Department of

History and Classical Studies 

Profile

The academic study of history is concerned with the development of humankind and society over time. Special emphasis is placed on social, economic, ideological, political and cultural conditions in the past, the relations between these factors and the changes they have undergone. The approach is interdisciplinary, drawing on theories and methodologies from the social sciences, the sciences of culture, and from the discipline itself.

Research environment

The researchers and PhD students in History at Aarhus University concern themselves with history in many forms, primarily political history, cultural history and social history. Research especially comprises the history of Denmark and Europe, from antiquity to the present day. Research projects are usually limited to specific historical periods and geographical regions, but characteristically the work traverses conventional chronological and geographical boundaries. Researchers participate in a variety of national and international research environments.

Degree programmes

Both Bachelor's and Master's degree programmes in History are offered. The Bachelor’s degree programme includes survey courses in Danish and World History, historical methodology, the uses of history, and courses in various historical topics. The Master's degree programme is offered as three different tracks: a track for those aiming at upper-secondary school teaching, a cultural history track, and a track comprising global and international history. In addition, a number of elective subjects are offered at both Bachelor’s and Master's degree levels.

Academic staff

At History

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Andersen, Kasper H.Research Assistantihokha@cas.au.dk+45871621941461, 421
Appel, CharlotteAssociate professorchap@cas.au.dk+45871628081461, 418
Arnorsdottir, AgnesAssociate professorhisaa@cas.au.dk+45871621831461, 425
Brimnes, NielsAssociate professorhisnb@cas.au.dk+45871622151461, 526
Bysted, AnePart-time Lecturerhisanb@cas.au.dk1463, 424
Farbøl, RosannaResearch Assistanthisrf@cas.au.dk+45871629161463, 615
Gram-Skjoldager, KarenAssociate professorhiskgs@cas.au.dk+45871623061461, 528
Hilson, MaryProfessormary.hilson@cas.au.dk+45871622371461, 430
Ikonomou, HaakonPostdochaakon.ikonomou@cas.au.dk+45871625611461, 415
Jakobsen, Michael NobelResearch Assistantihomnj@cas.au.dk1461, 416
Jensen, Helle StrandgaardAssistant Professorhs.jensen@cas.au.dk+45871622031461, 523
Jensen, Mette FriskDirector of danmarkshistorien.dkhismfj@cas.au.dk+45871623271461, 420
Jørgensen, Claus MøllerAssociate professorhiscj@cas.au.dk+45871622181461, 522
Kahlert, TorstenPostdoctorsten.kahlert@cas.au.dk+45871625611461, 415
Kansteiner, WulfProfessor with Special Responsibilitieswk@cas.au.dk+45871621951461, 521
Koefoed, Nina JavetteAssociate professorhisnk@cas.au.dk+45871621981461, 520
Krasilnikoff, JensAssociate professorhisjk@cas.au.dk+45871621891461, 423
Larsen, Pelle OliverResearch Assistanthispol@cas.au.dk+45871621861463, 426
Magnusdottir, RosaAssociate professorslarm@cas.au.dk+45871623191461, 426
Netterstrøm, Jeppe BüchertAssociate professorhisjbn@cas.au.dk+45871622041461, 422
Nygaard, BertelAssociate professorbertel.nygaard@cas.au.dk+45871622251461, 524
Olesen, Niels WiumAssociate professorhisnwo@cas.au.dk+45871621921461, 518
Olesen, Thorsten BorringProfessorhistbo@cas.au.dk+45871622081461, 530
Poulsen, BjørnProfessorhisbp@cas.au.dk+45871621841461, 4. sal, 424
Rasmussen, Carsten PorskrogHonorary professorcpr@museum-sonderjylland.dk+4573121400
Sørensen, AnneProject Coordinatorhisais@cas.au.dk+45871622121461, 525
Thelle, MikkelAssociate professoriksmikkel@cas.au.dk+45871622061461, 428
Østergaard, UffeHonorary professoruffe@cas.au.dk

At Classical Studies

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Barfod, GryAssistant Professorgrybarfod@geo.au.dk+45871562761672
Bargfeldt, NielsPostdocklanb@cas.au.dk+45871622211461, 325
Birch, ThomasAssistant Professort.birch@cas.au.dk+45871625464230, 226
Blömer, MichaelAssistant Professormichael.bloemer@cas.au.dk1461, 330
Brandt, Luise ØrstedAssistant Professorluise.brandt@cas.au.dk4230
Christensen, MaltePart-time Lecturermrc@cas.au.dk+45871623361461, 321
Collar, AnnaAssistant Professorklaacollar@cas.au.dk+45871623461461, 318
Funder, Lærke Maria AndersenPostdocklalmf@cas.au.dk1461, 315
Haan, Annet denPostdoca.den.haan@cas.au.dk+45871629391461, 330
Hass, Trine ArlundAssociate professorklftjah@cas.au.dk+45871623361461, 321
Hastrup, Helene BlinkenbergPart-time Lecturerklahbh@cas.au.dk+45871620471461, 330
Hinge, GeorgeAssociate professorgeorge.hinge@cas.au.dk+45871623371461, 322
Holdridge, GenevievePostdocg.holdridge@geo.au.dk
Horster, CamillaAssistant Professorhorster@cas.au.dk+45871622241461, 325
Højte, Jakob MunkAssociate professorklajh@cas.au.dk+45871628011414, 115
Krag, SigneAssistant Professorskrag@cas.au.dk+45871623461461, 318
Kristensen, Troels MyrupAssociate professortmk@cas.au.dk+45871620431461, 320
Kristiansen, Søren MunchAssociate professorsmk@geo.au.dk+45871564361671, 213
Lesher, CharlesProfessorlesher@geo.au.dk+45871563691672
Mortensen, EvaResearch Assistantklaem@cas.au.dk+45871620411461, 318
Möller, HeikeAssistant Professorheike.moeller@cas.au.dk+45871620421461, 323
Møller Christensen, DortheTeaching Assistant Professordorthemchristensen@cas.au.dk+45871623941461, 328
Nørskov, VinnieAssociate professorklavn@cas.au.dk+45871628011414, 115
Olsen, JesperAssociate professorjesper.olsen@phys.au.dk+45233821361522, 328
Orfanou, VanaPostdocv.orfanou@geo.au.dk
Pade, Marianneoldmp@cas.au.dk
Poulsen, BirteAssociate professorklabp@cas.au.dk+45871621391461, 324
Poulsen, BjørnProfessorhisbp@cas.au.dk+45871621841461, 4. sal, 424
Raja, RubinaProfessorrubina.raja@cas.au.dk+45871620461461, 326
Rosenberg, Erin JoyceMember of Academic Stafferin.j.rosenberg@geo.au.dk1672
Rüpke, JörgAdjunct Professorjoerg.ruepke@uni-erfurt.de
Sindbæk, Søren MichaelProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesfarksms@cas.au.dk4230, 228
Sulas, FedericaAssistant Professorsulas@cas.au.dk+45871625464230, 226
Terkelsen, PeterPart-time Lectureroldpt@cas.au.dk
Thorstensen, Jens Christian H.Assistant Lecturerjct@cas.au.dk

At danmarkshistorien.dk (in Danish)

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Andersen, Kasper H.Research Assistantihokha@cas.au.dk+45871621941461, 421
Jakobsen, Michael NobelResearch Assistantihomnj@cas.au.dk1461, 416
Jensen, Mette FriskDirector of danmarkshistorien.dkhismfj@cas.au.dk+45871623271461, 420
Sørensen, AnneProject Coordinatorhisais@cas.au.dk+45871622121461, 525

News

Troels Myrup Kristensen

2017.04.21 | People, Historie og Klassiske Studier

Classical archaeologist from Aarhus receives prestigious American lectureship

The Archaeological Institute of America has selected Troels Myrup Kristensen for a Samuel H. Kress Lectureship in Ancient Art.

2017.03.29 | Historie og Klassiske Studier

Postdoc Haakon A. Ikonomou recives a prize

Postdoc Haakon A. Ikonomou has received the prize for “Best thesis in EU integration 2015-2016 awarded on the occasion of the 60th Anniversary of the Treaties of Rome” for his PhD ‘Europeans: Norwegian diplomats and the enlargement of the European Community, 1960-1972​defended at the European University Institute…

Events

Mon 01 May
13:00-17:00 | Room 415, bldg. 1453
Grave Symbolism - an interdisciplinary seminar
Seminar hosted by the Research Program for the Study of Religion in cooperation with Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies, Aarhus University
Wed 03 May
12:15-15:00 | Aarhus University, Nobelparken, Building 1453, room 131
Norden and the legacies of colonialism
An open research seminar by the research programme in History
Wed 03 May
14:15-16:00 | Nobelparken, Jens Chr. Skous Vej, Building 1461, meetingroom 516
The Development of Research in illicit Antiquities: Past and Present
Speaker: Christos Tsirogiannis, Scottish Centre for Crime and Justice Research, University of Glasgow