Anthropology

Anthropology at Aarhus University

Humans are social beings. Anthropology is all about what this means for how we arrange our lives, organize our society and perceive the world around us – everywhere on earth. How are people's worlds different and how do they experience the world differently – across societies or within the same society? And still what is it that we have in common? Read more here

Our degree programmes

In addition to educational programs in Anthropology from bachelor to PhD level, the department of Anthropology also offers a masters-degree in Human Security, supplementary subjects in anthropology and sociology respectively, as well as a one-year masters-degree in health anthropology.     

A strong research environment

The department of Anthropology is among the strongest academic environments in Europe and the department attracts guest-researchers, PhD-students and students from across the world. Our teaching is deeply anchored in our research with particular specializations within globalization and development, innovation and design, medical as well as visual anthropology.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Andersen, Rikke SandAssociate professorrsa@ph.au.dk+45871679841260, 113
Beek, Martijn vanAssociate professormvanbeek@cas.au.dk+45871621194236, 111
Bertoni, FilippoPostdocf.bertoni@cas.au.dk+45871621734236, 2.43
Bliksted, Vibeke Fuglsangvibeke.bliksted@clin.au.dk
Brichet, Nathalia SofiePostdocnathalia.brichet@cas.au.dk
Bubandt, Nils OleProfessorbubandt@cas.au.dk+45871621164236, 120
Christiansen, Morten H.Professormorten@cas.au.dk2630
Cova, Victor SachaPostdocvcova@cas.au.dk4235, 238
Crawford, Peter IanAssociate professorpcrawford@cas.au.dk+45871629944240
Dalsgård, LineAssociate professorald@cas.au.dk+45871621214236, 2.19
Daugbjerg, MadsAssociate professor, head of PhD programmemads.daugbjerg@cas.au.dk+45871621284235, 2.34
Dewhurst, Richard CharlesPostdocrichard.dewhurst@cas.au.dk1483, 322
Dupont, MichaelPart-time Lectureretnomdd@cas.au.dk
Eilenberg, MichaelAssociate professoretnome@cas.au.dk+45871621724236, 215
Fardo, FrancescaPostdocfrancesca@clin.au.dk
Fibiger, Thomas BrandtAssistant Professorthomas.fibiger@cas.au.dk4240
Folmann, BirgittePostdocbirgitte.folmann@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 2.24
Funahashi, DaenaAssistant Professorfunahashi@cas.au.dk+45871625564236, 216
Gade, Christian B. N.Assistant Professorgade@cas.au.dk+45871632764236, 2.12
Gan, ElaineMember of Administrative Staffegan@cas.au.dk+45871628864235, 134
Gonzalez de la Higuera Rojo, SergioResearch Assistantsergio.gonzalezhi@gmail.com1483, 318
Hansen, Anders SybrandtAssistant Professoretnoash@cas.au.dk+45871620821467, 328
Heimann, KatrinAssistant Professorkatrinheimann@cas.au.dk+45871629131483, 326
Hoffding, SimonPostdocsimon.hoeffding@gmail.com1483, 325
Pedersen, Susanne HøjlundAssociate professoretnosh@cas.au.dk+45871621254236, 114
Højrup, MathildeResearch Assistantmathildehoejrup@cas.au.dk+45871621164236, 120
Jensen, Inge Charlotteetncj@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Janne BleegStudies Coordinatoretnobleeg@cas.au.dk+45871629284235, 130
Johansen, Mette-LouiseAssistant Professormlej@cas.au.dk+45871621734236, 243
Keisalo, Marianna PäivikkiPostdocmkeisalo@cas.au.dk
Keleman Saxena, Alder!!Postdoc Antropologi Moesgårdalder.keleman@cas.au.dk4235, 138
Kirstein Høgel, ArinePostdocahoegel@cas.au.dk4240
Kotnis, SitaResearch Assistantsita@cas.au.dk
Lauridsen, AndersResearch Assistant1483, 330
Louw, Maria E.etnolouw@cas.au.dk+45871620624235, 2.22
Madsen, Beritetnonafa@cas.au.dk
Meinert, LotteProfessor with Special Responsibilitieslotte.meinert@cas.au.dk+45871621714236, 1.49
Nielbo, Kristoffer LaigaardAssociate professorkln@cas.au.dk+45871629131483, 326
Nielsen, Mortenetnomn@cas.au.dk+45871621654236, 220
O'neill, SeanPostdocspo@cas.au.dk1540, 031
Ostenfeld-Rosenthal, AnnPart-time Lecturerann.o.rosenthal@cas.au.dk
Otto, TonProfessorton.otto@cas.au.dk+45871629154236, 0.45
Parsons, ChristineAssistant Professorchristine.parsons@cas.au.dk1483, 326
Pelaudeix, CecileAssociate professorcepe@cas.au.dk
Piya, AvashResearch Assistantetnapiya@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 2.24
Rasmussen, Rikke GrinderslevResearch Assistantrikkegras@gmail.com1483, 325
Roepstorff, AndreasProfessorandreas.roepstorff@cas.au.dk+4587162124
Rosen, MelaniePostdocmelanie.rosen@cas.au.dk1483, 326
Rytter, MikkelAssociate professormikkel.rytter@cas.au.dk+45871621264235, 2.30
Saxena, Alark!!Postdoc Antropologi Moesgårdalark.saxena@cas.au.dk4235, 138
Schneidermann, NannaPart-time Lecturernanna.s@cas.au.dk
Seebach, Sophie HoogeResearch Assistantshs@cas.au.dk+45871629694235, 138
Seeberg, JensProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesjseeberg@cas.au.dk+45871621174236, 119
Selmer, BodilAssociate professorbodil.selmer@cas.au.dk+45871621154236, 113
Skewes, LeaResearch Assistantetnols@cas.au.dk
Steenberg, MettePostdocmette.steenberg@cas.au.dk+45232408761483, 318
Stern, Caitlin AlicePostdocstern@cas.au.dk1483, 322
Suhr, ChristianAssistant Professorsuhr@cas.au.dk4240
Swanson, Heather AnneAssistant Professorikshswanson@cas.au.dk+45874629544235, 132
Tejsner, PelleAssistant Professortejsner@cas.au.dk
Tsing, AnnaProfessoratsing@cas.au.dk+45871628894235, 136
Tørring, Marie Louisemlt@cas.au.dk+45871620894235, 2.26
Vaisman, NoaAssistant Professornoa.vaisman@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 224
Vangkilde, Kasper TangAssociate professoretnkvangkilde@cas.au.dk+45871628194235, 2.28
Vium, ChristianPostdoccvium@cas.au.dk4240
Vohnsen, Nina HolmAssistant Professornina.vohnsen@cas.au.dk+45871621134236, 211
Walsh, MatthewPostdocmwalsh@cas.au.dk
Waltorp, KarenPart-time Lectureretnkw@cas.au.dk
Warner, CameronAssociate professoretncw@cas.au.dk+45871626674236, 116
Whyte, Michael AnthonyPart-time Lectureretnmaw@cas.au.dk
Willerslev, RaneProfessorrawi@cas.au.dk+45871629424236, 112

Latest publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title

News

2017.03.14 | Antropologi

Flora Botelho - New PhD at the Department of Anthropology

Flora is enrolled as PhD at CAS as of 1 April with the project: Privacy within the Home: middle class urbanism and the construction of family and person in Maputo, Mozambique.

2017.01.17 | Antropologi

Camilla Brændstrup Laursen - new PhD student at the Department of Anthropology

Camilla Brændstrup Laursen is enrolled as PhD at CAS from 1 February 2017

Noa Vaisman

2017.01.13 | Antropologi

Noa Vaisman – new Assistant Professor and AUFF Starting Grant recipient

Noa Vaisman has been appointed Assistant Professor at the Department of Anthropology this summer and received an AUFF Starting Grant this fall for the project “What Comes After Justice? The aftermath of legal accountability in cases of crimes against humanity in Argentina, a cross-generational investigation”

Events

Wed 29 Mar
11:00-12:00 | Building 4206 Room 117 (aud. 1), Campus Moesgaard
Brown Bag Seminar: (STAFF ONLY) Queer Marxism and the Erotic Economy of Amazonian Settler Colonialism
By Victor Cova
Wed 05 Apr
11:00-12:00 | Building 4206 Room 117 (aud. 1), Campus Moesgaard
Brown Bag Seminar: (STAFF ONLY) Creative Tastebuds, an interdisciplinary symposium on taste at Aarhus Theater 4.-5. Sept 2017
By Susanne Højlund
Wed 19 Apr
13:15-15:00 | Moesgaard Lecture Hall (4206-139), Campus Moesgaard
Academic Hour: Marking Time in Prison: Impositions and Adaptations
With Prof. Michael G. Flaherty, Aarhus University
Wed 26 Apr
00:00-00:00 | 4206-129 (Campus Moesgaard)
Seminar: Everyday justice and security in the Myanmar transition
Thu 27 Apr
14:15-16:00 | Aud. 2 (4206-121), Campus Moesgaard
The force of custom: Law and the ordering of everyday life in Kyrgyzstan
A talk with Prof. Dr. Judith Beyer