Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Anthropology

Anthropology at Aarhus University

Humans are social beings. Anthropology is all about what this means for how we arrange our lives, organize our society and perceive the world around us – everywhere on earth. How are people's worlds different and how do they experience the world differently – across societies or within the same society? And still what is it that we have in common? Read more here

Our degree programmes

In addition to educational programs in Anthropology from bachelor to PhD level, the department of Anthropology also offers a masters-degree in Human Security, supplementary subjects in anthropology and sociology respectively, as well as a one-year masters-degree in health anthropology.     

A strong research environment

The department of Anthropology is among the strongest academic environments in Europe and the department attracts guest-researchers, PhD-students and students from across the world. Our teaching is deeply anchored in our research with particular specializations within globalization and development, innovation and design, medical as well as visual anthropology.

Academic staff

Name Job title Email Phone Building
Rytter, Mikkel Professor with Special Responsibilities mikkel.rytter@cas.au.dk +4525149892
Pallesen, Cecil Marie etnocmsp@cas.au.dk +4587162171 4235, 136
Seeberg, Jens Professor with Special Responsibilities jseeberg@cas.au.dk +4587162117 4235, 234
Selbing, Ida Cecilia Assistant Professor idaselbing@cas.au.dk +4587162905 1483, 323
Selmer, Bodil Associate professor bodil.selmer@cas.au.dk +4587162115 4236, 113
Skewes, Lea Postdoc etnols@cas.au.dk
Sparre, Sara Lei Assistant Professor saraleisparre@cas.au.dk +4561330993 4235, 138
Steenberg, Mette Postdoc mette.steenberg@cas.au.dk +4523240876 1483, 318
Steensgaard, Rikke Research Assistant collabolearn@cas.au.dk
Suhr, Christian Associate professor suhr@cas.au.dk +4531600031
Swanson, Heather Anne Associate professor ikshswanson@cas.au.dk +4587162954 4236, 112
Taranu, Mihaela Research Assistant
Tejsner, Pelle Assistant Professor tejsner@bios.au.dk +4587162887 4235, 126
Tsing, Anna Professor atsing@cas.au.dk +4587162889 4235, 136
Tørring, Marie Louise mlt@cas.au.dk +4587162089 4235, 2.26
Vaisman, Noa Assistant Professor noa.vaisman@cas.au.dk +4587162848 4235, 224
Vangkilde, Kasper Tang Associate professor etnkvangkilde@cas.au.dk +4587162819 4235, 2.28
Vesper, Cordula Assistant Professor cvesper@cc.au.dk +4587162792
Vium, Christian Associate professor cvium@cas.au.dk +4529802639
Vohnsen, Nina Holm Associate professor nina.vohnsen@cas.au.dk +4587162113 4236, 211
Waltorp, Karen Assistant Professor etnkw@cas.au.dk 4235, 212
Warner, Cameron Associate professor etncw@cas.au.dk +4587162667 4236, 116
Zhou, Feifei Research Assistant
du Plessis, Pierre Research Assistant p.duplessis@cas.au.dk

Latest publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title

News

2019.02.05 | Antropologi

Lis Kayser - New PhD at the Department of Anthropology

Liz Kayser will be working on the project: "Nuclear Waste in French Polynesia: Dealing with Remnants of Times Gone"

2019.01.30 | Antropologi

Trine My Thygaard-Nielsen - New PhD-student at the Department of Anthropology

Trine My Thygaard-Nielsen will be working on a project studying industrial organic tomato production and climate change in Southern Spain

2018.10.25 | Antropologi

Amanda Møller Rasmussen – New Ph.D. at the Department for Anthropology

With a background in African Studies and Social Anthropology of Development from Copenhagen University and School of Oriental and African Studies, respectively, Amanda has started her Ph.D. at the Department for Anthropology in September.

Events

No articles found in this list