Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

History and Classical Studies

Classical Studies

Classical Studies deals with all aspects of Graeco-Roman Antiquity: material and visual culture, literature and language, ideas and ideals. We also study how Graeco-Roman culture interacts with other Mediterranean cultures and how it was received and re-interpreted in later periods. Classical Studies combines two scholarly traditions: Classical Archaeology (the study of the material culture of Antiquity) and Classical Philology (the study of Greek and Latin language and literature.

History

In the history programme at Aarhus University we study the past to understand the present. A thorough knowledge of the past is an important tool for understanding ourselves and the world that we live in. Knowledge of the past provides depth and breadth; it allows us to look beyond the current agenda and put the world in perspective. Studying history does not provide definitive answers to contemporary dilemmas, but it does offer us the opportunity to engage in a continuous dialogue about how the world obtained its present shape, and how we have become who we are.

Academic staff

At History

Name Job title Email Phone Building
Appel, Charlotte Associate professor chap@cas.au.dk +4587162808 1461, 418
Arnorsdottir, Agnes Associate professor hisaa@cas.au.dk +4587162183 1461, 425
Boisen, Anne Porskrog Student Teacher
Brimnes, Niels Associate professor hisnb@cas.au.dk +4587162215 1461, 526
Cole, Richard Assistant Professor richardcole@cas.au.dk +4587162228 1463, 524
Frost, Joachim Holmen Student Worker his.jh.frost@cas.au.dk
Gram-Skjoldager, Karen Associate professor hiskgs@cas.au.dk +4587162306 1461, 528
Hellenes, Andreas Mørkved Postdoc amh@cas.au.dk +4745225586 1461, 421
Hermankova, Petra Postdoc petra.hermankova@cas.au.dk 1463, 421
Hilson, Mary Professor mary.hilson@cas.au.dk +4587162237 1461, 430
Høghøj, Mikkel Part-time Lecturer hismh@cas.au.dk +4531414165
Hørgreen, Jakob Student Teacher
Jensen, Helle Strandgaard Associate professor hs.jensen@cas.au.dk +4587162203 1463, 526
Jensen, Mette Frisk Senior Advisor, PHD, Leader of danmarkshistorien.dk hismfj@cas.au.dk +4587162327 1461, 420
Jørgensen, Claus Møller Associate professor hiscj@cas.au.dk +4587162218 1461, 522
Kansteiner, Wulf Professor with Special Responsibilities wk@cas.au.dk +4587162195 1461, 521
Kase, Vojtech Postdoc kase@cas.au.dk 1463, 528
Kjærsgaard, Simon Ege Dahl Research Assistant sedk@cas.au.dk 1461, 415
Knudsen, Johan Knud Vad Student Teacher
Koefoed, Nina Javette Associate professor hisnk@cas.au.dk +4587162198 1461, 520
Krasilnikoff, Jens Associate professor hisjk@cas.au.dk +4587162189 1461, 423
Madsen, Emma Ebbesen Student Teacher
Magnúsdóttir, Rósa Associate professor slarm@cas.au.dk +4587162319 1461, 426
Netterstrøm, Jeppe Büchert Associate professor hisjbn@cas.au.dk +4587162204 1461, 422
Nielsen, Christian Axboe Associate professor christian.a.nielsen@cas.au.dk +4587162241 1461, 625
Nyegaard, Niels Research Assistant niny@cas.au.dk 1463, 628
Nygaard, Bertel Associate professor, research programme director bertel.nygaard@cas.au.dk +4587162225 1461, 524
Olesen, Niels Wium Associate professor hisnwo@cas.au.dk +4587162192 1461, 518
Olesen, Thorsten Borring Professor histbo@cas.au.dk +4587162208 1461, 530
Ostoic, Antonio Rivero Postdoc jaro@cas.au.dk 1463, 421
Poulsen, Bjørn Professor hisbp@cas.au.dk +4587162184 1461, 424
Rasmussen, Carsten Porskrog Honorary professor +4573121400
Rom-Jensen, Byron Zachary Postdoc bzrj@cas.au.dk 1461, 421
Sandberg, Pete Postdoc petesandberg@cas.au.dk +4526376941 1463, 528
Sobotkova, Adéla Associate professor adela@cas.au.dk +4587162317 1463, 522
Staffensen, Karoline Baden PhD Student kabast@cas.au.dk
Sørensen, Anne Senior Advisor hisais@cas.au.dk +4550177474 1461, 525
Thelle, Mikkel Associate professor iksmikkel@cas.au.dk +4587162206 1461, 428
Witcombe, Nicola Anne Project Coordinator nwitcombe@cas.au.dk +4587161959 1461, 415
Østergaard, Uffe Honorary professor uffe@cas.au.dk +4529458584

At Classical Studies

Name Job title Email Phone Building
Barfod, Gry Assistant Professor grybarfod@geo.au.dk +4523823093
Birch, Thomas Assistant Professor t.birch@cas.au.dk +4587162546 4230, 226
Blömer, Michael Assistant Professor michael.bloemer@cas.au.dk +4587162543 4230, 224
Bobou, Olympia Research Assistant olympia.bobou@cas.au.dk +4587163424 1463, 425
Brinch, Karen Part-time Lecturer k.brinch@cas.au.dk 1463, 430
Croix, Sarah Assistant Professor marksc@cas.au.dk +4587162058 4230, 227
Deckers, Pieterjan Sylvin Postdoc pdeckers@cas.au.dk +4587162541 4230, 227
Dickenson, Christopher Paul Assistant Professor christopher.dickenson@cas.au.dk +4587162543 4230, 224
Djurslev, Christian Thrue Assistant Professor ctd@cas.au.dk 1461, 321
Donnellan, Lieve Assistant Professor l.donnellan@cas.au.dk +4587162346 1463, 318
Frahm, Astrid Eugenie Haug Student Teacher
Hass, Trine Arlund Postdoc klftjah@cas.au.dk 1461, 321
Hastrup, Helene Blinkenberg Part-time Lecturer klahbh@cas.au.dk +4587162047 1463, 428
Hinge, George Associate professor george.hinge@cas.au.dk +4587162337 1461, 322
Intagliata, Emanuele Ettore Assistant Professor e.e.intagliata@cas.au.dk +4587162539 4230, 225
Jensen, Jesper Vestergaard Research Assistant j.v.jensen@cas.au.dk 1463, 426
Johnson, Ditte Kvist Research Assistant dittejohnson@cas.au.dk +4587163424 1463, 425
Katballe-Kristensen, Marius Student Teacher
Kristensen, Nathalia Research Assistant nbkristensen@cas.au.dk 1463, 426
Kristensen, Troels Myrup Associate professor, research programme director tmk@cas.au.dk +4587162043 1461, 320
Kristiansen, Søren Munch Associate professor smk@geo.au.dk +4587156436 1672, 117
Lauridsen, Line Korsholm Research Assistant lkl@cas.au.dk +4587162541 4230, 227
Lesher, Charles Professor lesher@geo.au.dk
Mendes, Johan Falke Cederfeldt Student Teacher
Møller Christensen, Dorthe Teaching Assistant Professor dorthemchristensen@cas.au.dk +4587162394 1461, 328
Nielsen, Mads Egestad Student Teacher
Nørskov, Vinnie Associate professor klavn@cas.au.dk +4587162801 1414, 115
Olsen, Jesper Associate professor jesper.olsen@phys.au.dk +4523382136 1522, 328
Pade, Marianne Professor pade@cas.au.dk 1461, 330
Poulsen, Birte Associate professor klabp@cas.au.dk +4587162139 1461, 324
Poulsen, Bjørn Professor hisbp@cas.au.dk +4587162184 1461, 424
Poulsen, Louisa Rosendal Student Teacher louisarosendal@cas.au.dk
Raja, Rubina Professor rubina.raja@cas.au.dk +4587162046 1461, 326
Rüpke, Jörg Adjunct Professor joerg.ruepke@uni-erfurt.de
Saxkjær, Sine Grove Postdoc klasgs@cas.au.dk +4587162538 4230, 223
Schou, Mikkel Fristrup Member of Administrative Staff mikkel.fristrup.schou@phys.au.dk
Sindbæk, Søren Michael Professor with Special Responsibilities farksms@cas.au.dk +4540878334 4230, 228
Sulas, Federica Assistant Professor sulas@cas.au.dk +4587162546 4230, 226
Terkelsen, Peter Part-time Lecturer oldpt@cas.au.dk +4529463379
Thorstensen, Jens Christian H. Part-time Lecturer jct@cas.au.dk
Tranæs, Thor Benjamin Borgkvist Part-time Lecturer tbbt@cas.au.dk
Wattenberg, Hanna Frederike Student Teacher

At danmarkshistorien.dk (in Danish)

Name Job title Email Phone Building
Jensen, Mette Frisk Senior Advisor, PHD, Leader of danmarkshistorien.dk hismfj@cas.au.dk +4587162327 1461, 420
Sørensen, Anne Senior Advisor hisais@cas.au.dk +4550177474 1461, 525

News

2019.11.07 | Historie og Klassiske Studier

Bureaucracy - A documentary by Richard Cole

Funded by Aarhus University Research Foundation Richard Cole and Alexis Hatto has produced a documentary on bureaucracy

2019.03.15 | Historie og Klassiske Studier

Niels Wium Olesen indstillet til Læsernes bogpris 2019

Events

Tue 10 Dec
10:00-15:00 | 1485-123 (NobelSALEN)
CEDHAR Christmas Showcases and Glögg
If you are wondering what to do the 10th of December between 13:00-15:00, wonder no more! We will celebrate the end of year showcases at CEDHAR. We will have our curiosity awakened in a friendly atmosphere - and there is going to be Glögg
Tue 17 Dec
13:15-16:15 | Aarhus Universitet, Lille Juridisk, Bartholins Allé 13, Bygning 1342, lokale 455.
Phd-forsvar: Leonora Lottrup Rasmussen
De fattiges ret. Forhandlinger af socialt med-borgerskab som status og praksis i stat og kommune, 1849 - 1892
Thu 19 Dec
14:00-17:30 | Aarhus University, Jens Chr. Skous Vej 5, 8000 Aarhus C. Building 1461, room 516
Seminar: Redefining celebrity and fandom in the 1970s
Speakers: - Mark Duffett (University of Chester) - Mathias Häussler (Universität Regensburg) - Rasmus Rosenørn (Ragnarock - Museum for Pop - Rock and Youth Culture) - Claus Toft-Nielsen og Bertel Nygaard (Aarhus University) - Commentators: Matthias Stephan (Aarhus University) og Line Nybroe Petersen (University of Southern Denmark)