Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Department of

Archaeology and Heritage Studies

  • #27 on QS World University Rankings

About

At the department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies we are concerned with people and the environment and culture and society from the earliest to modern times, with a focus on studies of material culture. On the basis of fieldwork and library and laboratory studies, including anthropology, history and a variety of scientific approaches, the programme investigates and challenges our understanding of past societies seen in a long time perspective.

Research environment
The archaeology programme at Aarhus University has an international profile and strong research networks. A dynamic research environment provides the framework for large research projects, international conferences and a variety of visiting researchers. The environment is versatile and cross-disciplinary, and the academic staff’s research competences span topics ranging from war and power, mobility and globalisation, family and individual, religion and rituals, landscape and settlement, paleo-demography and evolution, trade and networks, technology and knowledge exchange to (in particular) quantitative analysis methods, field methodology and digital representation.

Affiliated degree programmes
The archaeology programme at Aarhus University offers Bachelor’s and Master’s degree programmes in prehistoric archaeology and medieval and Renaissance archaeology. In addition, a variety of elective subjects and events are offered, including Viking age Scandinavia at the Aarhus University Summer University.

Academic staff

Name Job title Email Phone Building
Alexiou, Konstantinos Teaching Assistant Professor ka@cas.au.dk
Andresen, Jens-Bjørn Riis Associate professor jens.andresen@cas.au.dk +4587162076 4215, 122
Atzbach, Rainer Associate professor rainer.atzbach@cas.au.dk +4587162052 4215, 131
Bjørnevad-Ahlqvist, Laura Elisabeth PhD Student laura.ahlqvist@cas.au.dk
Caple, Zachary Postdoc zcaple@cas.au.dk 4210, 26
Dobat, Andres Associate professor farkado@cas.au.dk +4587162094 4215, 124
Giles, Katterine Honorary associate professor
Harvey, David Charles !!Lektor, forskningsprogramleder david.harvey@cas.au.dk +4593521903 4211
Haughton, Mark Postdoc mark.haughton@cas.au.dk 4210, 26
Holst, Mads Kähler !!Adjungeret professor mads.holst@cas.au.dk +4522994915
Hussain, Shumon Tobias Assistant Professor s.t.hussain@cas.au.dk 4216, 149
Johannsen, Niels Nørkjær Associate professor nnj@cas.au.dk +4587162078 4211
Kerr, Sarah Postdoc sarah.kerr@cas.au.dk 4216
Kristensen, Hans Krongaard !!Emeritus markhkk@cas.au.dk
Kristiansen, Mette Svart Associate professor markmsk@cas.au.dk +4587162084 4215, 133
Linaa, Jette !!Adjungeret lektor jl@cas.au.dk +4520459140
Løvschal, Mette Associate professor lovschal@cas.au.dk +4522889205
Mannino, Marcello !!Lektor, Afdelingsleder afdelingsleder.arkaeologi@cas.au.dk +4587162956 4215, 126
McAtackney, Laura Associate professor laura.mcatackney@cas.au.dk +4587163331 4215, 123
Naum, Magdalena Ewa Associate professor magdalena.naum@cas.au.dk +4550155529 4215, 129
Nielsen, Trine Kellberg Associate professor trinekellberg@cas.au.dk 4215, 119
Ombashi, Havananda Postdoc h.ombashi@cas.au.dk 4210
Riede, Felix f.riede@bio.au.dk +4587162081 4215, 126
Roesdahl, Else Professor Emerita else.roesdahl@cas.au.dk +4586152953 4209, 12
Shepherd, Nick Associate professor ns@cas.au.dk 4211
Sindbæk, Søren Michael Professor with Special Responsibilities farksms@cas.au.dk +4540878334 4230, 228
Vandkilde, Helle Professor farkhv@cas.au.dk +4587162096 4215, 132
Yaworsky, Peter Michael Postdoc p.yaworsky@cas.au.dk 4216, 146

Phd students

Name Job title Email Phone Building
Beck, Anna Severine PhD Fellow asb@cas.au.dk +4587162434 4210, 26
Bjørnevad-Ahlqvist, Laura Elisabeth PhD Student laura.ahlqvist@cas.au.dk
Bloch, Rie PhD Student rbh@cas.au.dk
Borake, Trine Louise PhD Student tlb@cas.au.dk 4210
Brozou, Anastasia PhD Student ana.brozou@cas.au.dk
Clausen, Jacob Villum PhD Student jacob.clausen@cas.au.dk 4211, Pejsestuen
Dodd, James Andrew PhD Student james.dodd@cas.au.dk
Felding, Louise PhD Student lofel@cas.au.dk
Heijnis, Arjen PhD Student arjenh@cas.au.dk Hovedbygningen, Moesgård, 28
Hrnjic, Mahir PhD Student mahir.hrnjic@cas.au.dk
Høybye, Martin PhD Student mh@cas.au.dk
Jackson, Rowan rowan.jackson@cas.au.dk 4215, 127
Juul, Katrine Balsgaard PhD Student katrine.balsgaard.juul@cas.au.dk +4587162178 4210, 28
Jørgensen, Christian Svejgård Lunde PhD Student christiansvejgaard@cas.au.dk +4520112796
Larsen, Johan Sandvang PhD Student jslarsen@cas.au.dk
Maring, Rikke PhD Student rikke.maring@cas.au.dk +4521736973
Matta, Valentina PhD Student valentina.matta@cas.au.dk
Matzig, David Nicolas PhD Student david.matzig@cas.au.dk
Mohamed, Wesam PhD Student wesam.mo@cas.au.dk +4550402547
Nielsen, Simon Kjær PhD Student skn@cas.au.dk
Pedersen, Jesper Borre PhD Student jesper.borre@cas.au.dk
Radohs, Luisa PhD Student luisa.radohs@cas.au.dk
Sauer, Nikoline PhD Student nsp@cas.au.dk
Thegen, Ina PhD Student ina.thegen@cas.au.dk 4215, 034
Winther Johannsen, Jens PhD Student jwjohannsen@cas.au.dk
Zahedi, Pardis PhD Student pzahedi@cas.au.dk +4550246472

Archaeological IT

 Archaeological IT website

Latest publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title

News

2021.06.11 | Arkæologi, Research, Arts

Søren Michael Sindbæk Appointed Professor

Søren Michael Sindbæk has been appointed professor of the Department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies effective from August 1, 2021.

2021.06.11 | Arts, Research, Arkæologi

Felix Riede Appointed Professor

Felix Riede has been appointed professor of the Department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies effective from August 1, 2021.

Marcello Mannino
Niels Nørkjær Johannsen
Andres Dobat

2021.04.19 | Arkæologi

Three new associate museum inspectors

As part of the continued collaboration between the museum and the university, three associate professors have been awarded the honorary title of Associate Museum Inspector.

Events

No articles found in this list