Aarhus Universitets segl

Annual Johannes Sløk Lecture

About the Sløk Lecture

Johannes Sløk (1916-2001) founded the Department for the History of Ideas at Aarhus University in 1967, and served as professor at that department until 1974. His intellectual horizon and research interests were wide ranging, but much of his work is dedicated to Kierkegaard, existentialism, absurdity, ancient philosophy, the renaissance, and Christianity. In honour of Sløk’s significance for Danish research in intellectual history, The Annual Johannes Sløk Lecture was inaugurated in 2006.

The honour of giving the Annual Johannes Sløk Lecture is given to an internationally recognized and distinguished researcher, who has made outstanding contributions in history of ideas within an area that, in a broad sense, was or would have been of interest to Johannes Sløk.


Sløk Lecture 2024

Axel Honneth, Columbia University
Friday June 7 in the afternoon.

Read more and sign up here.

Past Sløk Lecturers


  • 2006: Manfred Frank, Universität Tübingen
  • 2007: Quintin Skinner, University of Cambridge
  • 2010: Jonathan Israel, Princeton University
  • 2011: Martin Jay, UC Berkeley
  • 2012: Trond Berg Eriksen, Oslo University
  • 2014: Anthony Grafton, Princeton University
  • 2015: Anthony Pagden, UCLA
  • 2018: Hans-Jørgen Schanz, Aarhus University
  • 2019: Annabel Brett, University of Cambridge
  • 2021: Samuel Moyn, Yale University
  • 2022: Naomi Oreskes, Harvard University
  • 2023: Lorraine Daston, Max Planck Institute