History and Classical Studies

Classical Studies

Classical Studies deals with all aspects of Graeco-Roman Antiquity: material and visual culture, literature and language, ideas and ideals. We also study how Graeco-Roman culture interacts with other Mediterranean cultures and how it was received and re-interpreted in later periods. Classical Studies combines two scholarly traditions: Classical Archaeology (the study of the material culture of Antiquity) and Classical Philology (the study of Greek and Latin language and literature.

History

In the history programme at Aarhus University we study the past to understand the present. A thorough knowledge of the past is an important tool for understanding ourselves and the world that we live in. Knowledge of the past provides depth and breadth; it allows us to look beyond the current agenda and put the world in perspective. Studying history does not provide definitive answers to contemporary dilemmas, but it does offer us the opportunity to engage in a continuous dialogue about how the world obtained its present shape, and how we have become who we are.

Academic staff

At History

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Abildtrup, Sara HaiStudent Teachersarahai@sm.au.dk1100
Andersen, Kasper H.Postdocihokha@cas.au.dk
Appel, CharlotteAssociate professorchap@cas.au.dk+45871628081461, 418
Arnorsdottir, AgnesAssociate professorhisaa@cas.au.dk+45871621831461, 425
Brimnes, NielsAssociate professorhisnb@cas.au.dk+45871622151461, 526
Brædder, AnneResearch Assistantanne.braedder@cas.au.dk1461, 623
Bysted, AneResearch Assistanthisanb@cas.au.dk1463, 424
Farbøl, RosannaResearch Assistanthisrf@cas.au.dk
Fink, Jørgen!!Lektor emeritushisjf@cas.au.dk+45871611231463, 421
Gram-Skjoldager, KarenAssociate professorhiskgs@cas.au.dk+45871623061461, 528
Hilson, MaryProfessormary.hilson@cas.au.dk+45871622371461, 430
Ikonomou, HaakonPostdochaakon.ikonomou@cas.au.dk+45871625611461, 415
Jensen, Helle StrandgaardAssociate professorhs.jensen@cas.au.dk+45871622031463, 526
Jensen, Mette FriskDirector of danmarkshistorien.dkhismfj@cas.au.dk+45871623271461, 420
Jørgensen, Claus MøllerAssociate professorhiscj@cas.au.dk+45871622181461, 522
Kahlert, TorstenPostdoctorsten.kahlert@cas.au.dk+45871625611461, 415
Kansteiner, WulfProfessor with Special Responsibilitieswk@cas.au.dk+45871621951461, 521
Knudsen, Søren BrobergResearch Assistant
Koefoed, Nina JavetteAssociate professorhisnk@cas.au.dk+45871621981461, 520
Krasilnikoff, JensAssociate professorhisjk@cas.au.dk+45871621891461, 423
Magnusdottir, RosaAssociate professorslarm@cas.au.dk+45871623191461, 426
Netterstrøm, Jeppe BüchertAssociate professorhisjbn@cas.au.dk+45871622041461, 422
Nygaard, BertelAssociate professor, research programme directorbertel.nygaard@cas.au.dk+45871622251461, 524
Olesen, Niels WiumAssociate professorhisnwo@cas.au.dk+45871621921461, 518
Olesen, Thorsten BorringProfessorhistbo@cas.au.dk+45871622081461, 530
Poulsen, BjørnProfessorhisbp@cas.au.dk+45871621841461, 4. sal, 424
Rasmussen, Carsten PorskrogHonorary professorcpr@museum-sonderjylland.dk+4573121400
Rom-Jensen, Byron ZacharyPart-time Lecturerbzrj@cas.au.dk
Sørensen, AnneResearcherhisais@cas.au.dk+45871622121461, 525
Thelle, MikkelAssociate professoriksmikkel@cas.au.dk+45871622061461, 428
Østergaard, UffeHonorary professoruffe@cas.au.dk

At Classical Studies

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Barfod, GryAssistant Professorgrybarfod@geo.au.dk+45871562761672
Birch, ThomasAssistant Professort.birch@cas.au.dk+45871625464230, 226
Blömer, MichaelAssistant Professormichael.bloemer@cas.au.dk1461, 330
Bobou, OlympiaResearch Assistantolympia.bobou@cas.au.dk+45871634241463, 425
Brandt, Luise ØrstedAssistant Professorluise.brandt@cas.au.dk4230
Collar, AnnaAssistant Professorklaacollar@cas.au.dk+45871623461461, 318
Croix, SarahAssistant Professormarksc@cas.au.dk+45871620584215, 119
Deckers, Pieterjan SylvinPostdocpdeckers@cas.au.dk4230
Dickenson, Christopher PaulAssistant Professorchristopher.dickenson@cas.au.dk+45871625434230, 224
Funder, Lærke Maria AndersenPostdocklalmf@cas.au.dk1461, 315
Haan, Annet denResearch Assistanta.den.haan@cas.au.dk
Hass, Trine ArlundPostdocklftjah@cas.au.dk
Hastrup, Helene BlinkenbergPart-time Lecturerklahbh@cas.au.dk+45871620471461, 330
Heyn, MauraAssociate professor
Hinge, GeorgeAssociate professorgeorge.hinge@cas.au.dk+45871623371461, 322
Holdridge, GenevievePostdocg.holdridge@geo.au.dk
Horster, CamillaAssistant Professorhorster@cas.au.dk+45871622241461, 325
Højte, Jakob MunkAssociate professorklajh@cas.au.dk+45871628011414, 115
Intagliata, Emanuele EttoreAssistant Professore.e.intagliata@cas.au.dk
Kristensen, NathaliaResearch Assistantnbkristensen@cas.au.dk1463, 426
Kristensen, Troels MyrupAssociate professor, research programme directortmk@cas.au.dk+45871620431461, 320
Kristiansen, Søren MunchAssociate professorsmk@geo.au.dk+45871564361671, 213
Lesher, CharlesProfessorlesher@geo.au.dk+45871563691672
Mortensen, EvaResearch Assistantklaem@cas.au.dk+45871622211461, 318
Møller Christensen, DortheTeaching Assistant Professordorthemchristensen@cas.au.dk+45871623941461, 328
Nørskov, VinnieAssociate professorklavn@cas.au.dk+45871628011414, 115
Olesen, Lasse RieversStudent Teacherlro@cas.au.dk
Olsen, JesperAssociate professorjesper.olsen@phys.au.dk+45233821361522, 328
Orfanou, VanaPostdocv.orfanou@geo.au.dk
Pade, Marianneoldmp@cas.au.dk
Poulsen, BirteAssociate professorklabp@cas.au.dk+45871621391461, 324
Poulsen, BjørnProfessorhisbp@cas.au.dk+45871621841461, 4. sal, 424
Raja, RubinaProfessorrubina.raja@cas.au.dk+45871620461461, 326
Rosenberg, Erin JoyceResearch Assistanterin.j.rosenberg@cas.au.dk+45871564281672
Rüpke, JörgAdjunct Professorjoerg.ruepke@uni-erfurt.de
Schou, Mikkel FristrupResearch Assistantmikkel.fristrup.schou@phys.au.dk+45871556861522, 320
Sindbæk, Søren MichaelProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesfarksms@cas.au.dk+45408783344230, 228
Sulas, FedericaAssistant Professorsulas@cas.au.dk+45871625464230, 226
Thomsen, Rikke RanderisResearch Assistantrikke.thomsen@cas.au.dk1463, 426
Thorstensen, Jens Christian H.Part-time Lecturerjct@cas.au.dk
Utvaag, Sara CecilieStudent Workerscu@cas.au.dk
Wouters, BarboraPostdocbwouters@cas.au.dk
smith, michael ernestVisiting Professor+45871625414230, 227

At danmarkshistorien.dk (in Danish)

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Andersen, Kasper H.Postdocihokha@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Mette FriskDirector of danmarkshistorien.dkhismfj@cas.au.dk+45871623271461, 420
Sørensen, AnneResearcherhisais@cas.au.dk+45871622121461, 525

News

Foto: Colourbox.com

2018.01.19 | Grant, Arts, Historie og Klassiske Studier

Aarhus University part of new research hub on the Nordic region

Six universities from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden are participating in a new research hub that will examine Nordic responses to global challenges. The hub has been granted EUR 4.3 million.

2018.01.08 | Historie og Klassiske Studier

Ny fagpris: Årets historiske forskningsresultat

Events

Mon 25 Jun
12:00-13:00 | Centre for Urban Network Evolutions (UrbNet) Aarhus University, Moesgård Allé 20, DK-8270 Højbjerg Denmark, Building 4230-232
Material Behaviour: Behaviour
Lecture 3 in a lecture series by Visiting Professor Roland Fletcher (University of Sydney).
Tue 26 Jun
14:00-15:00 | Centre for Urban Network Evolutions (UrbNet) Aarhus University, Moesgård Allé 20, DK-8270 Højbjerg Denmark, Building 4230-232
Workshop: Material Behaviour: Behaviour
Workshop 3 in a lecture series by Visiting Professor Roland Fletcher (University of Sydney).
Tue 27 Nov
12:00-13:00 | Centre for Urban Network Evolutions (UrbNet) Aarhus University Moesgård Allé 20, DK-8270 Højbjerg Denmark Building 4230-232
A deep history of indigenous Caribbean networks: migration, mobility, and interaction
Lecture by Professor Corinne L. Hofman (Universiteit Leiden).