Department of

Archaeology and Heritage Studies

  • #17 on QS World University Rankings

About

At the department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies we are concerned with people and the environment and culture and society from the earliest to modern times, with a focus on studies of material culture. On the basis of fieldwork and library and laboratory studies, including anthropology, history and a variety of scientific approaches, the programme investigates and challenges our understanding of past societies seen in a long time perspective.

Research environment
The archaeology programme at Aarhus University has an international profile and strong research networks. A dynamic research environment provides the framework for large research projects, international conferences and a variety of visiting researchers. The environment is versatile and cross-disciplinary, and the academic staff’s research competences span topics ranging from war and power, mobility and globalisation, family and individual, religion and rituals, landscape and settlement, paleo-demography and evolution, trade and networks, technology and knowledge exchange to (in particular) quantitative analysis methods, field methodology and digital representation.

Affiliated degree programmes
The archaeology programme at Aarhus University offers Bachelor’s and Master’s degree programmes in prehistoric archaeology and medieval and Renaissance archaeology. In addition, a variety of elective subjects and events are offered, including Viking age Scandinavia at the Aarhus University Summer University.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Andresen, Jens-Bjørn RiisAssociate professorjens.andresen@cas.au.dk+45871620764215, 122
Atzbach, RainerAssociate professor, head of departmentafdelingsleder.arkaeologi@cas.au.dk+45871620524215, 131
Bille, Søren Winther
Christiansen, Torben Triertchristiansen@cas.au.dk
Dobat, AndresAssociate professorfarkado@cas.au.dk+45871620944215, 124
Eggers-Kaas, ThomasResearch Assistanttek@cas.au.dk
Fuller, Benjamin ThomasPostdocfuller@cas.au.dk
Harvey, David CharlesAssociate professordavid.harvey@cas.au.dk4215, 220
Hoggard, Christian StevenPostdocc.hoggard@cas.au.dk+45871621964215, 118
Jensen, Helle JuelAssociate professorfarkhjj@cas.au.dk+45871620814215, 222
Jensen, Lars Meldgaard SassResearch Assistantmarklmsj@cas.au.dk+45871620534215, 230
Johannsen, Niels NørkjærAssociate professornnj@cas.au.dk+45871620784215, 218
Kristiansen, Mette SvartAssociate professormarkmsk@cas.au.dk+45871620844215, 133
Krogh, UffeResearch Assistantukrogh@cas.au.dk
Løvschal, MetteAssistant Professorlovschal@cas.au.dk+45871621744209
Mannino, MarcelloAssociate professormarcello.mannino@cas.au.dk+45871629564215, 228
McAtackney, LauraAssociate professorlaura.mcatackney@cas.au.dk+45871633314215, 121
Naum, Magdalena EwaAssociate professormagdalena.naum@cas.au.dk4215, 129
Nielsen, Trine Kellbergtrinekellberg@cas.au.dk+45871621784215, 230
Nørgaard, Heide WrobelPostdocfarkhw@cas.au.dk
Orlova, Galina Nickolayevna
Riede, FelixProfessor with special responsibilities, research programme diref.riede@cas.au.dk
Sauer, Florian RudolfPostdocflorian.sauer@cas.au.dk+45871621964215, 118
Shepherd, NickAssociate professorns@cas.au.dk4215, 121
Sindbæk, Søren MichaelProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesfarksms@cas.au.dk+45408783344230, 228
Vandkilde, HelleProfessorfarkhv@cas.au.dk+45871620964215, 132
Zernack, Anke VerenaPostdoca.v.zernack@cas.au.dk+45871621964215, 118

Phd students

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Bauzyté, EmaPhD Studentema.bauzyte@cas.au.dk+45871625424230, 220
Beck, Anna SeverinePhD Fellowasb@cas.au.dk+45871624344210, 26
Borake, Trine LouisePhD Studenttlb@cas.au.dk4210
Brozou, AnastasiaPhD Studentana.brozou@cas.au.dk
Copplestone, TaraPhD Fellowtara.copplestone@cas.au.dk
Dahlström, Hanna Sofia StrandmarkPhD Studenthanna.dahlstrom@cas.au.dk+45871625424230, 220
Dodd, James AndrewPhD Studentjames.dodd@cas.au.dk
Felding, LouisePhD Studentlofel@cas.au.dk
Hammers, Neeke MinekePhD Studentneeke.hammers@cas.au.dk+45871625424230, 220
Heijnis, ArjenPhD Studentarjenh@cas.au.dkHovedbygningen, Moesgård, 28
Hoffmann, SannePhD Studentshoffmann@cas.au.dk1461, 315
Hrnjic, MahirPhD Studentmahir.hrnjic@cas.au.dk4230, 223
Høybye, MartinPhD Studentmh@cas.au.dk
Jackson, Rowanrowan.jackson@cas.au.dk4215, 127
Jensen, Mathias Paul BjørnevadPhD Studentmathias.jensen@cas.au.dk
Jensen, PeterPhD Studentpeter.jensen@cas.au.dk
Juul, Katrine BalsgaardPhD Studentkatrine.balsgaard.juul@cas.au.dk+45871621784210, 28
Larsen, Johan SandvangPhD Studentjslarsen@cas.au.dk
Maring, Rikkerikke.maring@cas.au.dk4215
Matta, ValentinaPhD Studentvalentina.matta@cas.au.dk
Pedersen, Jesper Borrejesper.borre@cas.au.dk
Radohs, LuisaPhD Studentluisa.radohs@cas.au.dk
Sauer Petersen, NikolinePhD Studentnsp@cas.au.dk4230
Scarlett, Jazmin Parisj.scarlett@cas.au.dk
Steding, JuliaPhD Fellowj.steding@cas.au.dk1461, 315
Thomsen, Kristine DamgaardPhD Studentkthomsen@cas.au.dk+45871625424230, 220
Vos, Julie dePhD Studentjulie.de.vos@cas.au.dk4215, 226

Publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title

News

2017.11.28 | Arkæologi

Anke Zernack - New Postdoc at the Department of Archeaology and Heritage Management

Anke Zernack is joining CAS as of 1 December. She will be part of ‘Apocalypse Then? project.

Heather Swanson

2017.11.07 | Arkæologi

Centre for Environmental Humanities receives International Network Programme grant

Danish Agency for Science and Higher Education supports the Aarhus-Cape Town Environmental Humanities Partnership with 272.197 DKK. These funds will strengthen collaborations between researchers in the Global North and Global South and support the next generations of environmental humanities scholars.

2017.11.01 | CAS, Arkæologi, Materials, Culture and Heritage, Globale Studier, Historie og Klassiske Studier

Introduction of Sine Grove Saxkjær

Postdoc in the excavation project "Caesar's Forum in Rome" project

Events

Showing results 13 to 8 of 8

Previous 1 2 3