You are here: AU » About Aarhus University » School of Culture and Society » About the School » Departments » Global Studies

Global Studies

Department of Global Studies

About

The Department of Global Studies provides a distinct approach to understanding our contemporary world by combining language-based area studies of Brazil, China, Japan, India, and Russia with European and International Studies and a global perspective. As an academic field, Global Studies was born only in the late 1990s and its exponential growth and importance soared in the 2000s. Its main elements all find their root cause in the insight that contemporary global conditions cannot be studied in ways reserved for states and their interaction only. Taking a holistic approach, Global Studies takes history, cultural studies and anthropology just as seriously as political science, sociology and economics.

In step with this approach, we do not understand nations and regions as cultural containers, but as globally connected. Likewise, disciplines are not understood as knowledge containers, but as connected ways of addressing similar questions.

Students at the Department of Global Studies grow to become critical and self-confident citizens of the contemporary global world. Graduates from Global Studies are well prepared to work in research, in teaching, for public institutions and ministries as well as within the private sector, where global competencies, even in small and medium-sized enterprises, are demanded increasingly.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Anzai, YuriVisiting Instructoryuri@cas.au.dk1467, 315
Bugge, PeterAssociate professorpeter.bugge@cas.au.dk+45871622421461, 630
Cao, YiyiVisiting Researcheryiyi@cas.au.dk1467, 315
Chopra, RadhikaVisiting Professorradhika.chopra@cas.au.dk1467, 330
Ciotti, ManuelaAssociate professormanuela.ciotti@cas.au.dk+45871623761463, 626
Day, KikuPart-time Lecturerkikuday@cas.au.dk1467, 321
Dilli Nunes, CamilaVisiting Associate Professorcamila.dilli@cas.au.dk+45871629741467, 323
Fiig, ChristinaAssociate professorcfiig@cas.au.dk+45871622191463, 628
Fischer, GeorgAssistant Professorfischer@cas.au.dk+45871623121467, 324
Fomsgaard, Saki IchiharaPart-time Lecturersaki@cas.au.dk1465, 328
Friis, SørenPhD Studentfriis@cas.au.dk+45871629181463, 615
Graneberg, Katerina HausildovaTeaching Associate Professorkaterina.graneberg@cas.au.dk+45871622431461, 624
Hansen, Anders SybrandtAssistant Professoretnoash@cas.au.dk+45871620821467, 328
Hansen, Annette SkovstedAssociate professorostash@cas.au.dk+45871623031465, 320
Hansen, Morten Johannes WinstrupResearch Assistantihomjwh@cas.au.dk+45871623161463, 617
Knudsen, Ida HarboePostdocida.harboe@cas.au.dk1461, 618
Horváth, JuditAssociate professorlinjh@cas.au.dk+45871623171461, 626
Ifversen, JanAssociate professorjif@cas.au.dk1463, 619
Kargupta, SouravPostdockargupta@cas.au.dk1465, 423
Kølvraa, Christoffer LeidingAssociate professoreurock@cas.au.dk+45871623741463, 624
Landorff, Laura AnneResearch Assistantlandorff@cas.au.dk+45871622341463, 621
Meyer, Jan-HenrikPart-time Lecturerjhmeyer@gmx.de1461
Morris, JeremyAssociate professorjmorris@cas.au.dk1461, 628
Nielsen, Christian Axboechristian.a.nielsen@cas.au.dk+45871622411461, 625
O'Shea, PaulAssistant Professorasiposhea@cas.au.dk+45871629641465, 323
Pacheco Cueva, VladimirAssistant Professorvpc@cas.au.dk+45871622171463, 622
Pardue, DerekAssociate professordpardue@cas.au.dk+45871626121467, 326
Pedersen, AndersPart-time Lecturerap@cas.au.dk1465, 118
Pinto, Fernanda GláuciaVisiting Associate Professorbrasfgp@cas.au.dk+45871626821467, 325
Platz, AnemoneAssociate professorostap@cas.au.dk+45871623281465, 330
Prastuti, PriyaVisiting Researcherpprastuti@cas.au.dk1467, 315
Pristed, Birgitte BeckAssistant Professorbirgitte.pristed@cas.au.dk+45871627631461, 620
Schulz-Forberg, HagenAssociate professorhishsf@cas.au.dk+45871622321463, 625
Sharma, JyotiVisiting Researcherjs@cas.au.dk1467, 315
Sharma, KiranPostdocasiksharma@cas.au.dk
Shukla, Vivek KumarTeaching Assistant Professorvivekshukla@cas.au.dk+45871621821465, 321
Skoda, UweAssociate professorostus@cas.au.dk+45871623251465, 322
Song, XueyingResearch Scholarsong@cas.au.dk
Starikova, GalinaTeaching Associate Professorslags@cas.au.dk+45871623181461, 622
Steen, AndreasAssociate professorostas@cas.au.dk+45871623751465, 318
Thunø, MetteAssociate professormettethunoe@au.dk+45297993301467, 322
Thøgersen, StigProfessorstig.thogersen@cas.au.dk+45871623321465, 324
Tomioka, JiroTeaching Assistant Professorasijtomioka@cas.au.dk+45871627611465, 325
Vital, Selma Regina SoleraPart-time Lecturersvital@cas.au.dk1465, 328
Wang Jingjing, JennyPart-time Lecturerasjwj@cas.au.dk1467, 319
Wilken, LisanneAssociate professorceklw@cas.au.dk+45871622351463, 630
Yu, DongxingVisiting Researcherdongxing.yu@cas.au.dk1467, 315
Zhang, ChunTeaching Associate Professorostzc@cas.au.dk+45871623041465, 326

Brazilian Studies

The goal of Brazilian Studies within Global Studies at AU is to apply knowledge about Brazil and the Portuguese language to real world problems and international issues. Beyond obtaining proficiency in the 5th most spoken language in the world, Brazilian Studies prepares students to think critically and articulate persuasively on a range of subjects, including migration, urbanization, economics, government and environment that include Brazil but are not limited to it. The program provides students with important conceptual tools from the social sciences and cultural studies and is applied, and project-centered.

China Studies

We study and teach on China within the academic tradition of language-based area studies. Our main concern is with Chinese society, culture and history in contemporary and twentieth century Chinese society with a particular research focus on Chinese socialization, migration, cultural production and language acquisition. A comprehensive study program - BA, MA, PhD - in China Studies with numerous possibilities of specializations and study opportunities in China is offered. The China Studies section closely cooperates in interdisciplinary research and teaching with the different sections of the Department of Global Studies. We are also engaged in many outreach activities such as further education and giving media interviews. 

Want to know more? Do not hesitate to look up our individual profiles or contact us!

News

2016.07.11 | Globale Studier

Jeremy Morris - New Associate Professor in Eastern European Studies

As of 1 August 2016 we welcome Jeremy Morris as a member of staff at the Department of Global Studies

The water in the river in San Sebastian area is orange from acid mine drainage (Photo: Pedro Cabezas)
Vladimir Pacheco Cueva talks to the local community in San Sebastian about environmental and health risks. (Photo: Xenia Marroquin)
Despite its high price bottled water is seen everywhere in San Sebastian. (Photo: Vladimir Pacheco Cueva)
Different gangs of artisanal miners dig up their own holes with simple tools and use mercury to extract gold from the rocks. (Photo: Vladimir Pacheco)

2016.03.16 | Research, Globale Studier

Abandoned mines cause serious problems for local communities

Water pollution caused by acid drainage is one of the biggest problems for people who live in and around mining areas. Vladimir Pacheco Cueva, PhD and assistant professor at the School of Culture and Society, Aarhus University, is the co-author of a report calling for government action to tackle the impact of mining on a rural community in El…

Showing results 1 to 2 of 4

1 2 Next

Events

No articles found in this list