Department of the Study of Religion

  • ...one of the largest research environments in the world in this field

Profile

The Department of the Study of Religion is concerned with religion in its comprehensive sense. The studies cover all major world religions and other religions and phenomena essential to the history of religion, past and present. This is reflected in the academic staff's research competences, which not only include a broad spectrum of empirical skills but also a wide range of theoretical and methodological approaches from fields including history, philology, history of literature, philosophy, anthropology, sociology, psychology, and phenomenology of religion. The separate degree programmes within Arabic and Islamic Studies have Islam and the Arab world's languages, culture and society as their speciality.

 

Research environment

The Department of the Study of Religion at Aarhus University is one of the largest research environments in the world in this field, including strong research competences in Norse religion, contemporary religion, Islamic studies, cognition and experimental studies. The environment is interdisciplinary in its organisation and working methods, and the programme's researchers are involved in a wide range of research projects with colleagues from other fields, such as biblical studies and church history within theology, the humanities in general, the social science and the natural science.

 

Degree programmes

The Studies of Religion Programme offers Bachelor's and Master's degree programmes in the Study of Religion and a supplementary subject in Religion, Politics and Society in collaboration with political science. In addition a number of elective subjects are offered.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Ahlin, LarsAssociate professorlah@cas.au.dk+45871624711453, 527
Albinus, LarsAssociate professorlal@cas.au.dk+45871624541451, 524
Borup, JørnAssociate professor, head of departmentjb@cas.au.dk+45871624571453, 528
Christensen, Henrik ReintoftAssociate professorhc@cas.au.dk+45871624921453, 525
Christiansen, Johanne Louise VirenfeldtResearch Assistantjch@cas.au.dk+45871624181451, 519
Corboz, ElvireAssistant Professorelvire.corboz@cas.au.dk+45871628391453, 534
Effersøe, DortePart-time Lecturerdem@cas.au.dk
Fibiger, Marianne QvortrupAssociate professormf@cas.au.dk+45871624361453, 529
Geertz, Armin W.Jens Christian Skou Senior Fellowawg@aias.au.dk+45871532731630, 111
Jensen, Hans Jørgen LundagerProfessorhj@cas.au.dk+45871624451453, 531
Jensen, Jeppe SindingAssociate professorjsj@cas.au.dk+45871624751451, 525
Kühle, LeneProfessor with Special Responsibilitieslk@cas.au.dk+45871624251453, 533
Larsen, Malik Christian ReimerResearch Assistantml@cas.au.dk+45871625361453, 330
Moestrup, Elisabeth A.Teaching Associate Professorem@cas.au.dk1453, 324
Mørch, ErikAssistant Lecturererm@cas.au.dk
Nielbo, Kristoffer LaigaardAssociate professorkln@cas.au.dk+45871629131483, 326
Nielsen, Klaus BoProject Staff Memberkbn@cas.au.dk
Nielsen, Marie VejrupAssociate professormvn@cas.au.dk+45871625061453, 518
Olesen, Bjarne WernickeAssistant Professorbwo@cas.au.dk1453, 528
Paldam, EllaPart-time Lecturerelp@cas.au.dk+45871628761451, 519
Petersen, Anders KlostergaardProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesakp@cas.au.dk+45871624311451, 531
Riexinger, Martin ThomasAssociate professormri@cas.au.dk+45871624211453, 520
Schjødt, Jens PeterAssociate professorjps@cas.au.dk+45871624891451, 523
Schjødt, UffeAssociate professorus@cas.au.dk+45871624391453, 522
Schleicher, MarianneAssociate professorms@cas.au.dk+45871624191453, 526
Sedgwick, MarkProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesmjrs@cas.au.dk+45871626571451, 522
Shaboun, Alia AshrafTeaching Assistant Professora.shaboun@cas.au.dk+45871625341453, 326
Sørensen, JesperAssociate professor, research programme directorjsn@cas.au.dk+45871624411451, 527
Thorstensen, Jens Christian H.Assistant Lecturerjct@cas.au.dk

News

2017.03.16 | Knowledge exchange, Religionsvidenskab

Peaceful co-existence between religions: how can this be achieved?

The experiences gained in both Indonesia and Denmark with regard to tolerance and co-existence between various religious and ethnic groups are to be discussed at a public round-table debate at Aarhus University on Monday 20 March.

Associate professor Jesper Sørensen.

2017.01.24 | Religionsvidenskab

New research programme director at the Department of the Study of Religion

Jesper Sørensen is new research programme director from 1 January 2017

Showing results 1 to 2 of 11

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

Events

Mon 01 May
13:00-17:00 | Room 415, bldg. 1453
Grave Symbolism - an interdisciplinary seminar
Seminar hosted by the Research Program for the Study of Religion in cooperation with Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies, Aarhus University
Tue 02 May
12:00-13:00 | AU Campus Nobel, Bldg. 1453, Room 415
Current Sectarian conflicts and the puritanisation of Sunni Islam
Martin Riexinger, Associate Professor, will give a talk at the lunch seminar, arranged by Centre for Contemporary Religion
Mon 08 May
14:15-16:15 | The AIAS Auditorium, Building 1632, Høegh-Guldbergs Gade 6B, 8000 Aarhus C
Why Mysticism? On why this strange phenomenon should be of interest to everyone
AIAS Fellows' Seminar: Armin W. Geertz

Showing results 1 to 3 of 5

1 2 Next