Anthropology

Anthropology at Aarhus University

Humans are social beings. Anthropology is all about what this means for how we arrange our lives, organize our society and perceive the world around us – everywhere on earth. How are people's worlds different and how do they experience the world differently – across societies or within the same society? And still what is it that we have in common? Read more here

Our degree programmes

In addition to educational programs in Anthropology from bachelor to PhD level, the department of Anthropology also offers a masters-degree in Human Security, supplementary subjects in anthropology and sociology respectively, as well as a one-year masters-degree in health anthropology.     

A strong research environment

The department of Anthropology is among the strongest academic environments in Europe and the department attracts guest-researchers, PhD-students and students from across the world. Our teaching is deeply anchored in our research with particular specializations within globalization and development, innovation and design, medical as well as visual anthropology.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Ammann, TheresaPost doc.tammann@cas.au.dk4235, 130
Anders, Gerhard
Andersen, Astrid OberborbeckPostdocao.andersen@cas.au.dk
Andersen, Marc MalmdorfPostdocmana@cas.au.dk
Andersen, Rikke SandAssociate professorrsa@ph.au.dk+45871679841260, 113
Atmanand, Deva Taru
Beek, Martijn vanAssociate professormvanbeek@cas.au.dk+45871621194236, 111
Bliksted, Vibeke FuglsangAssociate professorvibeke.bliksted@clin.au.dk
Bogicevic, IvanaResearch Assistantiv.bogicevic@gmail.com1483, 326
Brichet, Nathalia SofiePostdocnathalia.brichet@cas.au.dk
Bubandt, Nils OleProfessorbubandt@cas.au.dk+45871621164236, 120
Chettri, MonaPostdocmona.chettri@cas.au.dk
Christensen, Søren RaskResearch Assistantsrc@cas.au.dk
Christiansen, Morten H.Professor with Special Responsibilitiesmorten@cc.au.dk
Cova, Victor SachaPostdocvcova@cas.au.dk4235, 238
Cypher, RachelResearch Assistantcypher@cas.au.dk
Dalgas, Karina
Dalsgård, LineAssociate professor, Phd program directorald@cas.au.dk+45871621214236, 2.19
Daugbjerg, MadsAssociate professor, head of departmentmads.daugbjerg@cas.au.dk+45871621284236, 119
Dewhurst, Richard Charlesrichard.dewhurst@cas.au.dk1483
Eilenberg, MichaelAssociate professoretnome@cas.au.dk+45871621724236, 215
Elmholdt, Else-MarieResearch Assistantem.elmholdt@cas.au.dk
Fardo, FrancescaPostdocfrancesca@clin.au.dk
Fibiger, Thomas BrandtAssistant Professorthomas.fibiger@cas.au.dk+45871632844236, 212 A
Folmann, BirgittePostdocbirgitte.folmann@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 2.24
Funahashi, DaenaAssistant Professorfunahashi@cas.au.dk+45871625564236, 216
Gade, Christian B. N.Associate professorgade@cas.au.dk+45871632764236, 214
Gammeltoft, Tine Mette
Kjærsgaard, Mette
Gonzalez Vargas, Gonzalo Ananias
Graversen, Pia Thorsø
Hansen, Anders SybrandtAssociate professoretnoash@cas.au.dk
Heimann, KatrinAssistant Professorkatrinheimann@cas.au.dk+45871629131483, 326
Pedersen, Susanne HøjlundAssociate professoretnosh@cas.au.dk+45871621254236, 114
Høybye, Mette TerpAssociate professormette.terp.hoybye@rm.dk
Jensen, Inge Charlotteetncj@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Janne BleegPart-time Lectureretnobleeg@cas.au.dk4236, 212 A
Jeppesen, Lena Lykke
Johansen, Mette-LouiseAssociate professormlej@cas.au.dk+45871621734236, 243
Jørgensen, Mathilde Lindh
Keisalo, Marianna PäivikkiPostdocmkeisalo@cas.au.dk4235, 234
Keleman Saxena, AlderPostdocalder.keleman@cas.au.dk
Kirstein Høgel, ArinePostdocahoegel@cas.au.dk4240
Louw, Maria E.Associate professoretnolouw@cas.au.dk+45871620624235, 2.22
Nielsen, Jeanette Lykkegårdetnojln@cas.au.dk4231, 2.51
Madsen, Beritetnonafa@cas.au.dk
Mazzolini, Anna!!Postdoc Antropologi Moesgårdanna.mazzolini@cas.au.dk4205, 229
Meinert, LotteProfessor with Special Responsibilitieslotte.meinert@cas.au.dk+45871621714236, 1.49
Mosgaard, Kurt
Nielbo, Kristoffer LaigaardAssociate professorkln@cas.au.dk+45871629131483, 326
Nielsen, Christian AxboeAssociate professorchristian.a.nielsen@cas.au.dk+45871622411461, 625
Nielsen, Mikka
Nielsen, Mortenetnomn@cas.au.dk+45871621654236, 220
O'neill, SeanPostdocspo@cas.au.dk
Otto, TonProfessorton.otto@cas.au.dk+45871629154240 (Moesgaard Museum), 01-44B
Paldam, EllaResearch Assistantelp@cas.au.dk
Parsons, ChristineAssociate professorchristine.parsons@cas.au.dk+45871621271483, 325
Pedersen, Bjarne Friis
Pedersen, Morten Axel
Piya, AvashResearch Assistantetnapiya@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 2.24
Roepstorff, AndreasProfessorandreas.roepstorff@cas.au.dk+45871621241483, 319
Rosen, Melanie GillespiePostdocmelanie.rosen@cas.au.dk
Rystok, Susanne
Rytter, MikkelAssociate professormikkel.rytter@cas.au.dk+45871621264235, 2.30
Schneidermann, NannaPart-time Lecturernanna.s@cas.au.dk
Seebach, Sophie HoogeResearch Assistantshs@cas.au.dk+45871629694235, 138
Seeberg, JensProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesjseeberg@cas.au.dk+45871621174235, 234
Selmer, BodilAssociate professorbodil.selmer@cas.au.dk+45871621154236, 113
Skewes, LeaResearch Assistantetnols@cas.au.dk
Sparre, Sara LeiAssistant Professorsaraleisparre@cas.au.dk
Steenberg, MettePostdocmette.steenberg@cas.au.dk+45232408761483, 318
Suhr, ChristianAssistant Professorsuhr@cas.au.dk4240
Swanson, Heather AnneAssociate professorikshswanson@cas.au.dk+45871629544236, 112
Tejsner, PelleAssistant Professortejsner@cas.au.dk+45871628874235, 126
Tsing, AnnaProfessoratsing@cas.au.dk+45871628894235, 136
Tørring, Marie Louisemlt@cas.au.dk+45871620894235, 2.26
Ulrich, Anita
Ulriksen, Marianne Sandvadmu@cas.au.dk+45871662231331, 214
Vaisman, NoaAssistant Professornoa.vaisman@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 224
Vangkilde, Kasper TangAssociate professoretnkvangkilde@cas.au.dk+45871628194235, 2.28
Vesper, CordulaAssistant Professorcvesper@cc.au.dk
Vium, ChristianAssociate professorcvium@cas.au.dk
Vohnsen, Nina HolmAssociate professornina.vohnsen@cas.au.dk+45871621134236, 211
Waltorp, KarenAssistant Professoretnkw@cas.au.dk4235, 212
Warner, CameronAssociate professoretncw@cas.au.dk+45871626674236, 116
du Plessis, PierreResearch Assistantp.duplessis@cas.au.dk

Latest publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title

News

Associate Professor Christian Vium

2018.07.05 | Antropologi

Christian Vium – New Associate Professor at CAS

On 1 July 2018, Christian took up a position as Associate Professor at the Department of Anthropology. As part of the position, he will be working on a 2-year research grant from the Carlsberg Foundation, expanding his award-winning research on colonial histories into the Danish context.

Moesgård, where the Department of Anthropology and the Department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies are based (photo: Moesgård Foto).

2018.03.07 | Awards, Antropologi, Arkæologi, Religionsvidenskab, Teologi

Three subject areas ranked among the top 50 in the world

Three of the subject areas taught at the School of Culture and Society have been included in the top 50 on the latest QS ranking list.

2018.01.18 | Antropologi

Christian B. N. Gade – New Associate Professor at CAS

On 1 January 2018, Christian took up the position as Associate Professor in Human Security at the Department of Anthropology. As part of the position, he will be the coordinator of the international Master’s degree program in Human Security at AU.

Events

Tue 23 Oct
13:30-16:30 | TBA
MigMob seminar: Anonymous Black and Brown Bodies: The Productive Power of Europe's Deadly Border
With Nicholas De Genova, guest invited by Derek Pardue.