Department of

Archaeology and Heritage Studies

  • #17 on QS World University Rankings

About

At the department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies we are concerned with people and the environment and culture and society from the earliest to modern times, with a focus on studies of material culture. On the basis of fieldwork and library and laboratory studies, including anthropology, history and a variety of scientific approaches, the programme investigates and challenges our understanding of past societies seen in a long time perspective.

Research environment
The archaeology programme at Aarhus University has an international profile and strong research networks. A dynamic research environment provides the framework for large research projects, international conferences and a variety of visiting researchers. The environment is versatile and cross-disciplinary, and the academic staff’s research competences span topics ranging from war and power, mobility and globalisation, family and individual, religion and rituals, landscape and settlement, paleo-demography and evolution, trade and networks, technology and knowledge exchange to (in particular) quantitative analysis methods, field methodology and digital representation.

Affiliated degree programmes
The archaeology programme at Aarhus University offers Bachelor’s and Master’s degree programmes in prehistoric archaeology and medieval and Renaissance archaeology. In addition, a variety of elective subjects and events are offered, including Viking age Scandinavia at the Aarhus University Summer University.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Andresen, Jens-Bjørn RiisAssociate professorjens.andresen@cas.au.dk+45871620764215, 122
Atzbach, RainerAssociate professor, head of departmentafdelingsleder.arkaeologi@cas.au.dk+45871620524215, 131
Bille, Søren Winther
Christiansen, Torben Triertchristiansen@cas.au.dk
Dobat, AndresAssociate professorfarkado@cas.au.dk+45871620944215, 124
Eggers-Kaas, ThomasResearch Assistanttek@cas.au.dk
Fuller, Benjamin ThomasPostdocfuller@cas.au.dk
Harvey, David CharlesAssociate professordavid.harvey@cas.au.dk4215, 220
Hoggard, Christian StevenPostdocc.hoggard@cas.au.dk+45871621964215, 118
Jensen, Helle JuelAssociate professorfarkhjj@cas.au.dk+45871620814215, 222
Jensen, Lars Meldgaard SassResearch Assistantmarklmsj@cas.au.dk+45871620534215, 230
Johannesen, Karinfarkkarinj@cas.au.dk
Johannsen, Niels NørkjærAssociate professornnj@cas.au.dk+45871620784215, 218
Kristiansen, Mette SvartAssociate professormarkmsk@cas.au.dk+45871620844215, 130
Krogh, UffeResearch Assistantukrogh@cas.au.dk
Løvschal, MetteAssistant Professorlovschal@cas.au.dk+45871621744209
Mannino, MarcelloAssociate professormarcello.mannino@cas.au.dk+45871629564215, 228
McAtackney, LauraAssociate professorlaura.mcatackney@cas.au.dk+45871633314215, 121
Naum, Magdalena EwaAssociate professormagdalena.naum@cas.au.dk4215, 129
Nielsen, Trine Kellbergtrinekellberg@cas.au.dk+45871621784215, 230
Nørgaard, Heide WrobelPostdocfarkhw@cas.au.dk
Orlova, Galina Nickolayevna
Riede, FelixProfessor with special responsibilities, research programme diref.riede@cas.au.dk
Sarikova, DorotaResearch Assistantdsarik@cas.au.dk
Sauer, Florian RudolfPostdocflorian.sauer@cas.au.dk+45871621964215, 118
Shepherd, NickAssociate professorns@cas.au.dk4215, 121
Sindbæk, Søren MichaelProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesfarksms@cas.au.dk+45408783344230, 228
Vandkilde, HelleProfessorfarkhv@cas.au.dk+45871620964215, 132
Zernack, Anke VerenaPostdoca.v.zernack@cas.au.dk+45871621964215, 118

Phd students

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Bauzyté, EmaPhD Studentema.bauzyte@cas.au.dk+45871625424230, 220
Beck, Anna SeverinePhD Studentasb@cas.au.dk
Borake, Trine LouisePhD Studenttlb@cas.au.dk4210
Brozou, AnastasiaPhD Studentana.brozou@cas.au.dk
Copplestone, TaraPhD Fellowtara.copplestone@cas.au.dk
Dahlström, Hanna Sofia StrandmarkPhD Studenthanna.dahlstrom@cas.au.dk+45871625424230, 220
Dodd, James AndrewPhD Studentjames.dodd@cas.au.dk
Felding, LouisePhD Studentlofel@cas.au.dk
Hammers, Neeke MinekePhD Studentneeke.hammers@cas.au.dk+45871625424230, 220
Heijnis, ArjenPhD Studentarjenh@cas.au.dkHovedbygningen, Moesgård, 28
Hoffmann, SannePhD Studentshoffmann@cas.au.dk1461, 315
Hrnjic, MahirPhD Studentmahir.hrnjic@cas.au.dk4230, 223
Jackson, Rowanrowan.jackson@cas.au.dk4215, 127
Jensen, Mathias Paul BjørnevadPhD Studentmathias.jensen@cas.au.dk
Jensen, PeterPhD Studentpeter.jensen@cas.au.dk
Juul, Katrine BalsgaardPhD Studentkatrine.balsgaard.juul@cas.au.dk+45871621784210, 28
Larsen, Johan SandvangPhD Studentjslarsen@cas.au.dk
Maring, Rikkerikke.maring@cas.au.dk4215
Matta, ValentinaPhD Studentvalentina.matta@cas.au.dk
Pedersen, Jesper Borrejesper.borre@cas.au.dk
Pilati, Matteompilati@cas.au.dk
Radohs, LuisaPhD Studentluisa.radohs@cas.au.dk
Ringsborg, SaraPhD Studentringsborg@cas.au.dk
Sauer Petersen, NikolinePhD Studentnsp@cas.au.dk4230
Steding, JuliaPhD Fellowj.steding@cas.au.dk1461, 315
Thomsen, Kristine DamgaardPhD Studentkthomsen@cas.au.dk+45871625424230, 220
Vos, Julie dePhD Studentjulie.de.vos@cas.au.dk4215, 226

Publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title

News

2018.04.23 | CAS, Arkæologi, Materials, Culture and Heritage

The Nordic Bronze Age (1500–1100 BC): Craft Mobility and Contact Networks in Metal Craft

Article by Heide Wrobel Nørgaard in 'Praehistorische Zeitschrift'.

Moesgård, where the Department of Anthropology and the Department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies are based (photo: Moesgård Foto).

2018.03.07 | Awards, Antropologi, Arkæologi, Religionsvidenskab, Teologi

Three subject areas ranked among the top 50 in the world

Three of the subject areas taught at the School of Culture and Society have been included in the top 50 on the latest QS ranking list.

2018.02.19 | Arkæologi

Ben Fuller - New postdoc at the Department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies

Ben will be working on the project “Danish and European Diets in Time” (DEDiT).

Events

Tue 24 Apr
12:00-13:00 | Centre for Urban Network Evolutions (UrbNet) Aarhus University Moesgård Allé 20, DK-8270 Højbjerg Denmark Building 4230-232
Why Mortar Matters: New Results
Lecture by PhD student Kristine Thomsen (UrbNet, Aarhus University).
Mon 30 Apr
12:00-13:00 | Centre for Urban Network Evolutions (UrbNet) Aarhus University Moesgård Allé 20, DK-8270 Højbjerg Denmark Building 4230-232
The size of cities in the ancient world
Lecture by Michael E. Smith (Arizona State University).
Thu 03 May
12:00-13:00 | Centre for Urban Network Evolutions (UrbNet) Aarhus University, Moesgård Allé 20, DK-8270 Højbjerg Denmark, Building 4230-232
Urban development in frontier zones: a geoarchaeology of regime change
Lecture by Rowena Banerjea (University of Reading).

Showing results 1 to 3 of 17

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next