Aarhus University Seal

Anthropology

Anthropology at Aarhus University

Humans are social beings. Anthropology is all about what this means for how we arrange our lives, organize our society and perceive the world around us – everywhere on earth. How are people's worlds different and how do they experience the world differently – across societies or within the same society? And still what is it that we have in common? Read more here

Our degree programmes

In addition to educational programs in Anthropology from bachelor to PhD level, the department of Anthropology also offers a masters-degree in Human Security, supplementary subjects in anthropology and sociology respectively, as well as a one-year masters-degree in health anthropology.     

A strong research environment

The department of Anthropology is among the strongest academic environments in Europe and the department attracts guest-researchers, PhD-students and students from across the world. Our teaching is deeply anchored in our research with particular specializations within globalization and development, innovation and design, medical as well as visual anthropology.

Academic staff

Name Job title Email Phone Building
Andersen, Rikke Sand Professor with Special Responsibilities rsa@cas.au.dk +4526822476 4235, 126
Baann, Cecilie PhD Student ceciliebaann@cas.au.dk
Bach, Katrine Mandrup PhD-student kmbach@cas.au.dk
Baskin Coffey, Victoria PhD Student victoriabaskincoffey@cas.au.dk
Beek, Martijn van Associate Professor mvanbeek@cas.au.dk +4587162119 4236, 111
Bhutia, Anisa Postdoc anisa@cas.au.dk
Birch, Amalie Rævsbæk Student Teacher birch@cas.au.dk
Bjerregaard, Sofie Budhoo PhD Student sobj@cas.au.dk
Blanton, Amos Bokonen PhD Student amos@cas.au.dk
Brendtner, Fine PhD Student brendtner@cas.au.dk
Bresciani, Chiara PhD Student cbresciani@cas.au.dk
Bræmer Warburg, Anna PhD Student warburg@cas.au.dk 4231, 211
Bubandt, Nils Ole Professor bubandt@cas.au.dk +4587162116 4236, 120
Bune, Julie Nynne PhD Student jnb@cas.au.dk
Capelán, Annika Postdoc ancapekoh@cas.au.dk
Chahine, Anne PhD Student anne.chahine@cas.au.dk
Cortês, Carla Mirella De Oliveira PhD studerende ccortes@cas.au.dk
Dalsgård, Line Professor ald@cas.au.dk +4587162121 4236, 219
Daugbjerg, Mads Associate Professor mads.daugbjerg@cas.au.dk +4587162128 4236, 119
Eilenberg, Michael Associate Professor etnome@cas.au.dk +4529720474 4236, 220
Evaldsen Christensen, Marie PhD Student mech@cas.au.dk
Flora, Janne Associate Professor jakf@cas.au.dk +4587161968 4236, 215
Frederiksen, Martin Demant Associate Professor demant@edu.au.dk +4587162065 4235, 234
Gade, Christian B. N. Associate Professor gade@cas.au.dk +4587163276 4236, 214
Gammelby, Ane Kathrine Lolholm Postdoc ak@cc.au.dk +4561707411
Gravers, Mikael Associate professor emeritus etnomg@cas.au.dk +4521758809 Villaen, Moesgård Alle 18
Grüner, Line Brandbyge Schmidt PhD Student line.gruner@cas.au.dk 4231, 211
Hansen, Anders Sybrandt Associate Professor etnoash@cas.au.dk +4560662175 4236, 213
Harrisson, Annika Pohl Postdoc apha@cas.au.dk +4528782021 4236, 216
Hede, Kenni PhD Student hede@cas.au.dk
Helligsøe, Kasper PhD Student kph@cas.au.dk
Høiris, Ole Emeritus professor etnooh@cas.au.dk +4587162065 4215, 216
Pedersen, Susanne Højlund Associate professor, head of department etnosh@cas.au.dk +4587162125 4236, 114
Iversen, Marie Kølbæk PhD Student mki@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Emilie PhD Student e.e.jensen@cas.au.dk
Jeppesen, Maja Kirstine Dahl PhD Student madje@cas.au.dk
Kayser, Lis PhD Student lika@cas.au.dk 4205, 229
Keller, Kirsten Lee PhD Student kkeller@cas.au.dk
Kieffer-Døssing, Astrid akd@cas.au.dk
Knudsen, Lasse Bech PhD Student lbk@cas.au.dk
Kramer, Cæcilie Kildahl PhD Student kramer@cas.au.dk
Kristensen, Catrine Sundorf PhD Student csun@cas.au.dk
Köhn, Steffen Assistant Professor steffenkoehn@cas.au.dk 4235, 138
Laursen, Camilla Brændstrup PhD Student cbl@cas.au.dk +4522622974 4215, 228
Lini, Janne Bleeg Teaching Associate Professor etnobleeg@au.dk +4530256629
Louw, Maria E. Associate Professor etnolouw@cas.au.dk +4587162062 4235, 222
Lowe, Sebastian PhD Student sebastian.lowe@cas.au.dk
Lund Mortensen, Emilie Assistant Professor elm@cas.au.dk +4526211250 4235, 138
Lykkegård, Jeanette Postdoc etnojln@cas.au.dk
Løvschal-Nielsen, Pia PhD Student pia.loevschal-nielsen@cas.au.dk +4587162079 4218

Latest publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title