Department of

Archaeology and Heritage Studies

  • #25 on QS World University Rankings

About

At the department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies we are concerned with people and the environment and culture and society from the earliest to modern times, with a focus on studies of material culture. On the basis of fieldwork and library and laboratory studies, including anthropology, history and a variety of scientific approaches, the programme investigates and challenges our understanding of past societies seen in a long time perspective.

Research environment
The archaeology programme at Aarhus University has an international profile and strong research networks. A dynamic research environment provides the framework for large research projects, international conferences and a variety of visiting researchers. The environment is versatile and cross-disciplinary, and the academic staff’s research competences span topics ranging from war and power, mobility and globalisation, family and individual, religion and rituals, landscape and settlement, paleo-demography and evolution, trade and networks, technology and knowledge exchange to (in particular) quantitative analysis methods, field methodology and digital representation.

Affiliated degree programmes
The archaeology programme at Aarhus University offers Bachelor’s and Master’s degree programmes in prehistoric archaeology and medieval and Renaissance archaeology. In addition, a variety of elective subjects and events are offered, including the Viking Age Summer University.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Andresen, Jens-Bjørn RiisAssociate professorjens.andresen@cas.au.dk+45871620764215, 122
Atzbach, RainerAssociate professor, head of departmentafdelingsleder.arkaeologi@cas.au.dk+45871620524215, 131
Christiansen, Torben Triertchristiansen@cas.au.dk
Dobat, AndresAssociate professorfarkado@cas.au.dk+45871620944215, 124
Eggers-Kaas, ThomasResearch Assistanttek@cas.au.dk
Fuller, BenjaminPostdocfuller@cas.au.dk
Hansen, Philip Højen Wørss BrønnumResearch Assistantphilip.hansen@cas.au.dk
Harvey, David CharlesAssociate professordavid.harvey@cas.au.dk4215, 220
Hoggard, Christian StevenPostdocc.hoggard@cas.au.dk4215, 118
Jensen, Helle JuelAssociate professorfarkhjj@cas.au.dk+45871620814215, 222
Jensen, Lars Meldgaard SassResearch Assistantmarklmsj@cas.au.dk+45871620534215, 230
Johannesen, Karinfarkkarinj@cas.au.dk
Johannsen, Niels NørkjærAssociate professornnj@cas.au.dk+45871620784215, 218
Kristiansen, Mette SvartAssociate professormarkmsk@cas.au.dk+45871620844215, 130
Krogh, UffeResearch Assistantukrogh@cas.au.dk
Løvschal, MetteAssistant Professorlovschal@cas.au.dk+45871621744209
Mannino, MarcelloAssociate professormarcello.mannino@cas.au.dk+45871629564215, 228
McAtackney, LauraAssociate professorlaura.mcatackney@cas.au.dk+45871633314215, 121
Naum, Magdalena EwaAssociate professormagdalena.naum@cas.au.dk4215, 129
Nielsen, Trine Kellbergtrinekellberg@cas.au.dk+45871621784215, 230
Nørgaard, Heide WrobelPostdocfarkhw@cas.au.dk
Riede, FelixProfessor with special responsibilities, research programme diref.riede@cas.au.dk
Sarikova, DorotaResearch Assistant
Sauer, Florian RudolfPostdocflorian.sauer@cas.au.dk4215, 118
Shepherd, NickAssociate professorns@cas.au.dk4215, 121
Sindbæk, Søren MichaelProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesfarksms@cas.au.dk+45408783344230, 228
Vandkilde, HelleProfessorfarkhv@cas.au.dk+45871620964215, 132
Zernack, Anke VerenaPostdoca.v.zernack@cas.au.dk4215, 118

Phd students

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Bauzyté, EmaPhD Studentema.bauzyte@cas.au.dk+45871625424230, 220
Beck, Anna SeverinePhD Fellowasb@cas.au.dk+45871624344210, 26
Borake, Trine LouisePhD Studenttlb@cas.au.dk4210
Brozou, AnastasiaPhD Studentana.brozou@cas.au.dk
Copplestone, TaraPhD Fellowtara.copplestone@cas.au.dk
Dahlström, Hanna Sofia StrandmarkPhD Studenthanna.dahlstrom@cas.au.dk+45871625424230, 220
Dodd, James AndrewPhD Studentjames.dodd@cas.au.dk
Felding, LouisePhD Studentlofel@cas.au.dk
Hammers, Neeke MinekePhD Studentneeke.hammers@cas.au.dk+45871625424230, 220
Heijnis, ArjenPhD Studentarjenh@cas.au.dkHovedbygningen, Moesgård, 28
Hoffmann, SannePhD Studentshoffmann@cas.au.dk1461, 315
Hrnjic, MahirPhD Studentmahir.hrnjic@cas.au.dk4230, 223
Jackson, Rowanrowan.jackson@cas.au.dk4215, 127
Jensen, Mathias Paul BjørnevadPhD Studentmathias.jensen@cas.au.dk
Jensen, PeterPhD Studentpeter.jensen@cas.au.dk
Juul, Katrine BalsgaardPhD Studentkatrine.balsgaard.juul@cas.au.dk+45871621784210, 28
Larsen, Johan SandvangPhD Studentjslarsen@cas.au.dk
Maring, Rikkerikke.maring@cas.au.dk4215
Matta, ValentinaPhD Studentvalentina.matta@cas.au.dk
Pedersen, Jesper BorrePhD Studentjesper.borre@cas.au.dk
Pilati, Matteompilati@cas.au.dk
Radohs, LuisaPhD Studentluisa.radohs@cas.au.dk
Ringsborg, SaraPhD Studentringsborg@cas.au.dk
Sauer Petersen, NikolinePhD Studentnsp@cas.au.dk4230
Steding, JuliaPhD Fellowj.steding@cas.au.dk1461, 315
Thomsen, Kristine DamgaardPhD Studentkthomsen@cas.au.dk+45871625424230, 220
Vos, Julie dePhD Studentjulie.de.vos@cas.au.dk4215, 226

Publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title

News

2017.08.22 | Arkæologi

Luisa Radohs - New PhD at the department for Archeaology and Heritage Studies

As of 1 September Luisa is enrolled at CAS as PhD with the project: "The formation of power structures in medieval towns – an investigation of urban nobility and the rise of civic elites in the southern Baltic Sea area (12th-14th centuries)”

The Borgring fortress had four gateways, oriented towards the principal points of the compass. The North Gateway, which was destroyed in a violent conflagration, is currently being excavated (Photo: The Museum of South East Denmark / bo47nielsen).
The carved oak timber object recently found in peat layers just outside the south gateway of the fortress. The piece has been cut and sampled for dendrochronological sampling (left). The function of the piece is unknown, but it may be a part of a door or building (Photo: The Museum of South East Denmark / Nanna Holm).

2017.07.04 | Arkæologi

Breakthrough in Dating Viking Fortress

In 2014, archaeologists from the Museum of South East Denmark and Aarhus University discovered the previously unknown Viking fortess at Borgring south of Copenhagen. Since then, a search has been taking place to uncover the life, function, destruction and, not least, the precise dating of the Viking fortress. Now, a new find has resulted in a…

2017.04.04 | Arkæologi

Nick Shepherd – New Associate Professor in Archaeology and Heritage Studies

As of March 1st, we are happy to welcome Nick Shepherd as a member of staff at CAS, Department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies

Events

No articles found in this list