Department of
Philosophy and History of Ideas

Profile

Both Philosophy and the History of Ideas are concerned with the thoughts and ideas that have marked the Western world from antiquity to the present day. The focus of Philosophy is primarily on a systematic perspective that seeks to identify the bases for our various practices and concepts. The focus of the History of Ideas is primarily on a historical perspective that aims at revealing our intellectual heritage. We can thus say that Philosophy is concerned with the validity of our various concepts whereas the History of Ideas is more concerned with which concepts have been – and in some cases still are – considered valid.

In this respect, both Philosophy and the History of Ideas are interdisciplinary in their focus, but while the History of Ideas explores the relations between many different fields and disciplines, it is characteristic of Philosophy that it addresses the fundamental questions that precede any division into fields and disciplines.

Research environment

The academic environment in Philosophy and the History of Ideas at Aarhus University is the largest of its type in Denmark and – especially because of the productive tension between the systematic and historical perspectives – the research conducted is characterised by an undogmatic and open-minded worldview. The researchers are thus involved in a variety of interdisciplinary projects both within and outside the Faculty of Arts.

Degree programmes

Bachelor's and Master's degree programmes as well as a number of electives are offered in both Philosophy and the History of Ideas.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Andersen, Camilla Julie
Andersen, CasperAssociate professorideca@cas.au.dk+45871628931465, 626
Andersen, Lise MarieAssistant Professorlmandersen@cas.au.dk+45871629041483, 321
Andersen, SandyPhD Fellowfilsa@cas.au.dk1465, 422
Bek-Thomsen, JakobAssociate professoridejbt@cas.au.dk+45871622851465, 624
Bernild, Ole
Bjerg, JosefineStudent Teacher
Bjerring, Jens Christian KrarupAssistant Professorfiljcb@cas.au.dk+45871628611467, 621
Bové, Hanne MørkenborgPhD Studenthanbov@ph.au.dk
Brock, SteenAssociate professorfilsb@cas.au.dk+45871622651467, 523
Bryld Staunæs, AskerStudent Teacherasst@cas.au.dk
Busch, JacobAssociate professorfiljab@cas.au.dk+45871622461465, 423
Christensen, BenjaminStudent Teacher
Christensen, Jonas Fogedgaardfiljfc@cas.au.dk+45871628621465, 523
Christensen, Martin EjsingPart-time Lecturerfilmec@cas.au.dk
Christiansen, Christian O.Associate professoridecoc@cas.au.dk+45871622781465, 525
Clausen, Jette Aaroe
Cockburn, Patrick JosephResearch Assistantfilpjlc@cas.au.dk+45871623351465, 520
Dige, MortenAssociate professorfilmd@cas.au.dk+45871622631467, 525
Dyring, RasmusAssistant Professorfilrd@cas.au.dk1465, 526
Eriksen, CeciliePostdocce@cas.au.dk+45871622491467, 530
Eriksen, Christoffer BasseResearch Assistantcbe@cas.au.dk1465, 421
Fabian, LouiseAssociate professoridelfl@cas.au.dk+45871626581465, 628
Gundersen, Lars BoAssociate professorfillg@cas.au.dk+45871622741465, 615
Hansen, Bue RübnerPostdocbue.rubner.hansen@cas.au.dk
Hansen, Christina Herold
Holm, Andreas BeckAssociate professoranbh@cas.au.dk+45871622941467, 625
Højrup, Thomas
Høyer, Linnea AmalieStudent Teacher
Høyner, Søren ToftStudent Workersorenhoyner@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Uffe JuulProfessorfilujj@cas.au.dk+45871622891465, 430
Jeppesen, Morten HaugaardAssociate professoridemhj@cas.au.dk+45871622681467, 626
Johannesen, Mikkel Dal MørkAssistant Lecturerau459692@cas.au.dk
Jørgensen, DortheAssociate professoridedj@cas.au.dk+45871622841465, 623
Kjeldsen, Anette Schouv
Knudsen, Nicolai KrejbergPhD Studentfilnk@cas.au.dk
Kreis, GuidoAssociate professorguido.kreis@cas.au.dk+45871621361467, 624
Kristensen, Jacob Bo LautrupPostdocfiljlk@cas.au.dk+45871625261467, 420
Kristensen, Jette Thuesen
Kvist, Elias Vagn IlleborgStudent Teacher
Larsen, Christian Oluf Verdoner
Lassen, Aske Juul
Lindberg, Kasperkali@cas.au.dk
Lykke Cobos, Kristian-AlbertoAssistant Lecturerau283050@cas.au.dk
Lyngseth, ØyvindPhD Studentfilolyng@cas.au.dk+45871626561465, 523
Marschall, Peter DamgaardAssistant Lecturerpdma@cas.au.dk
Mathiasen, Mia KrogagerResearch Assistantmiamat@cas.au.dk
Morsing, OleAssociate professorideom@cas.au.dk+45871622791465, 625
Munk, KarenAssociate professorfilkpm@cas.au.dk+45871622471465, 418
Navarro Guerrero, NicolasAssistant Professornng@eng.au.dk+45935090025125
Nielsen, Freja DygStudent Teacher
Nielsen, Mathias OttesenStudent Teacher
Nørskov, MarcoAssociate professorfilmanp@cas.au.dk+45871628211467, 619
Oest, Sebastian SanderStudent Teacher
Olesen, Anne MarieResearch Assistantfilamo@cas.au.dk+45871622611467, 628
Overmark, RasmusStudent Teacher
Rahbek, Anne
Rasmussen, Anders MoeAssociate professorfilamr@cas.au.dk+45871622811467, 526
Rodogno, RaffaeleAssociate professor, research programme directorfilrr@cas.au.dk+45871622591467, 521
Seibt, JohannaProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesfilseibt@cas.au.dk+45871622451467, 230
Selbing, Ida CeciliaAssistant Professoridaselbing@cas.au.dk+45871629051483, 323
Sholl, JonathanAssistant Professorfiljsholl@cas.au.dk1465, 428
Simonsen, IsabellaStudent Teacher
Skewes, Joshua CharlesAssociate professorfiljcs@cc.au.dk+45871626531485, 522
Steglich-Petersen, AsbjørnAssociate professorfilasp@cas.au.dk+45871622721467, 524
Sørensen, Peter AaboeTeaching Assistant Professoridepaas@cas.au.dk+45871622521465, 620
Thisted, JensPart-time Lecturerjenst@cas.au.dk+45871622481465, 425
Thorup, MikkelProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesidemt@cas.au.dk+45871622531465, 622
Vestergaard, ChristinaPostdocetnocv@cas.au.dk
Wackerhausen, SteenProfessorfilsw@cas.au.dk
Weinreich, Elvi
Wentzer, Thomas SchwarzAssociate professorfilts@cas.au.dk+45871622951467, 630

News

2018.02.08 | Research, Filosofi og Idéhistorie, Arts

A new role for the humanities: envisioning robots in society

Robots are now included in more and more contexts of our everyday life. This development is welcomed by industry and policy-makers alike. But what will it mean for us, as individuals and societies? This is the central focus of the international research conference “Robophilosophy 2018/TRANSOR 2018”.

2016.09.13 | Filosofi og Idéhistorie

Jonathan Sholl - New Assistant Professor at the Department of Philosophy and History of ideas

As of 1 August we welcome Jonathan Sholl as a new member of staff at CAS, Department of Philosophy and History of ideas

2016.09.13 | Filosofi og Idéhistorie

Jens Christian Bjerring - "New"Assistant Professor at the Department of Philosophy and History of ideas

We are happy to announce that Jens Christian Bjerring has accepted a position as Assistant Professor at CAS as of 1 August.

Events

No articles found in this list