Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

History and Classical Studies

Classical Studies

Classical Studies deals with all aspects of Graeco-Roman Antiquity: material and visual culture, literature and language, ideas and ideals. We also study how Graeco-Roman culture interacts with other Mediterranean cultures and how it was received and re-interpreted in later periods. Classical Studies combines two scholarly traditions: Classical Archaeology (the study of the material culture of Antiquity) and Classical Philology (the study of Greek and Latin language and literature.

History

In the history programme at Aarhus University we study the past to understand the present. A thorough knowledge of the past is an important tool for understanding ourselves and the world that we live in. Knowledge of the past provides depth and breadth; it allows us to look beyond the current agenda and put the world in perspective. Studying history does not provide definitive answers to contemporary dilemmas, but it does offer us the opportunity to engage in a continuous dialogue about how the world obtained its present shape, and how we have become who we are.

Academic staff

At History

Name Job title Email Phone Building
Appel, Charlotte Associate professor chap@cas.au.dk +4587162808 1461, 418
Arnorsdottir, Agnes Associate professor hisaa@cas.au.dk +4587162183 1461, 425
Bicak, Ivana
Brimnes, Niels Associate professor hisnb@cas.au.dk +4587162215 1461, 526
Brædder, Anne Research Assistant anne.braedder@cas.au.dk +4521657555
Cole, Richard Assistant Professor richardcole@cas.au.dk +4587162228 1463, 524
Frausing, Mikael Web Editor hismf@cas.au.dk +4587162209 1463, 415
Gram-Skjoldager, Karen Associate professor hiskgs@cas.au.dk +4587162306 1461, 528
Hellenes, Andreas Mørkved Postdoc amh@cas.au.dk +4745225586
Hilson, Mary Professor mary.hilson@cas.au.dk +4587162237 1461, 430
Jakobsen, Rasmus Skovgaard Part-time Lecturer rasja@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Helle Strandgaard Associate professor hs.jensen@cas.au.dk +4587162203 1463, 526
Jensen, Mette Frisk Senior Advisor, PHD, Leader of danmarkshistorien.dk hismfj@cas.au.dk +4587162329 1461, 420
Jørgensen, Claus Møller Associate professor hiscj@cas.au.dk +4587162218 1461, 522
Kansteiner, Wulf Professor with Special Responsibilities wk@cas.au.dk +4587162195 1461, 521
Koefoed, Nina Javette Associate professor hisnk@cas.au.dk +4587162198 1461, 520
Krasilnikoff, Jens Associate professor hisjk@cas.au.dk +4587162189 1461, 423
Magnusdottir, Rosa Associate professor slarm@cas.au.dk +4587162319 1461, 426
Netterstrøm, Jeppe Büchert Associate professor hisjbn@cas.au.dk +4587162204 1461, 422
Nyegaard, Niels Part-time Lecturer niny@cas.au.dk
Nygaard, Bertel Associate professor, research programme director bertel.nygaard@cas.au.dk +4587162225 1461, 524
Olesen, Niels Wium Associate professor hisnwo@cas.au.dk +4587162192 1461, 518
Olesen, Thorsten Borring Professor histbo@cas.au.dk +4587162208 1461, 530
Poulsen, Bjørn Professor hisbp@cas.au.dk +4587162184 1461, 4. sal, 424
Rasmussen, Carsten Porskrog Honorary professor +4573121400
Rom-Jensen, Byron Zachary Postdoc bzrj@cas.au.dk 1461, 421
Sandberg, Pete Postdoc petesandberg@cas.au.dk
Seidenfaden, Emil Eiby PhD Student emilse@cas.au.dk
Sobotkova, Adéla Associate professor adela@cas.au.dk +4587162317 1463, 522
Sørensen, Anne Senior Advisor hisais@cas.au.dk +4550177474
Thelle, Mikkel Associate professor iksmikkel@cas.au.dk +4587162206 1461, 428
Witcombe, Nicola Anne Project Coordinator nwitcombe@cas.au.dk +4587161959 1461, 415
Østergaard, Uffe Honorary professor uffe@cas.au.dk +4529458584

At Classical Studies

Name Job title Email Phone Building
Barfod, Gry Assistant Professor grybarfod@geo.au.dk +4587156276 1672
Birch, Thomas Assistant Professor t.birch@cas.au.dk +4587162546 4230, 226
Blömer, Michael Assistant Professor michael.bloemer@cas.au.dk 1461, 330
Bobou, Olympia Research Assistant olympia.bobou@cas.au.dk +4587163424 1463, 425
Brinch, Karen Part-time Lecturer k.brinch@cas.au.dk 1463, 430
Croix, Sarah Assistant Professor marksc@cas.au.dk +4587162058 4215, 119
Deckers, Pieterjan Sylvin Postdoc pdeckers@cas.au.dk
Dickenson, Christopher Paul Assistant Professor christopher.dickenson@cas.au.dk +4587162543 4230, 224
Djurslev, Christian Thrue Postdoc ctd@cas.au.dk +4587162336 1461, 321
Donnellan, Lieve Assistant Professor l.donnellan@cas.au.dk +4587162346 1463, 318
Hass, Trine Arlund Postdoc klftjah@cas.au.dk
Hastrup, Helene Blinkenberg Part-time Lecturer klahbh@cas.au.dk +4525323959
Hinge, George Associate professor george.hinge@cas.au.dk +4587162337 1461, 322
Holdridge, Genevieve Safi Postdoc g.holdridge@geo.au.dk 1672, 121
Horster, Camilla Assistant Professor horster@cas.au.dk +4587162224 1461, 325
Intagliata, Emanuele Ettore Assistant Professor e.e.intagliata@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Jesper Vestergaard Research Assistant j.v.jensen@cas.au.dk
Kristensen, Nathalia Research Assistant nbkristensen@cas.au.dk 1463, 426
Kristensen, Troels Myrup Associate professor, research programme director tmk@cas.au.dk +4587162043 1461, 320
Kristiansen, Søren Munch Associate professor smk@geo.au.dk +4587156436 1672, 117
Lauridsen, Line Korsholm Research Assistant lkl@cas.au.dk
Lesher, Charles Professor lesher@geo.au.dk
Mortensen, Eva Research Assistant klaem@cas.au.dk +4587162221 4230
Møller Christensen, Dorthe Teaching Assistant Professor dorthemchristensen@cas.au.dk +4587162394 1461, 328
Nørskov, Vinnie Associate professor klavn@cas.au.dk +4587162801 1414, 115
Olesen, Lasse Rievers lro@cas.au.dk
Olsen, Jesper Associate professor jesper.olsen@phys.au.dk +4523382136 1522, 328
Pade, Marianne oldmp@cas.au.dk
Poulsen, Birte Associate professor klabp@cas.au.dk +4587162139 1461, 324
Poulsen, Bjørn Professor hisbp@cas.au.dk +4587162184 1461, 4. sal, 424
Raja, Rubina Professor rubina.raja@cas.au.dk +4587162046 1461, 326
Rüpke, Jörg Adjunct Professor joerg.ruepke@uni-erfurt.de
Saxkjær, Sine Grove Postdoc klasgs@cas.au.dk
Schou, Mikkel Fristrup Member of Administrative Staff mikkel.fristrup.schou@phys.au.dk
Sindbæk, Søren Michael Professor with Special Responsibilities farksms@cas.au.dk +4540878334 4230, 228
Smith, Michael Ernest Visiting Professor
Sulas, Federica Assistant Professor sulas@cas.au.dk +4587162546 4230, 226
Thomsen, Rikke Randeris Research Assistant rikke.thomsen@cas.au.dk 1463, 426
Thorstensen, Jens Christian H. Part-time Lecturer jct@cas.au.dk
Utvaag, Sara Cecilie Student Worker scu@cas.au.dk

At danmarkshistorien.dk (in Danish)

Name Job title Email Phone Building
Frausing, Mikael Web Editor hismf@cas.au.dk +4587162209 1463, 415
Jensen, Mette Frisk Senior Advisor, PHD, Leader of danmarkshistorien.dk hismfj@cas.au.dk +4587162329 1461, 420
Sørensen, Anne Senior Advisor hisais@cas.au.dk +4550177474

News

2019.03.15 | Historie og Klassiske Studier

Niels Wium Olesen indstillet til Læsernes bogpris 2019

2019.03.13 | Historie og Klassiske Studier

Byron Rom-Jensen modtager Re­NEW Early Ca­reer Pa­per-prisen

Byron Zachary Rom-Jensen, postdoc på projektet "The Nordic Model in the Global Circulation of Ideas, 1970-2020" her på stedet, har modtaget Re­NEW Early Ca­reer Pa­per-prisen for sit paper "Translating Nordic Equality - Swedish Gender Equality Policy in the President’s Commission on the Status of Women, 1961-1963". Mere…

Events

Wed 27 May
09:00-11:53 | Aarhus University
Conference: The Tenth Annual RefoRC Conference on Early Modern Christianity
Hosted by the Lumen center