Department of

History and Classical Studies 

Profile

The academic study of history is concerned with the development of humankind and society over time. Special emphasis is placed on social, economic, ideological, political and cultural conditions in the past, the relations between these factors and the changes they have undergone. The approach is interdisciplinary, drawing on theories and methodologies from the social sciences, the sciences of culture, and from the discipline itself.

Research environment

The researchers and PhD students in History at Aarhus University concern themselves with history in many forms, primarily political history, cultural history and social history. Research especially comprises the history of Denmark and Europe, from antiquity to the present day. Research projects are usually limited to specific historical periods and geographical regions, but characteristically the work traverses conventional chronological and geographical boundaries. Researchers participate in a variety of national and international research environments.

Degree programmes

Both Bachelor's and Master's degree programmes in History are offered. The Bachelor’s degree programme includes survey courses in Danish and World History, historical methodology, the uses of history, and courses in various historical topics. The Master's degree programme is offered as three different tracks: a track for those aiming at upper-secondary school teaching, a cultural history track, and a track comprising global and international history. In addition, a number of elective subjects are offered at both Bachelor’s and Master's degree levels.

Academic staff

At History

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Andersen, Kasper H.Research Assistantihokha@cas.au.dk+45871621941461, 421
Appel, CharlotteAssociate professorchap@cas.au.dk+45871628081461, 418
Arnorsdottir, AgnesAssociate professorhisaa@cas.au.dk+45871621831461, 425
Brimnes, NielsAssociate professorhisnb@cas.au.dk+45871622151461, 526
Bysted, AnePart-time Lecturerhisanb@cas.au.dk1463, 424
Farbøl, RosannaResearch Assistanthisrf@cas.au.dk+45871629161463, 615
Gram-Skjoldager, KarenAssociate professorhiskgs@cas.au.dk+45871623061461, 528
Hilson, MaryProfessormary.hilson@cas.au.dk+45871622371461, 430
Ikonomou, HaakonPostdochaakon.ikonomou@cas.au.dk+45871625611461, 415
Jakobsen, Michael NobelResearch Assistantihomnj@cas.au.dk1461, 416
Jensen, Helle StrandgaardAssistant Professorhs.jensen@cas.au.dk+45871622031461, 523
Jensen, Mette FriskDirector of danmarkshistorien.dkhismfj@cas.au.dk+45871623271461, 420
Jørgensen, Claus MøllerAssociate professorhiscj@cas.au.dk+45871622181461, 522
Kahlert, TorstenPostdoctorsten.kahlert@cas.au.dk+45871625611461, 415
Kansteiner, WulfProfessor with Special Responsibilitieswk@cas.au.dk+45871621951461, 521
Koefoed, Nina JavetteAssociate professorhisnk@cas.au.dk+45871621981461, 520
Krasilnikoff, JensAssociate professorhisjk@cas.au.dk+45871621891461, 423
Larsen, Pelle OliverResearch Assistanthispol@cas.au.dk+45871621861463, 426
Magnusdottir, RosaAssociate professorslarm@cas.au.dk+45871623191461, 426
Netterstrøm, Jeppe BüchertAssociate professorhisjbn@cas.au.dk+45871622041461, 422
Nygaard, BertelAssociate professorbertel.nygaard@cas.au.dk+45871622251461, 524
Olesen, Niels WiumAssociate professorhisnwo@cas.au.dk+45871621921461, 518
Olesen, Thorsten BorringProfessorhistbo@cas.au.dk+45871622081461, 530
Poulsen, BjørnProfessorhisbp@cas.au.dk+45871621841461, 4. sal, 424
Rasmussen, Carsten PorskrogHonorary professorcpr@museum-sonderjylland.dk+4573121400
Sørensen, AnneProject Coordinatorhisais@cas.au.dk+45871622121461, 525
Thelle, MikkelAssociate professoriksmikkel@cas.au.dk+45871622061461, 428
Østergaard, UffeHonorary professoruffe@cas.au.dk

At Classical Studies

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Barfod, GryAssistant Professorgrybarfod@geo.au.dk+45871562761672
Bargfeldt, NielsPostdocklanb@cas.au.dk+45871622211461, 325
Birch, ThomasAssistant Professort.birch@cas.au.dk+45871625464230, 226
Blömer, MichaelAssistant Professormichael.bloemer@cas.au.dk1461, 330
Brandt, Luise ØrstedAssistant Professorluise.brandt@cas.au.dk4230
Christensen, MaltePart-time Lecturermrc@cas.au.dk+45871623361461, 321
Collar, AnnaAssistant Professorklaacollar@cas.au.dk+45871623461461, 318
Funder, Lærke Maria AndersenPostdocklalmf@cas.au.dk1461, 315
Haan, Annet denPostdoca.den.haan@cas.au.dk+45871629391461, 330
Hass, Trine ArlundAssociate professorklftjah@cas.au.dk+45871623361461, 321
Hastrup, Helene BlinkenbergPart-time Lecturerklahbh@cas.au.dk+45871620471461, 330
Hinge, GeorgeAssociate professorgeorge.hinge@cas.au.dk+45871623371461, 322
Holdridge, GenevievePostdocg.holdridge@geo.au.dk
Horster, CamillaAssistant Professorhorster@cas.au.dk+45871622241461, 325
Højte, Jakob MunkAssociate professorklajh@cas.au.dk+45871628011414, 115
Krag, SigneAssistant Professorskrag@cas.au.dk+45871623461461, 318
Kristensen, Troels MyrupAssociate professortmk@cas.au.dk+45871620431461, 320
Kristiansen, Søren MunchAssociate professorsmk@geo.au.dk+45871564361671, 213
Lesher, CharlesProfessorlesher@geo.au.dk+45871563691672
Mortensen, EvaResearch Assistantklaem@cas.au.dk+45871620411461, 318
Möller, HeikeAssistant Professorheike.moeller@cas.au.dk+45871620421461, 323
Møller Christensen, DortheTeaching Assistant Professordorthemchristensen@cas.au.dk+45871623941461, 328
Nørskov, VinnieAssociate professorklavn@cas.au.dk+45871628011414, 115
Olsen, JesperAssociate professorjesper.olsen@phys.au.dk+45233821361522, 328
Orfanou, VanaPostdocv.orfanou@geo.au.dk
Pade, Marianneoldmp@cas.au.dk
Poulsen, BirteAssociate professorklabp@cas.au.dk+45871621391461, 324
Poulsen, BjørnProfessorhisbp@cas.au.dk+45871621841461, 4. sal, 424
Raja, RubinaProfessorrubina.raja@cas.au.dk+45871620461461, 326
Rosenberg, Erin JoyceMember of Academic Stafferin.j.rosenberg@geo.au.dk1672
Sindbæk, Søren MichaelProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesfarksms@cas.au.dk4230, 228
Sulas, FedericaAssistant Professorsulas@cas.au.dk+45871625464230, 226
Terkelsen, PeterPart-time Lectureroldpt@cas.au.dk
Thorstensen, Jens Christian H.Assistant Lecturerjct@cas.au.dk

At danmarkshistorien.dk (in Danish)

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Andersen, Kasper H.Research Assistantihokha@cas.au.dk+45871621941461, 421
Jakobsen, Michael NobelResearch Assistantihomnj@cas.au.dk1461, 416
Jensen, Mette FriskDirector of danmarkshistorien.dkhismfj@cas.au.dk+45871623271461, 420
Sørensen, AnneProject Coordinatorhisais@cas.au.dk+45871622121461, 525

News

2016.11.02 | Historie og Klassiske Studier

Julia Steding - New PhD at the Department of History and Classical Studies

Julia Steding will start as a PhD-student on the Palmyra Portrait Project in November 2016.

Associate professor Nina Javette Koefoed

2016.10.06 | Grant, Historie og Klassiske Studier, Teologi

How has the Reformation influenced Danish society?

Under the leadership of associate professor Nina Koefoed, a three-year project at Aarhus University aims to find out how the Reformation has influenced Danish society. The project has received a grant of DKK 5 million from the Danish Council for Independent Research.

Events

Wed 05 Apr
13:00-16:00 | Aarhus University, Nobelparken, Building 1325, room 242
What is not "digital history"?
Speakers: Professor Jane Winters, University of London, Lara Putnam, University of Pittsburgh and Torsten Kahlert, Aarhus University
Wed 05 Apr
14:15-16:00 | Aarhus University, Nobelparken, Building 1461, meetingroom 516
New Philology and the Classics: Accountng for variation in the textual translation of Greek lyric and elegiac poetry
Speaker; André Lardinois, Radbound Universiteit, Nijmegen
Mon 24 Apr
10:00-16:00 | Aarhus University, The Student House, Room 1, Bldg. 1421, Fredrik Nielsens Vej 4
Movements of People and Ideas in the First Millennium
Joint seminar for the three research programmes Classical Antiquity and its Heritage; History – Power, Representation and Political Culture and Theology – Formation, Reformation and Transformation