History and Classical Studies

Classical Studies

Classical Studies deals with all aspects of Graeco-Roman Antiquity: material and visual culture, literature and language, ideas and ideals. We also study how Graeco-Roman culture interacts with other Mediterranean cultures and how it was received and re-interpreted in later periods. Classical Studies combines two scholarly traditions: Classical Archaeology (the study of the material culture of Antiquity) and Classical Philology (the study of Greek and Latin language and literature.

History

In the history programme at Aarhus University we study the past to understand the present. A thorough knowledge of the past is an important tool for understanding ourselves and the world that we live in. Knowledge of the past provides depth and breadth; it allows us to look beyond the current agenda and put the world in perspective. Studying history does not provide definitive answers to contemporary dilemmas, but it does offer us the opportunity to engage in a continuous dialogue about how the world obtained its present shape, and how we have become who we are.

Academic staff

At History

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Abildtrup, Sara HaiStudent Teachersarahai@sm.au.dk1100
Andersen, Kasper H.Postdocihokha@cas.au.dk
Appel, CharlotteAssociate professorchap@cas.au.dk+45871628081461, 418
Arnorsdottir, AgnesAssociate professorhisaa@cas.au.dk+45871621831461, 425
Brimnes, NielsAssociate professorhisnb@cas.au.dk+45871622151461, 526
Brædder, AnneResearch Assistantanne.braedder@cas.au.dk1463, 617
Bysted, AneResearch Assistanthisanb@cas.au.dk1463, 424
Farbøl, RosannaResearch Assistanthisrf@cas.au.dk
Fink, Jørgen!!Lektor emeritushisjf@cas.au.dk+45871611231463, 421
Gram-Skjoldager, KarenAssociate professorhiskgs@cas.au.dk+45871623061461, 528
Gundelach, Peter
Hansen, Peter Wessel
Hilson, MaryProfessormary.hilson@cas.au.dk+45871622371461, 430
Ikonomou, HaakonPostdochaakon.ikonomou@cas.au.dk+45871625611461, 415
Jensen, Helle StrandgaardAssociate professorhs.jensen@cas.au.dk+45871622031461, 523
Jensen, Mette FriskDirector of danmarkshistorien.dkhismfj@cas.au.dk+45871623271461, 420
Jensen, NicolaiResearch Assistant
Jørgensen, Claus MøllerAssociate professorhiscj@cas.au.dk+45871622181461, 522
Kahlert, TorstenPostdoctorsten.kahlert@cas.au.dk+45871625611461, 415
Kansteiner, WulfProfessor with Special Responsibilitieswk@cas.au.dk+45871621951461, 521
Koefoed, Nina JavetteAssociate professorhisnk@cas.au.dk+45871621981461, 520
Krasilnikoff, JensAssociate professorhisjk@cas.au.dk+45871621891461, 423
Krüger, Anne
Larsen, Christian Albrekt
Magnusdottir, RosaAssociate professorslarm@cas.au.dk+45871623191461, 426
Netterstrøm, Jeppe BüchertAssociate professorhisjbn@cas.au.dk+45871622041461, 422
Nygaard, BertelAssociate professor, research programme directorbertel.nygaard@cas.au.dk+45871622251461, 524
Olesen, Niels WiumAssociate professorhisnwo@cas.au.dk+45871621921461, 518
Olesen, Thorsten BorringProfessorhistbo@cas.au.dk+45871622081461, 530
Poulsen, BjørnProfessorhisbp@cas.au.dk+45871621841461, 4. sal, 424
Rasmussen, Carsten PorskrogHonorary professorcpr@museum-sonderjylland.dk+4573121400
Rom-Jensen, Byron ZacharyPart-time Lecturerbzrj@cas.au.dk
Schjerning, Camilla
Schmidt, Garbi
Sørensen, AnneResearcherhisais@cas.au.dk+45871622121461, 525
Thelle, MikkelAssociate professoriksmikkel@cas.au.dk+45871622061461, 428
True, Simon Ryvang
Vallgårda, Karen Asta Arnfred
Vestergaard, Anneave@cas.au.dk
Østergaard, UffeHonorary professoruffe@cas.au.dk

At Classical Studies

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Barfod, GryAssistant Professorgrybarfod@geo.au.dk+45871562761672
Bargfeldt, NielsResearch Assistantklanb@cas.au.dk+45871622211463, 426
Berg, Elisabeth JohanneStudent Teacher
Birch, ThomasAssistant Professort.birch@cas.au.dk+45871625464230, 226
Blömer, MichaelAssistant Professormichael.bloemer@cas.au.dk1461, 330
Bobou, OlympiaResearch Assistantolympia.bobou@cas.au.dk+45871634241463, 425
Brandt, Luise ØrstedAssistant Professorluise.brandt@cas.au.dk4230
Christensen, Charlotte HeleneResearch Assistant
Collar, AnnaAssistant Professorklaacollar@cas.au.dk+45871623461461, 318
Croix, SarahAssistant Professormarksc@cas.au.dk+45871620584215, 119
Deckers, Pieterjan SylvinPostdocpdeckers@cas.au.dk4230
Dickenson, Christopher PaulAssistant Professorchristopher.dickenson@cas.au.dk+45871625434230, 224
Eve, Stuart James
Funder, Lærke Maria AndersenPostdocklalmf@cas.au.dk1461, 315
Haan, Annet denPostdoca.den.haan@cas.au.dk+45871629391461, 330
Harring, Emma ThillemannStudent Teacher
Hass, Trine ArlundPostdocklftjah@cas.au.dk
Hastrup, Helene BlinkenbergPart-time Lecturerklahbh@cas.au.dk+45871620471461, 330
Hinge, GeorgeAssociate professorgeorge.hinge@cas.au.dk+45871623371461, 322
Holdridge, GenevievePostdocg.holdridge@geo.au.dk
Horster, CamillaAssistant Professorhorster@cas.au.dk+45871622241461, 325
Højte, Jakob MunkAssociate professorklajh@cas.au.dk+45871628011414, 115
Intagliata, EmanueleAssistant Professore.e.intagliata@cas.au.dk
Keibel, Sofie Amalie Skov
Krag, SigneAssistant Professorskrag@cas.au.dk+45871623461461, 318
Kristensen, Troels MyrupAssociate professor, research programme directortmk@cas.au.dk+45871620431461, 320
Kristiansen, Søren MunchAssociate professorsmk@geo.au.dk+45871564361671, 213
Lesher, CharlesProfessorlesher@geo.au.dk+45871563691672
Madsen, Maria ThielStudent Workermtm@cas.au.dk1414
Mortensen, EvaResearch Assistantklaem@cas.au.dk+45871622211461, 318
Møller Christensen, DortheTeaching Assistant Professordorthemchristensen@cas.au.dk+45871623941461, 328
Nørskov, VinnieAssociate professorklavn@cas.au.dk+45871628011414, 115
Olsen, JesperAssociate professorjesper.olsen@phys.au.dk+45233821361522, 328
Orfanou, VanaPostdocv.orfanou@geo.au.dk
Pade, Marianneoldmp@cas.au.dk
Poulsen, BirteAssociate professorklabp@cas.au.dk+45871621391461, 324
Poulsen, BjørnProfessorhisbp@cas.au.dk+45871621841461, 4. sal, 424
Raja, RubinaProfessorrubina.raja@cas.au.dk+45871620461461, 326
Rose, Peter
Rosenberg, Erin JoyceResearch Assistanterin.j.rosenberg@cas.au.dk+45871564281672
Rüpke, JörgAdjunct Professorjoerg.ruepke@uni-erfurt.de
Schou, Mikkel FristrupResearch Assistantmikkel.fristrup.schou@phys.au.dk+45871556861522, 320
Sindbæk, Søren MichaelProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesfarksms@cas.au.dk+45408783344230, 228
Sulas, FedericaAssistant Professorsulas@cas.au.dk+45871625464230, 226
Thomsen, Rikke RanderisResearch Assistantrikke.thomsen@cas.au.dk1463, 426
Thorstensen, Jens Christian H.Part-time Lecturerjct@cas.au.dk
Wissing, Pernille
Wouters, BarboraPostdocbwouters@cas.au.dk

At danmarkshistorien.dk (in Danish)

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Andersen, Kasper H.Postdocihokha@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Mette FriskDirector of danmarkshistorien.dkhismfj@cas.au.dk+45871623271461, 420
Sørensen, AnneResearcherhisais@cas.au.dk+45871622121461, 525

News

Foto: Colourbox.com

2018.01.19 | Grant, Arts, Historie og Klassiske Studier

Aarhus University part of new research hub on the Nordic region

Six universities from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden are participating in a new research hub that will examine Nordic responses to global challenges. The hub has been granted EUR 4.3 million.

2018.01.08 | Historie og Klassiske Studier

Ny fagpris: Årets historiske forskningsresultat

Events

Fri 23 Feb
13:00-18:00 | Aarhus Universitet, Antikmuseet
Faglig dag - Klassiske studier
Wed 28 Feb
14:00-16:00 | Aarhus University, Nobelparken, Building 1461, room 516
Roman tombs and the cemetery on the Via Ostiense - From past agendas to digital humanities
Speaker: Dorian Borbonus (University of Dayton) and Niels Bargfeldt (Aarhus University)
Wed 28 Feb
14:00-16:00 | Nobelparken 1461-516
Classical Antiquity and its Heritage
Research Seminars - Spring 2018