Department of
Philosophy and History of Ideas

Profile

Both Philosophy and the History of Ideas are concerned with the thoughts and ideas that have marked the Western world from antiquity to the present day. The focus of Philosophy is primarily on a systematic perspective that seeks to identify the bases for our various practices and concepts. The focus of the History of Ideas is primarily on a historical perspective that aims at revealing our intellectual heritage. We can thus say that Philosophy is concerned with the validity of our various concepts whereas the History of Ideas is more concerned with which concepts have been – and in some cases still are – considered valid.

In this respect, both Philosophy and the History of Ideas are interdisciplinary in their focus, but while the History of Ideas explores the relations between many different fields and disciplines, it is characteristic of Philosophy that it addresses the fundamental questions that precede any division into fields and disciplines.

Research environment

The academic environment in Philosophy and the History of Ideas at Aarhus University is the largest of its type in Denmark and – especially because of the productive tension between the systematic and historical perspectives – the research conducted is characterised by an undogmatic and open-minded worldview. The researchers are thus involved in a variety of interdisciplinary projects both within and outside the Faculty of Arts.

Degree programmes

Bachelor's and Master's degree programmes as well as a number of electives are offered in both Philosophy and the History of Ideas.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Andersen, Camilla Julie
Andersen, CasperAssociate professorideca@cas.au.dk+45871628931467, 224
Andersen, Lise MarieAssistant Professorlmandersen@cas.au.dk+45871629041483, 321
Andersen, SandyPhD Fellowfilsa@cas.au.dk1465, 422
Bek-Thomsen, JakobAssociate professoridejbt@cas.au.dk
Bernild, Ole
Bjerring, Jens Christian KrarupAssistant Professorfiljcb@cas.au.dk+45871628611467, 621
Bove, Hanne MørkenborgPhD Studenthanbov@ph.au.dk
Brock, SteenAssociate professorfilsb@cas.au.dk+45871622651467, 523
Busch, JacobAssociate professorfiljab@cas.au.dk+45871622461465, 420
Christensen, Jonas Fogedgaardfiljfc@cas.au.dk+45871628621465, 523
Christensen, Martin EjsingPart-time Lecturerfilmec@cas.au.dk
Christiansen, Christian O.Associate professoridecoc@cas.au.dk+45871622781465, 525
Clausen, Jette Aaroe
Cockburn, Patrick JosephAssistant Professorfilpjlc@cas.au.dk+45871623351465, 520
Dige, MortenAssociate professorfilmd@cas.au.dk+45871622631467, 525
Dyring, RasmusAssistant Professorfilrd@cas.au.dk1465, 526
Fabian, LouiseAssociate professoridelfl@cas.au.dk+45871626581465, 628
Gundersen, Lars BoAssociate professorfillg@cas.au.dk+45871622741465, 615
Hansen, Bue RübnerPostdocbue.rubner.hansen@cas.au.dk
Hansen, Christina Herold
Hansen, IbenResearch Assistantibenhansen@cas.au.dk1467, 226
Holm, Andreas BeckAssociate professoranbh@cas.au.dk+45871622941467, 625
Husted, JørgenAssociate professorfiljh@cas.au.dk1467, 623
Højrup, Thomas
Høyner, Søren ToftStudent Workersorenhoyner@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Anders Funch Brøbech
Jensen, Uffe JuulProfessorfilujj@cas.au.dk+45871622891465, 430
Jeppesen, Morten HaugaardAssociate professoridemhj@cas.au.dk+45871622681467, 626
Jørgensen, DortheProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesidedj@cas.au.dk+45871622841465, 623
Kjeldsen, Anette Schouv
Krause-Jensen, KatrinePhD Studentfilkkj@cas.au.dk+45871622491467, 530
Kreis, GuidoAssociate professorguido.kreis@cas.au.dk+45871621361467, 624
Kristensen, Jacob Bo LautrupPostdocfiljlk@cas.au.dk+45871625261467, 420
Kristensen, Jette Thuesen
Larsen, Christian Oluf Verdoner
Lassen, Aske Juul
Laursen, Henning HøghTeaching Assistant Professorfilhhl@cas.au.dk+45871622641465, 524
Leeson, Christina Algreen-PetersenResearch Assistantclee@edu.au.dkj, 113
Linde, Bill MichaelAssistant Lecturerbill@cas.au.dk
Lundsgaard-Leth, KrestenAssistant Lecturerfilkll@cas.au.dk
Morsing, OleAssociate professorideom@cas.au.dk+45871622791465, 625
Munk, KarenAssociate professorfilkpm@cas.au.dk+45871622471465, 418
Nørskov, MarcoAssociate professorfilmanp@cas.au.dk+45871628211467, 619
Olesen, Anne MarieMember of Administrative Stafffilamo@cas.au.dk+45871622611467, 628
Praëm, Sara KierPostdocifiskp@cas.au.dk+45871624121467, 519
Raffnsøe-Møller, MortenAssociate professorfilraf@cas.au.dk+45871622621465, 522
Rahbek, Anne
Rasmussen, Anders MoeAssociate professorfilamr@cas.au.dk+45871622811467, 526
Rodogno, RaffaeleAssociate professorfilrr@cas.au.dk+45871622591467, 521
Schanz, Hans-JørgenProfessoridehjs@cas.au.dk1465, 618
Seibt, JohannaProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesfilseibt@cas.au.dk+45871622451465, 626
Sholl, JonathanAssistant Professorfiljsholl@cas.au.dk1465, 428
Skewes, Joshua CharlesAssociate professorfiljcs@cas.au.dk
Steglich-Petersen, AsbjørnAssociate professorfilasp@cas.au.dk+45871622721467, 524
Sørensen, Peter AaboeTeaching Assistant Professoridepaas@cas.au.dk+45871622521465, 620
Thisted, JensPart-time Lecturerjenst@cas.au.dk+45871622481465, 425
Thorup, MikkelProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesidemt@cas.au.dk+45871622531465, 622
Vestergaard, ChristinaResearch Assistantetnocv@cas.au.dk
Mariegaard, Nicolai Von EggersPart-time Lecturerfilnm@cas.au.dk
Wackerhausen, Anne-CathrineResearch Assistant
Wackerhausen, SteenProfessorfilsw@cas.au.dk+45871622731465, 528
Weinreich, Elvi
Wentzer, Thomas SchwarzAssociate professorfilts@cas.au.dk+45871622951467, 630

News

2016.09.13 | Filosofi og Idéhistorie

Jonathan Sholl - New Assistant Professor at the Department of Philosophy and History of ideas

As of 1 August we welcome Jonathan Sholl as a new member of staff at CAS, Department of Philosophy and History of ideas

2016.09.13 | Filosofi og Idéhistorie

Jens Christian Bjerring - "New"Assistant Professor at the Department of Philosophy and History of ideas

We are happy to announce that Jens Christian Bjerring has accepted a position as Assistant Professor at CAS as of 1 August.

2016.09.12 | Filosofi og Idéhistorie

Mattias Skipper Rasmussen - new PhD at the Department of Philosophy and History of Ideas

Matthias Skipper Rasmussen will be working on the project: The Epistemology of Higher-Order Evidence

Events

Fri 12 Jan
13:00-19:00 | Festsalen (lokale A220), DPU, Aarhus Universitet, Campus Emdrup, Tuborgvej 164, København NV
Disputatsforsvar ved lektor, mag.art. og ph.d. Anne-Marie Eggert Olsen
Med henblik på erhvervelse af doktorgraden i filosofi (dr.phil.) forsvarer lektor, mag.art. & ph.d. Anne-Marie Eggert Olsen sin doktordisputats: At forandre verden. En læsning af Platons politiske filosofi i Staten.