Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Department of

Archaeology and Heritage Studies

  • #17 on QS World University Rankings

About

At the department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies we are concerned with people and the environment and culture and society from the earliest to modern times, with a focus on studies of material culture. On the basis of fieldwork and library and laboratory studies, including anthropology, history and a variety of scientific approaches, the programme investigates and challenges our understanding of past societies seen in a long time perspective.

Research environment
The archaeology programme at Aarhus University has an international profile and strong research networks. A dynamic research environment provides the framework for large research projects, international conferences and a variety of visiting researchers. The environment is versatile and cross-disciplinary, and the academic staff’s research competences span topics ranging from war and power, mobility and globalisation, family and individual, religion and rituals, landscape and settlement, paleo-demography and evolution, trade and networks, technology and knowledge exchange to (in particular) quantitative analysis methods, field methodology and digital representation.

Affiliated degree programmes
The archaeology programme at Aarhus University offers Bachelor’s and Master’s degree programmes in prehistoric archaeology and medieval and Renaissance archaeology. In addition, a variety of elective subjects and events are offered, including Viking age Scandinavia at the Aarhus University Summer University.

Academic staff

Name Job title Email Phone Building
Andresen, Jens-Bjørn Riis Associate professor jens.andresen@cas.au.dk +4587162076 4215, 122
Atzbach, Rainer Associate professor, head of department afdelingsleder.arkaeologi@cas.au.dk +4587162052 4215, 131
Cohen, Joshua Benjamin Postdoc jbcohen@cas.au.dk
Daroczi, Tibor Tamas Postdoc ttd@cas.au.dk
Dobat, Andres Associate professor farkado@cas.au.dk +4587162094 4215, 124
Giles, Kate Honorary associate professor
Harvey, David Charles Associate professor david.harvey@cas.au.dk +447949212177
Hess, Thomas Postdoc thomas.hess@uni-tuebingen.de
Holst, Mads Kähler !!Adjungeret professor mads.holst@cas.au.dk +4522994915
Hussain, Shumon Tobias Assistant Professor s.t.hussain@cas.au.dk
Jensen, Helle Juel Associate professor farkhjj@cas.au.dk 4215, 222
Johannsen, Niels Nørkjær Associate professor nnj@cas.au.dk +4587162078 4215, 218
Kock, Jan !!Lektor emeritus jan.kock@cas.au.dk +4587162072 4209, 11
Kristensen, Hans Krongaard !!Emeritus markhkk@cas.au.dk
Kristiansen, Mette Svart Associate professor markmsk@cas.au.dk +4587162084 4215, 133
Krogh, Uffe Research Assistant ukrogh@cas.au.dk
Løvschal, Mette Associate professor lovschal@cas.au.dk +4522889205 1483, 330
Mannino, Marcello Associate professor marcello.mannino@cas.au.dk +4587162956 4215, 228
McAtackney, Laura Associate professor laura.mcatackney@cas.au.dk +4587163331 4215, 121
Naum, Magdalena Ewa Associate professor magdalena.naum@cas.au.dk 4215, 129
Riede, Felix Professor with special responsibilities, research programme dire f.riede@cas.au.dk +4587162081 4215, 126
Roesdahl, Else Professor Emeritus else.roesdahl@cas.au.dk +4586152953 4209, 12
Shepherd, Nick Associate professor ns@cas.au.dk 4215, 121
Sindbæk, Søren Michael Professor with Special Responsibilities farksms@cas.au.dk +4540878334 4230, 228
Vandkilde, Helle Professor farkhv@cas.au.dk +4587162096 4215, 132
Vellev, Jens !!Emeritus jens.vellev@cas.au.dk +4587162068 4209, 6

Archaeological IT

 Archaeological IT website

Latest publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title

News

2020.01.23 | Arkæologi

Pardis Zahedi - New PhD at the Department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies

Pardis has a background in Caribbean archaeology and will be joining the EMoC research team as a PhD student from 1 February 2020.

2019.09.23 | Arkæologi

Shumon Tobias Hussain - New Assistant Professor at the Department of Archeaology and Heritage Studies

Shumon Tobias Hussain will join CAS on 1 October 2019 where he will be affiliated the new ERC project “CLIOdynamic ARCHaeology: Computational approaches to Final Palaeolithic/earliest Mesolithic archaeology and climate change.

2019.06.18 | Arkæologi

Professor Helle Vandkilde appointed honorary doctor

Helle Vandkilde was in May appointed honorary doctor at Lund University for her important and lasting contributions to European archaeological research.

Events

Thu 06 Feb
14:00-17:00 | Moesgaard Museum, Moesgård Allé 15 8270 Højbjerg, (4240, 301)
Island Creativity
AU-MOMU Joint bi-annual seminar