Department of

Archaeology and Heritage Studies

  • #25 on QS World University Rankings

About

At the department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies we are concerned with people and the environment and culture and society from the earliest to modern times, with a focus on studies of material culture. On the basis of fieldwork and library and laboratory studies, including anthropology, history and a variety of scientific approaches, the programme investigates and challenges our understanding of past societies seen in a long time perspective.

Research environment
The archaeology programme at Aarhus University has an international profile and strong research networks. A dynamic research environment provides the framework for large research projects, international conferences and a variety of visiting researchers. The environment is versatile and cross-disciplinary, and the academic staff’s research competences span topics ranging from war and power, mobility and globalisation, family and individual, religion and rituals, landscape and settlement, paleo-demography and evolution, trade and networks, technology and knowledge exchange to (in particular) quantitative analysis methods, field methodology and digital representation.

Affiliated degree programmes
The archaeology programme at Aarhus University offers Bachelor’s and Master’s degree programmes in prehistoric archaeology and medieval and Renaissance archaeology. In addition, a variety of elective subjects and events are offered, including the Viking Age Summer University.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Andresen, Jens-Bjørn RiisAssociate professorjens.andresen@cas.au.dk+45871620764215, 122
Atzbach, RainerAssociate professorrainer.atzbach@cas.au.dk+45871620524215, 131
Croix, SarahAssistant Professormarksc@cas.au.dk+45871620584215, 119
Deckers, Pieterjan SylvinPostdocpdeckers@cas.au.dk4230
Dobat, AndresAssociate professorfarkado@cas.au.dk+45871620944215, 124
Hansen, Philip Højen Wørss Brønnumphilip.hansen@cas.au.dk
Harvey, David CharlesAssociate professordavid.harvey@cas.au.dk4215, 220
Hoggard, Christian StevenPostdocc.hoggard@cas.au.dk4215, 137
Jensen, Helle JuelAssociate professorfarkhjj@cas.au.dk+45871620814215, 222
Jensen, Lars Meldgaard SassResearch Assistantmarklmsj@cas.au.dk+45871620534215, 230
Johannsen, Niels NørkjærAssociate professornnj@cas.au.dk+45871620784215, 218
Kristiansen, Mette SvartAssociate professormarkmsk@cas.au.dk+45871620844215, 130
Krogh, UffeResearch Assistantukrogh@cas.au.dk
Kveiborg, Jacob
Løvschal, MetteAssistant Professorlovschal@cas.au.dk+45871621744209
Mannino, MarcelloAssociate professormarcello.mannino@cas.au.dk+45871629564215, 228
Matta, ValentinaResearch Assistant
McAtackney, LauraAssociate professorlaura.mcatackney@cas.au.dk+45871633314215, 121
Naum, Magdalena EwaAssociate professormagdalena.naum@cas.au.dk4215, 129
Nielsen, Trine Kellbergtrinekellberg@cas.au.dk
Nørgaard, Heide WrobelPostdocfarkhw@cas.au.dk
Riede, FelixAssociate professorf.riede@cas.au.dk+45871620834215, 129
Sauer, Florian RudolfPostdocflorian.sauer@cas.au.dk4215, 118
Shepherd, NickAssociate professorns@cas.au.dk4215, 121
Sindbæk, Søren MichaelProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesfarksms@cas.au.dk4230, 228
Vandkilde, HelleProfessorfarkhv@cas.au.dk+45871620964215, 132
Wouters, BarboraPostdocbwouters@cas.au.dk

Phd students

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Ahlqvist, Laura Elisabeth Svop
Andresen, Jens-Bjørn RiisAssociate professorjens.andresen@cas.au.dk+45871620764215, 122
Atzbach, RainerAssociate professorrainer.atzbach@cas.au.dk+45871620524215, 131
Bauzyté, EmaPhD Studentema.bauzyte@cas.au.dk+45871625424230, 220
Beck, Anna SeverinePhD Fellowasb@cas.au.dk+45871624344210, 26
Blumenau, Annette+4587162129
Borake, Trine LouisePhD Studenttlb@cas.au.dk4210
Brozou, AnastasiaPhD Studentana.brozou@cas.au.dk
Christensen, Ida MariaStudent
Christensen, Stephanie
Copplestone, TaraPhD Fellowtara.copplestone@cas.au.dk
Croix, SarahAssistant Professormarksc@cas.au.dk+45871620584215, 119
Dahlström, Hanna Sofia StrandmarkPhD Studenthanna.dahlstrom@cas.au.dk+45871625424230, 220
Deckers, Pieterjan SylvinPostdocpdeckers@cas.au.dk4230
Dobat, AndresAssociate professorfarkado@cas.au.dk+45871620944215, 124
Dodd, James Andrewjames.dodd@cas.au.dk+4587162884
Eggers-Kaas, Thomasthomaskaas@live.dk
Felding, LouisePhD Fellowlofel@cas.au.dk4215
Hammers, Neeke MinekePhD Studentneeke.hammers@cas.au.dk+45871625424230, 220
Hannah, Dehlia
Hansen, Philip Højen Wørss Brønnumphilip.hansen@cas.au.dk
Harvey, David CharlesAssociate professordavid.harvey@cas.au.dk4215, 220
Hauge, Marc KaspersenStudentKaspersen1980@hotmail.com
Heijnis, ArjenPhD Studentarjenh@cas.au.dkHovedbygningen, Moesgård, 28
Hoffmann, SannePhD Studentshoffmann@cas.au.dk1461, 315
Hoggard, Christian StevenPostdocc.hoggard@cas.au.dk4215, 137
Holm, Rie Bloch
Holst, Mads Kähler!!Ekstern vipmads.holst@cas.au.dk
Hrnjic, MahirPhD Studentmahir.hrnjic@cas.au.dk4230, 223
Iversen, Rasmus Birch
Jackson, Rowanrowan.jackson@cas.au.dk4215, 127
Jensen, Agnete Høj
Jensen, Astrid
Jensen, Helle JuelAssociate professorfarkhjj@cas.au.dk+45871620814215, 222
Jensen, Lars Meldgaard SassResearch Assistantmarklmsj@cas.au.dk+45871620534215, 230
Jensen, Mathias Paul BjørnevadPhD Studentmathias.jensen@cas.au.dk+45871628564215, 226
Jensen, PeterPhD Studentpeter.jensen@cas.au.dk+45871621764215, 137
Johannsen, Niels NørkjærAssociate professornnj@cas.au.dk+45871620784215, 218
Juul, Katrine BalsgaardPhD Studentkatrine.balsgaard.juul@cas.au.dk+45871621784210, 28
Kock, Jan!!Lektor emeritusjan.kock@cas.au.dk+45871620724209, 11
Kristensen, Hans Krongaard!!Lektor emeritusmarkhkk@cas.au.dk+45871620684209, 6
Kristiansen, Mette SvartAssociate professormarkmsk@cas.au.dk+45871620844215, 130
Krogh, UffeResearch Assistantukrogh@cas.au.dk
Kronvang, Sara Lea DøhrTraineeslk@cas.au.dk4215, 127
Larsen, Johan SandvangPhD Studentjslarsen@cas.au.dk
Lund, Niels
Løvschal, MetteAssistant Professorlovschal@cas.au.dk+45871621744209
Mannino, MarcelloAssociate professormarcello.mannino@cas.au.dk+45871629564215, 228
Maring, Rikkerikke.maring@cas.au.dk4215
Matta, ValentinaResearch Assistant
McAtackney, LauraAssociate professorlaura.mcatackney@cas.au.dk+45871633314215, 121
Munch, Rasmus Kudahl Kaaerasmus.munch@cas.au.dk
Naum, Magdalena EwaAssociate professormagdalena.naum@cas.au.dk4215, 129
Nielsen, Esben Kannegaard
Nielsen, Karen Høilund
Nielsen, Kristoffer Hangstrup FStudent Workerkhfnielsen@au.dk
Nielsen, Trine Kellbergtrinekellberg@cas.au.dk
Nørgaard, Heide WrobelPostdocfarkhw@cas.au.dk
Pedersen, Anne
Pedersen, Kristoffer Buck
Philippsen, BentePostdocbphilipp@phys.au.dk+45871552611522, 330
Pilati, Matteompilati@cas.au.dk
Prøsch-Danielsen, Lisbethlisbeth.prosch-danielsen@cas.au.dk4215, 127
Radohs, LuisaPhD Studentluisa.radohs@cas.au.dk
Rasmussen, Birgitfarkbr@cas.au.dk
Raun, Karl Hjalte MaackStudent Teacherkarlhjalte@cas.au.dk
Reher-Langberg, Liv StidsingStudent
Riede, FelixAssociate professorf.riede@cas.au.dk+45871620834215, 129
Ringsborg, SaraPhD Fellowringsborg@cas.au.dk1461, 315
Risvig, MartinStudent Teachermartin.risvig@post.au.dk
Roesdahl, Elseelse.roesdahl@cas.au.dk+45861529534209, 12
Sauer, Florian RudolfPostdocflorian.sauer@cas.au.dk4215, 118
Shepherd, NickAssociate professorns@cas.au.dk4215, 121
Sindbæk, Søren MichaelProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesfarksms@cas.au.dk4230, 228
Steding, JuliaPhD Fellowj.steding@cas.au.dk1461, 315
Stridsland, Jakob Daajds@cas.au.dk
Theibel, Sara Sofiesara.sofie.theibel@post.au.dk
Thomsen, Kristine DamgaardPhD Studentkthomsen@cas.au.dk+45871625424230, 220
Trans, Amanda Ellermannamanda-et@live.dk
Udengaard, Kristina Lund
Vandkilde, HelleProfessorfarkhv@cas.au.dk+45871620964215, 132
Vellev, Jensjens.vellev@cas.au.dk+45871620684209, 6
Vos, Julie dePhD Studentjulie.de.vos@cas.au.dk4215, 226
Wouters, BarboraPostdocbwouters@cas.au.dk

Publications

PURE error
The PURE server is currently down.

News

2017.08.30 | Arkæologi

David Harvey - New Associate Professor at the Department of Archeaology and Heritage Studies

As of July 1st, we are happy to welcome David Harvey as a member of staff at CAS, Department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies.

2017.08.22 | Arkæologi

Luisa Radohs - New PhD at the department for Archeaology and Heritage Studies

As of 1 September Luisa is enrolled at CAS as PhD with the project: "The formation of power structures in medieval towns – an investigation of urban nobility and the rise of civic elites in the southern Baltic Sea area (12th-14th centuries)”

The Borgring fortress had four gateways, oriented towards the principal points of the compass. The North Gateway, which was destroyed in a violent conflagration, is currently being excavated (Photo: The Museum of South East Denmark / bo47nielsen).
The carved oak timber object recently found in peat layers just outside the south gateway of the fortress. The piece has been cut and sampled for dendrochronological sampling (left). The function of the piece is unknown, but it may be a part of a door or building (Photo: The Museum of South East Denmark / Nanna Holm).

2017.07.04 | Arkæologi

Breakthrough in Dating Viking Fortress

In 2014, archaeologists from the Museum of South East Denmark and Aarhus University discovered the previously unknown Viking fortess at Borgring south of Copenhagen. Since then, a search has been taking place to uncover the life, function, destruction and, not least, the precise dating of the Viking fortress. Now, a new find has resulted in a…