Anthropology

Anthropology at Aarhus University

Humans are social beings. Anthropology is all about what this means for how we arrange our lives, organize our society and perceive the world around us – everywhere on earth. How are people's worlds different and how do they experience the world differently – across societies or within the same society? And still what is it that we have in common? Read more here

Our degree programmes

In addition to educational programs in Anthropology from bachelor to PhD level, the department of Anthropology also offers a masters-degree in Human Security, supplementary subjects in anthropology and sociology respectively, as well as a one-year masters-degree in health anthropology.     

A strong research environment

The department of Anthropology is among the strongest academic environments in Europe and the department attracts guest-researchers, PhD-students and students from across the world. Our teaching is deeply anchored in our research with particular specializations within globalization and development, innovation and design, medical as well as visual anthropology.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Ammann, TheresaPost doc.tammann@cas.au.dk4235, 130
Anders, Gerhard
Andersen, Astrid OberborbeckPostdocao.andersen@cas.au.dk
Andersen, Rikke SandAssociate professorrsa@ph.au.dk+45871679841260, 113
Angelino, LuciaAssistant Professor, AIAS-COFUND Fellowlucia.angelino@aias.au.dk
Baglini, Rebekah BritaPostdocrbkh@cc.au.dk
Beek, Martijn vanAssociate professormvanbeek@cas.au.dk+45871621194236, 111
Bliksted, Vibeke FuglsangAssociate professorvibeke.bliksted@clin.au.dk
Bubandt, Nils OleProfessorbubandt@cas.au.dk+45871621164236, 120
Warner, CameronAssociate professoretncw@cas.au.dk+45871626674236, 116
Chettri, MonaPostdocmona.chettri@cas.au.dk
Christensen, Søren RaskResearch Assistantsrc@cas.au.dk
Vium, ChristianAssociate professorcvium@cas.au.dk
Christiansen, Morten H.Professor with Special Responsibilitiesmorten@cc.au.dk
Columbano, PaolaStudent1483, 318
Dalsgård, LineAssociate professor, Phd program directorald@cas.au.dk+45871621214236, 2.19
Daugbjerg, MadsAssociate professor, head of departmentmads.daugbjerg@cas.au.dk+45871621284236, 119
Dewhurst, Richard Charlesrichard.dewhurst@cas.au.dk1483
Dominguez Cabanes, AlonsoResearch Assistant
Eilenberg, MichaelAssociate professoretnome@cas.au.dk+45871621724236, 215
Fardo, FrancescaPostdocfrancesca@clin.au.dk1A, AUH, NBG
Fibiger, Thomas BrandtResearch Assistantthomas.fibiger@cas.au.dk
Funahashi, DaenaAssistant Professorfunahashi@cas.au.dk+45871625564236, 216
Gade, Christian B. N.Associate professorgade@cas.au.dk+45871632764236, 214
Gonzalez de la Higuera Rojo, SergioResearch Assistantsgr@cas.au.dk
Hansen, Anders SybrandtAssociate professoretnoash@cas.au.dk1467, 328
Hauberg, LouiseResearch Assistant
Heimann, KatrinAssistant Professorkatrinheimann@cas.au.dk+45871629131483, 326
Herrik, Freja LykkeStudent Teacher
Pedersen, Susanne HøjlundAssociate professoretnosh@cas.au.dk+45871621254236, 114
Høybye, Mette TerpAssociate professormette.terp.hoybye@rm.dk
Jensen, Inge CharlottePart-time Lectureretncj@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Janne BleegPart-time Lectureretnobleeg@cas.au.dk4236, 212 A
Barker, Jessica Liviajbarker@cas.au.dk
Johansen, Mette-LouiseAssociate professormlej@cas.au.dk+45871621734236, 243
Jørgensen, Anne KarmarkTrainee
Keleman Saxena, AlderPostdocalder.keleman@cas.au.dk
Kusk, Mette LindPart-time Lecturermlkusk@cas.au.dk
Andersen, Marc MalmdorfPostdocmana@cas.au.dk
Louw, Maria E.Associate professoretnolouw@cas.au.dk+45871620624235, 2.22
Mazzolini, AnnaPostdocanna.mazzolini@cas.au.dk
Meinert, LotteProfessor with Special Responsibilitieslotte.meinert@cas.au.dk+45871621714236, 1.49
Meldgaard Kjær, KatrineResearch Assistantkmk@cas.au.dk
Nielbo, Kristoffer LaigaardAssociate professorkln@cas.au.dk+45871629131483, 326
Nielsen, Christian AxboeAssociate professorchristian.a.nielsen@cas.au.dk+45871622411461, 625
Nielsen, Mortenetnomn@cas.au.dk+45871621654236, 220
O'neill, SeanPostdocspo@cas.au.dk
Paldam, EllaResearch Assistantelp@cas.au.dk
Parsons, ChristineAssociate professorchristine.parsons@cas.au.dk+45871621271483, 325
Piya, AvashResearch Assistantetnapiya@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 2.24
Ravid, OferResearch Assistant
Roepstorff, AndreasProfessorandreas.roepstorff@cas.au.dk+45871621241483, 319
Rosen, Melanie GillespiePostdocmelanie.rosen@cas.au.dk
Rytter, MikkelAssociate professormikkel.rytter@cas.au.dk+45871621264235, 2.30
Schneidermann, NannaPart-time Lecturernanna.s@cas.au.dk
Seebach, Sophie HoogeResearch Assistantshs@cas.au.dk+45871629694235, 138
Seeberg, JensProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesjseeberg@cas.au.dk+45871621174235, 234
Selbing, Ida CeciliaAssistant Professoridaselbing@cas.au.dk+45871629051483, 323
Selmer, BodilAssociate professorbodil.selmer@cas.au.dk+45871621154236, 113
Skewes, LeaResearch Assistantetnols@cas.au.dk
Sparre, Sara LeiAssistant Professorsaraleisparre@cas.au.dk
Steenberg, MettePostdocmette.steenberg@cas.au.dk+45232408761483, 318
Steensgaard, RikkeResearch Assistant
Suhr, ChristianAssistant Professorsuhr@cas.au.dk4240
Swanson, Heather AnneAssociate professorikshswanson@cas.au.dk+45871629544236, 112
Sørensen, Cæcilie Kramer KildahlStudent Teacher
Tejsner, PelleResearch Assistanttejsner@bios.au.dk
Otto, TonProfessorton.otto@cas.au.dk+45871629154240 (Moesgaard Museum), 01-44B
Tsing, AnnaProfessoratsing@cas.au.dk+45871628894235, 136
Tørring, Marie Louisemlt@cas.au.dk+45871620894235, 2.26
Vaisman, NoaAssistant Professornoa.vaisman@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 224
Vangkilde, Kasper TangAssociate professoretnkvangkilde@cas.au.dk+45871628194235, 2.28
Vesper, CordulaAssistant Professorcvesper@cc.au.dk
Vohnsen, Nina HolmAssociate professornina.vohnsen@cas.au.dk+45871621134236, 211
Walsh, Matthewmwalsh@cas.au.dk
Waltorp, KarenAssistant Professoretnkw@cas.au.dk4235, 212
Zhou, FeifeiResearch Assistant
du Plessis, PierreResearch Assistantp.duplessis@cas.au.dk

Latest publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title

News

2018.10.25 | Antropologi

Amanda Møller Rasmussen – New Ph.D. at the Department for Anthropology

With a background in African Studies and Social Anthropology of Development from Copenhagen University and School of Oriental and African Studies, respectively, Amanda has started her Ph.D. at the Department for Anthropology in September.

2018.09.26 | Antropologi

Kirsten Keller- New PhD at the Department of Anthropology

Kirsten Keller's project concentrates on exploring landscapes of inequality in flood-prone coastal cities.

2018.09.11 | Antropologi

Cecilie Baann - New PhD at the Department of Anthropology

Cecilie Baann will be affiliated the ANTHUSIA project.

Events

No articles found in this list