Department of Global Studies

About

The Department of Global Studies provides a distinct approach to understanding our contemporary world by combining language-based area studies of Brazil, China, Japan, India, and Russia with European and International Studies and a global perspective. As an academic field, Global Studies was born only in the late 1990s and its exponential growth and importance soared in the 2000s. Its main elements all find their root cause in the insight that contemporary global conditions cannot be studied in ways reserved for states and their interaction only. Taking a holistic approach, Global Studies takes history, cultural studies and anthropology just as seriously as political science, sociology and economics.

In step with this approach, we do not understand nations and regions as cultural containers, but as globally connected. Likewise, disciplines are not understood as knowledge containers, but as connected ways of addressing similar questions.

Students at the Department of Global Studies grow to become critical and self-confident citizens of the contemporary global world. Graduates from Global Studies are well prepared to work in research, in teaching, for public institutions and ministries as well as within the private sector, where global competencies, even in small and medium-sized enterprises, are demanded increasingly.

Read more about Brazilian Studies .....

The goal of Brazilian Studies within Global Studies at AU is to apply knowledge about Brazil and the Portuguese language to real world problems and international issues. Beyond obtaining proficiency in the 5th most spoken language in the world, Brazilian Studies prepares students to think critically and articulate persuasively on a range of subjects, including migration, urbanization, economics, government and environment that include Brazil but are not limited to it. The program provides students with important conceptual tools from the social sciences and cultural studies and is applied, and project-centered.

Read more about China Studies .....

We study and teach on China within the academic tradition of language-based area studies. Our main concern is with Chinese society, culture and history in contemporary and twentieth century Chinese society with a particular research focus on Chinese socialization, migration, cultural production and language acquisition. A comprehensive study program - BA, MA, PhD - in China Studies with numerous possibilities of specializations and study opportunities in China is offered. The China Studies section closely cooperates in interdisciplinary research and teaching with the different sections of the Department of Global Studies. We are also engaged in many outreach activities such as further education and giving media interviews. 

Want to know more? Do not hesitate to look up our individual profiles or contact us!

Eastern European Studies

Eastern European Studies Offers extensive language, cultural and social training in an important area of Eurasia stretching from Central Europe and the Balkans to Russia’s Far East and the Pacific Ocean.  More than 350 million people live here, with the majority using a Slavic language either as a first or second language. Russia’s vast natural resources and increasingly confident foreign policy both engage with and challenge the Eastern European countries. In recent years, the area between the EU and Russia has been caught between identities as the EU’s ‘eastern neighbourhood’ and Russia’s own geopolitical vision.

Our internationally outstanding researchers are experts on Central Europe, the Balkans and Russia. These researchers along with experienced language teachers will guide you as a student; you can learn Russian or Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian (BCS) and spend a semester abroad at a partner university in Russia or the former Yugoslavia. You will study the region as a disciplinary whole: gaining expertise in culture, society, politics and history and acquiring important skills contributing towards future employability.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Andersen, René Wad Terp
Brædder, AnneResearch Assistantanne.braedder@cas.au.dk1463, 617
Bugge, PeterAssociate professorpeter.bugge@cas.au.dk+45871622421461, 630
Burova, AlexandraGuest Researcheriskandero33@cas.au.dk1461, 621
Campos Motta, RenataAssociate professorrenata.motta@cas.au.dk+45871621511467, 325
Ciotti, ManuelaAssociate professormanuela.ciotti@cas.au.dk+45871623761463, 626
Dahl, Annette
Day, Kikukikuday@cas.au.dk
Dilli Nunes, CamilaVisiting Associate Professorcamila.dilli@cas.au.dk+45871629741467, 323
Fiig, ChristinaAssociate professorcfiig@cas.au.dk+45871622191463, 628
Fischer, GeorgAssistant Professorfischer@cas.au.dk+45871623121467, 324
Graneberg, Katerina HausildovaTeaching Associate Professorkaterina.graneberg@cas.au.dk+45871622431461, 624
Hansen, Anders SybrandtAssistant Professoretnoash@cas.au.dk+45871620821467, 328
Hansen, Annette SkovstedAssociate professorostash@cas.au.dk+45871623031465, 320
Hansen, Flemming Splidsboel
Holm, Mette
Ifversen, JanAssociate professorjif@cas.au.dk1463, 619
Jensen, AnnemariePart-time Lectureramj@cas.au.dk1463, 623
Kjeldsen, Christoffer GrauslundStudent Teacher
Kølvraa, Christoffer LeidingAssociate professoreurock@cas.au.dk+45871623741463, 624
Larsen, Catia MaturanaAssistant Lecturercatia@cas.au.dk1467, 321
Laursen, FinnPart-time Lecturerfinn.laursen@cas.au.dk
Madsen, Mette Bærbach
Mikkelsen, SinePart-time Lecturersfm@cas.au.dk1467, 330
Morris, JeremyAssociate professorjmorris@cas.au.dk+45871625321461, 628
Mu, MonicaVisiting Professormumonica@cas.au.dk1467, 330
Nielsen, Christian AxboeAssociate professorchristian.a.nielsen@cas.au.dk+45871622411461, 625
Nilsson, Rasmusrasmus.nilsson@cas.au.dk
O'Shea, PaulPart-time Lecturerasiposhea@cas.au.dk
Pacheco, Kelly Maree Lamb
Pacheco Cueva, Vladimir DouglasAssociate professorvpc@cas.au.dk+45871622171463, 622
Pardue, DerekAssociate professordpardue@cas.au.dk+45871626121467, 326
Pathak, Gauri SanjeevAssistant Professorgauri@cas.au.dk+45871621371465, 328
Platz, AnemoneAssociate professorostap@cas.au.dk+45871623281465, 330
Pristed, Birgitte BeckAssistant Professorbirgitte.pristed@cas.au.dk+45871627631461, 620
Schack, CarlaPart-time Lecturercarlotta@cas.au.dk1467, 321
Schulz-Forberg, HagenAssociate professorhishsf@cas.au.dk+45871622321463, 625
Shukla, Vivek KumarTeaching Assistant Professorvivekshukla@cas.au.dk+45871621821465, 321
Skoda, UweAssociate professorostus@cas.au.dk+45871623251465, 322
Sonkar, PreetiResearch Assistantpreeti.sonkar@cas.au.dk1467, 315
Starikova, GalinaTeaching Associate Professorslags@cas.au.dk+45871623181461, 622
Steen, AndreasAssociate professorostas@cas.au.dk+45871623751465, 318
Sudo, TakuVisiting Researchersudo@cas.au.dk1467, 315
Thunø, MetteAssociate professormettethunoe@au.dk+45297993301467, 322
Thøgersen, StigProfessorstig.thogersen@cas.au.dk+45871623321465, 324
Tomioka, JiroTeaching Assistant Professorasijtomioka@cas.au.dk+45871627611465, 325
Vasic Jovanovic, MilicaPart-time Lecturermilva@cas.au.dk+45871622431461, 624
Wilken, LisanneAssociate professorceklw@cas.au.dk+45871622351463, 630
Yamamoto, RaymondAssistant Professorraymond.yamamoto@cas.au.dk1465, 323
Zhang, ChunTeaching Associate Professorostzc@cas.au.dk+45871623041465, 326
Zhang, FanVisiting Ph.d.zhang.fan@cas.au.dk1467, 330

News

2017.08.09 | Globale Studier

Welcome to Alexander Romantovskiy

Alexander Romantovskiy is a visiting Research Fellow from Moldova who will be affiliated to Russian Studies from August 15, 2017 until May 15, 2018. Romantovskiy Alexander – Master of Philology, speciality “Russian as a Foreign Language”, lecturer at the Department of Russian as a Foreign Language, Moscow State Linguistic University. Academic…

2017.02.13 | Globale Studier

Vladimir Pacheco Cueva - Associate Professor at the Department of Global Studies

We are happy to announce that Vladimir Pacheco Cueva has accepted a position as Associate Professor at the Department of Global Studies as of 1 February 2017.

Events

Wed 25 Oct
00:00-00:00 |
Towards Independence?
International conference on how minority nationalism is re-configuring European space.
Wed 08 Nov
13:00-14:30 | Nobelparken 1481-231
Inside Russian Politics - a talk by Edwin Bacon
Edwin Bacon (Birkbeck, London) will present his new book Inside Russian Politics