Department of

History and Classical Studies 

Profile

The academic study of history is concerned with the development of humankind and society over time. Special emphasis is placed on social, economic, ideological, political and cultural conditions in the past, the relations between these factors and the changes they have undergone. The approach is interdisciplinary, drawing on theories and methodologies from the social sciences, the sciences of culture, and from the discipline itself.

Research environment

The researchers and PhD students in History at Aarhus University concern themselves with history in many forms, primarily political history, cultural history and social history. Research especially comprises the history of Denmark and Europe, from antiquity to the present day. Research projects are usually limited to specific historical periods and geographical regions, but characteristically the work traverses conventional chronological and geographical boundaries. Researchers participate in a variety of national and international research environments.

Degree programmes

Both Bachelor's and Master's degree programmes in History are offered. The Bachelor’s degree programme includes survey courses in Danish and World History, historical methodology, the uses of history, and courses in various historical topics. The Master's degree programme is offered as three different tracks: a track for those aiming at upper-secondary school teaching, a cultural history track, and a track comprising global and international history. In addition, a number of elective subjects are offered at both Bachelor’s and Master's degree levels.

Academic staff

At History

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Abildtrup, Sara HaiStudent Teachersarahai@sm.au.dk1100
Andersen, Kasper H.Postdocihokha@cas.au.dk
Appel, CharlotteAssociate professorchap@cas.au.dk+45871628081461, 418
Arnorsdottir, AgnesAssociate professorhisaa@cas.au.dk+45871621831461, 425
Brimnes, NielsAssociate professorhisnb@cas.au.dk+45871622151461, 526
Brædder, AnneResearch Assistantanne.braedder@cas.au.dk1463, 617
Bysted, AneResearch Assistanthisanb@cas.au.dk
Farbøl, RosannaPart-time Lecturerhisrf@cas.au.dk+45871629161463, 424
Fink, Jørgen!!Lektor emeritushisjf@cas.au.dk+45871611231463, 421
Gram-Skjoldager, KarenAssociate professorhiskgs@cas.au.dk+45871623061461, 528
Gundelach, Peter
Hansen, Peter Wessel
Hilson, MaryProfessormary.hilson@cas.au.dk+45871622371461, 430
Ikonomou, HaakonPostdochaakon.ikonomou@cas.au.dk+45871625611461, 415
Jensen, Helle StrandgaardAssociate professorhs.jensen@cas.au.dk+45871622031461, 523
Jensen, Mette FriskDirector of danmarkshistorien.dkhismfj@cas.au.dk+45871623271461, 420
Jørgensen, Claus MøllerAssociate professorhiscj@cas.au.dk+45871622181461, 522
Kahlert, TorstenPostdoctorsten.kahlert@cas.au.dk+45871625611461, 415
Kansteiner, WulfProfessor with Special Responsibilitieswk@cas.au.dk+45871621951461, 521
Koefoed, Nina JavetteAssociate professorhisnk@cas.au.dk+45871621981461, 520
Krasilnikoff, JensAssociate professorhisjk@cas.au.dk+45871621891461, 423
Krüger, Anne
Larsen, Christian Albrekt
Magnusdottir, RosaAssociate professorslarm@cas.au.dk+45871623191461, 426
Netterstrøm, Jeppe BüchertAssociate professorhisjbn@cas.au.dk+45871622041461, 422
Nygaard, BertelAssociate professorbertel.nygaard@cas.au.dk+45871622251461, 524
Olesen, Niels WiumAssociate professorhisnwo@cas.au.dk+45871621921461, 518
Olesen, Thorsten BorringProfessorhistbo@cas.au.dk+45871622081461, 530
Pedersen, Maria Nørbymanp@cas.au.dk
Poulsen, BjørnProfessorhisbp@cas.au.dk+45871621841461, 4. sal, 424
Rasmussen, Carsten PorskrogHonorary professorcpr@museum-sonderjylland.dk+4573121400
Schjerning, Camilla
Schmidt, Garbi
Sørensen, AnneResearcherhisais@cas.au.dk+45871622121461, 525
Thelle, MikkelAssociate professoriksmikkel@cas.au.dk+45871622061461, 428
True, Simon Ryvang
Vallgårda, Karen Asta Arnfred
Østergaard, UffeHonorary professoruffe@cas.au.dk

At Classical Studies

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Barfod, GryAssistant Professorgrybarfod@geo.au.dk+45871562761672
Bargfeldt, NielsResearch Assistantklanb@cas.au.dk1463, 426
Berg, Elisabeth JohanneStudent Teacher
Birch, ThomasAssistant Professort.birch@cas.au.dk+45871625464230, 226
Blömer, MichaelAssistant Professormichael.bloemer@cas.au.dk1461, 330
Bobou, OlympiaResearch Assistantolympia.bobou@cas.au.dk+45871634241463, 425
Brandt, Luise ØrstedAssistant Professorluise.brandt@cas.au.dk4230
Christensen, Charlotte Helene
Collar, AnnaAssistant Professorklaacollar@cas.au.dk+45871623461461, 318
Daumann, NicolaPhD Studentndaumann@cas.au.dk1463, 424
Deckers, Pieterjan SylvinPostdocpdeckers@cas.au.dk4230
Dickenson, Christopher PaulAssistant Professorchristopher.dickenson@cas.au.dk+45871625434230, 224
Egelund Hejlskov, LineResearch Assistantlineegelund@cas.au.dk
Eve, Stuart James
Funder, Lærke Maria AndersenPostdocklalmf@cas.au.dk1461, 315
Haan, Annet denPostdoca.den.haan@cas.au.dk+45871629391461, 330
Hass, Trine ArlundAssociate professorklftjah@cas.au.dk+45871623361461, 321
Hastrup, Helene BlinkenbergPart-time Lecturerklahbh@cas.au.dk+45871620471461, 330
Hinge, GeorgeAssociate professorgeorge.hinge@cas.au.dk+45871623371461, 322
Holdridge, GenevievePostdocg.holdridge@geo.au.dk
Horster, CamillaAssistant Professorhorster@cas.au.dk+45871622241461, 325
Højte, Jakob MunkAssociate professorklajh@cas.au.dk+45871628011414, 115
Jørgensen, Christian Svejgård LundePhD Studentchristiansvejgaard@cas.au.dk
Krag, SigneAssistant Professorskrag@cas.au.dk+45871623461461, 318
Kristensen, Troels MyrupAssociate professortmk@cas.au.dk+45871620431461, 320
Kristiansen, Søren MunchAssociate professorsmk@geo.au.dk+45871564361671, 213
Larsen, Johan SandvangPhD Studentjslarsen@cas.au.dk
Lesher, CharlesProfessorlesher@geo.au.dk+45871563691672
Lind, MieResearch Assistantmelind@cas.au.dk4230, 229
Mortensen, EvaResearch Assistantklaem@cas.au.dk+45871620411461, 318
Møller Christensen, DortheTeaching Assistant Professordorthemchristensen@cas.au.dk+45871623941461, 328
Nørskov, VinnieAssociate professorklavn@cas.au.dk+45871628011414, 115
Olsen, JesperAssociate professorjesper.olsen@phys.au.dk+45233821361522, 328
Orfanou, VanaPostdocv.orfanou@geo.au.dk
Pade, Marianneoldmp@cas.au.dk
Poulsen, BirteAssociate professorklabp@cas.au.dk+45871621391461, 324
Poulsen, BjørnProfessorhisbp@cas.au.dk+45871621841461, 4. sal, 424
Raja, RubinaProfessorrubina.raja@cas.au.dk+45871620461461, 326
Rose, Peter
Rosenberg, Erin JoyceResearch Assistanterin.j.rosenberg@cas.au.dk+45871564281672
Rüpke, JörgAdjunct Professorjoerg.ruepke@uni-erfurt.de
Schou, Mikkel FristrupResearch Assistantmikkel.fristrup.schou@phys.au.dk+45871556861522, 320
Sindbæk, Søren MichaelProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesfarksms@cas.au.dk4230, 228
Sulas, FedericaAssistant Professorsulas@cas.au.dk+45871625464230, 226
Terkelsen, PeterPart-time Lectureroldpt@cas.au.dk
Thomsen, Rikke RanderisResearch Assistantrikke.thomsen@cas.au.dk1463, 426
Thorstensen, Jens Christian H.Part-time Lecturerjct@cas.au.dk

At danmarkshistorien.dk (in Danish)

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Andersen, Kasper H.Postdocihokha@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Mette FriskDirector of danmarkshistorien.dkhismfj@cas.au.dk+45871623271461, 420
Sørensen, AnneResearcherhisais@cas.au.dk+45871622121461, 525

News

2017.11.01 | CAS, Arkæologi, Materials, Culture and Heritage, Globale Studier, Historie og Klassiske Studier

Introduction of Sine Grove Saxkjær

Postdoc in the excavation project "Caesar's Forum in Rome" project

2017.10.27 | Globale Studier, Historie og Klassiske Studier

Introduction of Christopher Dickenson

New Assistant Professor at UrbNet.

Events

Tue 28 Nov
12:00-13:00 | Centre for Urban Network Evolutions (UrbNet) Aarhus University Moesgård Allé 20, DK-8270 Højbjerg Denmark Building 4230-232
Historical Ecology, Applied Archaeology, and the Idea of a Useable Past
Lecture by Dr. Christian Isendahl (University of Gothenburg).