Anthropology

Anthropology at Aarhus University

Humans are social beings. Anthropology is all about what this means for how we arrange our lives, organize our society and perceive the world around us – everywhere on earth. How are people's worlds different and how do they experience the world differently – across societies or within the same society? And still what is it that we have in common? Read more here

Our degree programmes

In addition to educational programs in Anthropology from bachelor to PhD level, the department of Anthropology also offers a masters-degree in Human Security, supplementary subjects in anthropology and sociology respectively, as well as a one-year masters-degree in health anthropology.     

A strong research environment

The department of Anthropology is among the strongest academic environments in Europe and the department attracts guest-researchers, PhD-students and students from across the world. Our teaching is deeply anchored in our research with particular specializations within globalization and development, innovation and design, medical as well as visual anthropology.

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Andersen, Marc MalmdorfPostdocmana@cas.au.dk
Andersen, Rikke SandAssociate professorrsa@ph.au.dk+45871679841260, 113
Atmanand, Deva Taru
Autzen, MathildeResearch Assistantmathildehoejrup@cas.au.dk+45871621164236, 120
Beek, Martijn vanAssociate professormvanbeek@cas.au.dk+45871621194236, 111
Bertoni, FilippoPostdocf.bertoni@cas.au.dk+45871621734236, 2.43
Bliksted, Vibeke Fuglsangvibeke.bliksted@clin.au.dk
Brichet, Nathalia SofiePostdocnathalia.brichet@cas.au.dk
Bubandt, Nils OleProfessorbubandt@cas.au.dk+45871621164236, 120
Christiansen, Morten H.Professormorten@cas.au.dk2630
Cova, Victor SachaPostdocvcova@cas.au.dk4235, 238
Crawford, Peter IanAssociate professorpcrawford@cas.au.dk+45871629944240
Dalgas, Karina
Dalsgård, LineAssociate professorald@cas.au.dk+45871621214236, 2.19
Daugbjerg, MadsAssociate professor, head of PhD programmemads.daugbjerg@cas.au.dk+45871621284235, 2.34
Dewhurst, Richard CharlesPostdocrichard.dewhurst@cas.au.dk1483, 322
Dupont, MichaelPart-time Lectureretnomdd@cas.au.dk
Eilenberg, MichaelAssociate professoretnome@cas.au.dk+45871621724236, 215
Fardo, FrancescaPostdocfrancesca@clin.au.dk
Fibiger, Thomas BrandtAssistant Professorthomas.fibiger@cas.au.dk+45871632844236, 212 A
Folmann, BirgittePostdocbirgitte.folmann@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 2.24
Funahashi, DaenaAssistant Professorfunahashi@cas.au.dk+45871625564236, 216
Gade, Christian B. N.Assistant Professor, Human Securitygade@cas.au.dk+45871632764236, 2.14
Gammeltoft, Tine Mette
Gan, ElaineMember of Administrative Staffegan@cas.au.dk+45871628864235, 134
Kjærsgaard, Mette
Gonzalez Vargas, Gonzalo Ananias
Gonzalez de la Higuera Rojo, SergioResearch Assistantsergio.gonzalezhi@gmail.com1483, 318
Graversen, Pia Thorsø
Hansen, Anders SybrandtAssistant Professoretnoash@cas.au.dk+45871620821467, 328
Heimann, KatrinAssistant Professorkatrinheimann@cas.au.dk+45871629131483, 326
Pedersen, Susanne HøjlundAssociate professoretnosh@cas.au.dk+45871621254236, 114
Jensen, Inge Charlotteetncj@cas.au.dk
Jeppesen, Lena Lykke
Johansen, Mette-LouiseAssistant Professormlej@cas.au.dk+45871621734236, 243
Jørgensen, Mathilde Lindh
Keisalo, Marianna PäivikkiPostdocmkeisalo@cas.au.dk
Keleman Saxena, AlderPostdocalder.keleman@cas.au.dk
Kirstein Høgel, ArinePostdocahoegel@cas.au.dk4240
Kotnis, SitaResearch Assistantsita@cas.au.dk
Louw, Maria E.etnolouw@cas.au.dk+45871620624235, 2.22
Nielsen, Jeanette Lykkegårdetnojln@cas.au.dk4231, 2.51
Madsen, Beritetnonafa@cas.au.dk
Mazzolini, Anna!!Postdoc Antropologi Moesgårdanna.mazzolini@cas.au.dk4205, 229
Meinert, LotteProfessor with Special Responsibilitieslotte.meinert@cas.au.dk+45871621714236, 1.49
Mosgaard, Kurt
Nielbo, Kristoffer LaigaardAssociate professorkln@cas.au.dk+45871629131483, 326
Nielsen, Mikka
Nielsen, Mortenetnomn@cas.au.dk+45871621654236, 220
O'neill, SeanPostdocspo@cas.au.dk1540, 031
Ostenfeld-Rosenthal, AnnPart-time Lecturerann.o.rosenthal@cas.au.dk
Otto, TonProfessorton.otto@cas.au.dk+45871629154236, 0.45
Parsons, ChristineAssociate professorchristine.parsons@cas.au.dk+45871621271483, 325
Pedersen, Bjarne Friis
Pedersen, Morten Axel
Piya, AvashResearch Assistantetnapiya@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 2.24
Rasmussen, Rikke GrinderslevResearch Assistantrikkegras@gmail.com1483, 325
Roepstorff, AndreasProfessorandreas.roepstorff@cas.au.dk+4587162124
Rosen, Melanie GillespiePostdocmelanie.rosen@cas.au.dk1483, 326
Rystok, Susanne
Rytter, MikkelAssociate professormikkel.rytter@cas.au.dk+45871621264235, 2.30
Saxena, AlarkPostdocalark.saxena@cas.au.dk
Schneidermann, NannaPart-time Lecturernanna.s@cas.au.dk
Seebach, Sophie HoogeResearch Assistantshs@cas.au.dk+45871629694235, 138
Seeberg, JensProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesjseeberg@cas.au.dk+45871621174236, 119
Selmer, BodilAssociate professorbodil.selmer@cas.au.dk+45871621154236, 113
Skewes, LeaResearch Assistantetnols@cas.au.dk
Steenberg, MettePostdocmette.steenberg@cas.au.dk+45232408761483, 318
Suhr, ChristianAssistant Professorsuhr@cas.au.dk4240
Swanson, Heather AnneAssociate professorikshswanson@cas.au.dk+45871629544235, 132
Tejsner, PelleAssistant Professortejsner@cas.au.dk+45871628874235, 126
Tsing, AnnaProfessoratsing@cas.au.dk+45871628894235, 136
Tørring, Marie Louisemlt@cas.au.dk+45871620894235, 2.26
Ulrich, Anita
Ulriksen, Marianne SandvadPostdocmu@ps.au.dk+45871662231331, 214
Vaisman, NoaAssistant Professornoa.vaisman@cas.au.dk+45871628484235, 224
Vangkilde, Kasper TangAssociate professoretnkvangkilde@cas.au.dk+45871628194235, 2.28
Vium, ChristianPostdoccvium@cas.au.dk4240
Vohnsen, Nina HolmAssociate professornina.vohnsen@cas.au.dk+45871621134236, 211
Walsh, MatthewPostdocmwalsh@cas.au.dk
Waltorp, Karenetnkw@cas.au.dk
Warner, CameronAssociate professoretncw@cas.au.dk+45871626674236, 116
Whyte, Michael AnthonyPart-time Lectureretnmaw@cas.au.dk

Latest publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title

News

2017.08.16 | Antropologi

Harmandeep Gill - new PhD at the department of Anthropology

Harmandeep Gill joins CAS in September with the project: 'Ageing in Exile. Experience of Good Old Age among Elderly Tibetans in India and Nepal'

2017.08.16 | Antropologi

Sara Lei Sparre – new postdoc at the Department of Anthropology

Sara joins CAS as a postdoctoral researcher at the interdisciplinary project ‘Aging Immigrants and Self-appointed Helpers Arrangement’ from September 2017.

2017.06.15 | Antropologi

Centre for Environmental Humanities receives interdisciplinary network funding

The Centre for Environmental Humanities (CEH) has been awarded a total of DKK 274.135 by the Committee for Research and External Cooperation at Aarhus University to grow its scope and scale. This expansion will be led by CEH Deputy Director Heather Swanson.

Events

Wed 06 Sep
13:00-15:00 | MoMu Auditorium
Academic Hour: Anthropology of Food and the Senses
Mon 11 Sep
15:00-17:00 | Meeting Room 2, AU Conference Centre, Fredrik Nielsens Vej 4, 8000 Aarhus C
Inaugural Lecture: Andreas Roepstorff
Title: Deep Embodiment