Department of

Archaeology and Heritage Studies

  • #17 on QS World University Rankings

About

At the department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies we are concerned with people and the environment and culture and society from the earliest to modern times, with a focus on studies of material culture. On the basis of fieldwork and library and laboratory studies, including anthropology, history and a variety of scientific approaches, the programme investigates and challenges our understanding of past societies seen in a long time perspective.

Research environment
The archaeology programme at Aarhus University has an international profile and strong research networks. A dynamic research environment provides the framework for large research projects, international conferences and a variety of visiting researchers. The environment is versatile and cross-disciplinary, and the academic staff’s research competences span topics ranging from war and power, mobility and globalisation, family and individual, religion and rituals, landscape and settlement, paleo-demography and evolution, trade and networks, technology and knowledge exchange to (in particular) quantitative analysis methods, field methodology and digital representation.

Affiliated degree programmes
The archaeology programme at Aarhus University offers Bachelor’s and Master’s degree programmes in prehistoric archaeology and medieval and Renaissance archaeology. In addition, a variety of elective subjects and events are offered, including Viking age Scandinavia at the Aarhus University Summer University.

Academic staff

Name Job title Email Phone Building
Andresen, Jens-Bjørn Riis Associate professor jens.andresen@cas.au.dk +4587162076 4215, 122
Atzbach, Rainer Associate professor, head of department afdelingsleder.arkaeologi@cas.au.dk +4587162052 4215, 131
Cohen, Joshua Benjamin Postdoc jbcohen@cas.au.dk
Daroczi, Tibor Tamas Postdoc ttd@cas.au.dk
Dobat, Andres Associate professor farkado@cas.au.dk +4587162094 4215, 124
Fuller, Benjamin Thomas Postdoc fuller@cas.au.dk
Giles, Kate Honorary associate professor
Harvey, David Charles Associate professor david.harvey@cas.au.dk +447949212177
Hoggard, Christian Steven Postdoc c.hoggard@cas.au.dk +4587162196 4215, 118
Holst, Mads Kähler !!Adjungeret professor mads.holst@cas.au.dk +4522994915
Jensen, Helle Juel Associate professor farkhjj@cas.au.dk +4587162081 4215, 222
Jensen, Lars Meldgaard Sass Research Assistant marklmsj@cas.au.dk +4524269113
Johannsen, Niels Nørkjær Associate professor nnj@cas.au.dk +4587162078 4215, 218
Kock, Jan !!Lektor emeritus jan.kock@cas.au.dk +4587162072 4209, 11
Kristensen, Hans Krongaard markhkk@cas.au.dk
Kristiansen, Mette Svart Associate professor markmsk@cas.au.dk +4587162084 4215, 133
Krogh, Uffe Research Assistant ukrogh@cas.au.dk
Løvschal, Mette Associate professor lovschal@cas.au.dk +4522889205 1483, 330
Mannino, Marcello Associate professor marcello.mannino@cas.au.dk +4587162956 4215, 228
McAtackney, Laura Associate professor laura.mcatackney@cas.au.dk +4587163331 4215, 121
Naum, Magdalena Ewa Associate professor magdalena.naum@cas.au.dk 4215, 129
Nørgaard, Heide Wrobel Postdoc farkhw@cas.au.dk
Riede, Felix Professor with special responsibilities, research programme dire f.riede@cas.au.dk +4560187382
Roesdahl, Else else.roesdahl@cas.au.dk +4586152953 4209, 12
Shepherd, Nick Associate professor ns@cas.au.dk 4215, 121
Sindbæk, Søren Michael Professor with Special Responsibilities farksms@cas.au.dk +4540878334 4230, 228
Tolsgaard, Ditte Marie Research Assistant dittetolsgaard@cas.au.dk
Vandkilde, Helle Professor farkhv@cas.au.dk +4587162096 4215, 132
Vellev, Jens jens.vellev@cas.au.dk +4587162068 4209, 6
Zernack, Anke Verena a.v.zernack@cas.au.dk

Phd students

Name Job title Email Phone Building
Ahlqvist, Laura Elisabeth Svop PhD Student laura.ahlqvist@cas.au.dk
Bauzyté, Ema PhD Student ema.bauzyte@cas.au.dk
Beck, Anna Severine PhD Fellow asb@cas.au.dk +4587162434 4210, 26
Bloch, Rie PhD Student rbh@cas.au.dk
Borake, Trine Louise PhD Student tlb@cas.au.dk
Brozou, Anastasia PhD Student ana.brozou@cas.au.dk
Copplestone, Tara PhD Fellow tara.copplestone@cas.au.dk
Dahlström, Hanna Sofia Strandmark PhD Student hanna.dahlstrom@cas.au.dk +4523242520
Dodd, James Andrew PhD Student james.dodd@cas.au.dk
Felding, Louise PhD Student lofel@cas.au.dk
Hammers, Neeke Mineke PhD Student neeke.hammers@cas.au.dk
Heijnis, Arjen PhD Student arjenh@cas.au.dk Hovedbygningen, Moesgård, 28
Hoffmann, Sanne PhD Student shoffmann@cas.au.dk
Hrnjic, Mahir PhD Student mahir.hrnjic@cas.au.dk
Høybye, Martin PhD Student mh@cas.au.dk
Jackson, Rowan PhD Student rowan.jackson@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Mathias Paul Bjørnevad PhD Student mathias.jensen@cas.au.dk
Juul, Katrine Balsgaard PhD Student katrine.balsgaard.juul@cas.au.dk +4587162178 4210, 28
Larsen, Johan Sandvang PhD Student jslarsen@cas.au.dk
Maring, Rikke PhD Student rikke.maring@cas.au.dk
Matta, Valentina PhD Student valentina.matta@cas.au.dk
Mohamed, Wesam PhD Student wesam.mo@cas.au.dk
Nielsen, Simon Kjær PhD Student skn@cas.au.dk
Pedersen, Jesper Borre PhD Student jesper.borre@cas.au.dk
Radohs, Luisa PhD Student luisa.radohs@cas.au.dk
Sauer, Nikoline PhD Student nsp@cas.au.dk
Vos, Julie de PhD Student julie.de.vos@cas.au.dk

Publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title

News

Assistant Professor Thomas Birch (Photo: Michael Johansen, Foto & Medielab, Moesgård Museum).

2019.03.07 | Arkæologi

Exploring Sardinia's unique development

Assistant Professor Thomas Birch is part of an international project that has received funding from The Arts and Humanities Research Council to study medieval Sardinia.

2019.03.01 | Arkæologi

Prehistoric Society Research Grant

Christian Steven Hoggard (Assistant Professor) and Felix Riede (Professor MSO) have been awarded a Prehistoric Society Research Grant

Photo: Colourbox.com

2019.02.19 | Research, Arkæologi

Archaeology at Aarhus University and Moesgaard Museum part of major HORIZON 2020 digital cultural heritage initiative

On 11-14 February, the ARIADNEplus project was launched, which is the world’s largest digital network and research infrastructure in the fields of archaeology and cultural heritage, officially based in Florence. Aarhus University and Moesgaard Museum have been invited to join the ARIADNE collaboration owing to the strong research environment in…

Events

Tue 26 Mar
16:00-17:00 | Centre for Urban Network Evolutions (UrbNet), Aarhus University, Moesgård Allé 20, 8270 Højbjerg, Denmark (Building 4230-232).
Water in Byzantine Constantinople from Constantine V to Mehmet II Fatih
Lecture by Professor Jim Crow (University of Edinburgh).
Thu 28 Mar
13:00-17:00 | Merete Barker Auditorium (1253, 211), Lakeside Auditorium
3D recording and iconographic analyses in comparative perspective
with Serge Cassen, Nantes University & Johan Ling, Gothenburg University.