.

News

Moesgård, where the Department of Anthropology and the Department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies are based (photo: Moesgård Foto).

2018.03.07 | Awards, Antropologi, Arkæologi, Religionsvidenskab, Teologi

Three subject areas ranked among the top 50 in the world

Three of the subject areas taught at the School of Culture and Society have been included in the top 50 on the latest QS ranking list.

2018.01.18 | Antropologi

Christian B. N. Gade – New Associate Professor at CAS

On 1 January 2018, Christian took up the position as Associate Professor in Human Security at the Department of Anthropology. As part of the position, he will be the coordinator of the international Master’s degree program in Human Security at AU.

2018.01.18 | Antropologi

Charlotte Ettrup Christiansen - New PhD student at the Department of Anthropology.

As of February 1st Charlotte joins CAS with the project: ‘Art as social process: Experiences of self and literary fiction in Shared Reading groups for vulnerable youth in Denmark’.

Events

Wed 25 Apr
13:15-15:00 | Lecture Hall (4206-139)
Academic Hour: Presence and Social Obligation: An Essay on the Share
By James Ferguson, Department of Anthropology, Stanford University.
Tue 01 May
09:30-11:30 | Auditorium 1 (4206-117), Moesgaard Campus
Thesis seminar: The Travels of Diabetes: Formations and transformations of diabetes in Cairo, Egypt
By Mille Kjærgaard Thorsen
Wed 02 May
11:00-12:00 | Auditorium 1 (4206-117), Moesgaard Campus
Brown bag seminar: Anthropologist and Journalist - a match made in heaven
By Johanne Mygind, Journalist Weekendavisen.
Mon 07 May
13:00-16:00 | Aarhus University, Moesgaard Lecture Hall, Building 4206, Room 139, 8270 Hoejbjerg
PhD Defence: Mette Lind Kusk
On Uncertain Ground: Intimate Wrangles over Land and Belonging in Northern Uganda
Wed 16 May
13:00-15:00 | Lecture Hall (4206-139), Campus Moesgaard
Academic Hour: Exclusion through Care: Bitterness and Belonging among African Care Workers in the United States
By Cathleen M. Coe, Rutgers University